We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Views, Relaxing, Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Sitting on our balcony overlooking both the mountains and the city of Freiburg, we decided this was the life for us. At least for one night until we had to get back to the real world. Our room was spacious, luxurious and included the lovely robes and slippers that you find in great hotels. I swam in the 12 metre heated pool twice, had lunch on the terrace (more about that in the restaurant review to come), went for long walks up the forest path behind the hotel and just relaxed in a wonderful setting. Our only trouble was getting to the hotel because the GPS suggested route did not know that the center of town was closed off around the university. She (the GPS we called Cynthia) recalculated until I thought she would have a stroke, but we turned her off and just kept going uphill through lots of residential streets. It was good we were relatively early as we had booked a more expensive room for the views, but they tried to put us on the ground floor level in an equally expensive room but without the views we wanted. So we negotiated and we were happy with the result. The staff was very accomodating.
Do get a room as high as possible - better views, of course. Would we go back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the 5th floor and state that you want views either over the city toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank micheleielliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I did in fact write a glowing report of this hotel a few years ago and having recently stayed here once again I can only say: luxury pure! I won't deny this hotel is expensive. We paid as much for one night as you normally pay for 2-3 nights in a lesser hotel. On the other hand, sometimes you only get what you pay for! Since we were last there the hotel has been renovated from top to toe and looks great for it. The service is second to none as before and the staff are very friendly and helpful. One small point: if the hotel really wants to sell itself as a " wellness hotel" it should really consider installing a small fitness room. Apart from that, I look forward to my next stay there!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is located on the side of a hill overlooking Freiburg. It is luxurious, with a nice spa and pol area. If you choose to walk into town it is about a 20 minute walk to one of the main bus/street car hubs. You an also get a taxi down quite easily, and you will pay about 15-20 Euros to get into town. The hotel rooms are beautiful with fantastic balconies overlooking the town. The breakfast buffet has everything you could ever think of for breakfast. If you are looking for a small meal or a "snack", there is not much to offer, but the club sandwich is definitely YUMMY. This hotel is highly recommended for the traveler who wants to be a little outside of the city, gorgeous view, a little peace and quiet, and maybe doesn't mind the walk or a few extra Euros to get back home at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khkummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank bentley21
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

very quite location, though not so close to the city center. we had a rented car so we didn't have any problem getting to the city, but i think it's not so easy getting there with public transportation.
great view of freiburg hills and trees.
rooms are very nice but for some reason we didn't always have hot water in the shower

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
5 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#18 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,699 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg

Address: Wintererstr. 89, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#2 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £96 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the edge of the forest "above the rooftops of Freiburg", the Panorama Hotel is a haven of tranquility with a mediterranean flair. All 86 comfort and panoramic rooms were renovated in spring 2013 and are equipped with all modern comfort - elegant retreats in which the interplay of materials and colours enlives your sense of well being. Each room has a balcony or terrace with sun loungers as well as a blind and offers a magnificent view of the surrounding area. The restaurant "Chez Eric" seduces and convinces with a light mediterranean cuisine full of finesse. Guests are treated with selected dishes and seafood specialties. All creations are as fresh, light and easily digestible. Mediterranean is also the atmosphere on the spacious, decorated with palm trees bar & brasserie terrace "La Riviera". "Saint Tropez" and "La Riviera" offer seasonally changing delicacies for the small appetite and regional specialities complemented by selected cocktails. The versatile leisure activities like indoor pool, sauna, massage, beauty treatments, two clay tennis courts, bike rental, and miles of jogging and walking trails make the "Panorama Hotel" an ideal place to energize, revitalize and invigorate the senses. Free parking is available directly in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Freiburg Im Breisgau
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing