We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Freiburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good hotel but poor location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel had very comfortable, clean and nice rooms. The service was OK, I had been worried about additional wifi costs, but during my visit wifi was free - a must for a business hotel. I am glad they changed the policy. Breakfast was plentiful and OK but we did have one lunch at the hotel and that was a sad experience, not one I would like to have payed for myself...
The real setback however is the location. Freiburg is a beautiful city and the center really amazing, from this hotel it takes more than 30 minutes to walk into town and if you miss the center you may as well skip Freiburg.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    87
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
29
56
18
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashik, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

No free inernet , 5 euros for one day and speed is very very slow.
Good breakfast with lot of variety.
The room temperature control failed 5 night out of the 10 nights I had stayed..When I complained they said they had no techinician to attend and rudely asked to keep the window open.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDD7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed there for one night. The room was ok...nothing special. The Service in the Hotel Restaurant was...let´s say a desaster. Two young ladies with no attitude and time management. The food was very good and the breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaschaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here for couple of days during my visit to freiburg. The hotel was quite good. The room was spacious, clean and cozy with all the necessary facilities although there was no free wifi zone which was a big let down. The hotel staffs were really cooperative and helpful. Overall had a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabyasachi_Ganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Plus:
1. New
2. Clean
3. Quiet

Minus:
1. NO FREE INTERNET. This is simply unacceptable for a hotel that charged 115 EUR/night without breakfast!
2. The desserts at the restaurant/bar are of particularly low quality.

Tip:
Ideal for business travellers who have work to do with the nearby university and research institutes. Not ideal for tourists.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olstykke, Denmark
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been at hsf many times. The company I work for is nearby. Atleast 20 nights now. The hole hotel is redecoratet and everthing is at a high quality level. Parking is indoore in basement. The resturang is very open but still cosy. Breakfast is normal quality for such a hotel, nothing speciel. I will for sure come back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Maybe I totally missed it, but I can't figure out why there was a hotel in that particular location. It was not close to downtown - needed to drive in - and the only nearby things I found were a car dealership and a grocery store.

However: This is a rather nice hotel! The decor and design is very contemporary. The place was amazingly clean and had a very fresh feeling. We found the rooms and beds quite comfortable, and there was a pretty decent breakfast. Onsite parking (garage under their front yard) is affordable at 9 euro, and internet was 5 euro for 24 hours. In all, we were rather happy with the hotel, but had a bit of trouble finding it, and wished it would have been closer to the rest of the city. By the way, exploring downtown Freiburg was great. So if you end up at this hotel, make the effort to get into the city and check it out.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelingd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,602 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
885 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Freiburg

Property: Hotel Stadt Freiburg
Address: Breisacher Str. 84b, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Freiburg 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freiburg is one of those cities that offer the things that dreams are made of. Situated just a few minute's drive from the town centre and the exhibition centre, the Hotel Stadt Freiburg offers for both business and holiday activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stadt Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Freiburg Hotel
Hotel Stadt Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing