We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bountiful high quality breakfast”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bountiful high quality breakfast”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed four nights including two nights of the Easter break. Location was perfect for us: a short walk from station, in a quiet side street, and a pleasant stroll past appealing shops into the area near the cathedral. We booked a non-smoking larger room and were pleased with the size of room. We had no problems with the bathroom. The bountiful breakfast was of high quality and great diversity. Free wi-fi was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: If a non-smoker, book a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
30
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Situated on the edge of the city, this hotel was easy to reach, and although there is only on-street parking: this wasn't a problem in February. The hotel is on a quiet side street so my sleep wasn't disturbed by any traffic noise.

The staff were friendly, and there was plenty of choice from the standard German buffet breakfast.

The rooms were clean, though a little small and dark; overall I would be happy o stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for an independent, small, value for money hotel.

The hotel was exactly as advertised.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hi,

stayed here for 1 night on a quick weekend trip to see the area with the wife.

it was exactly what we wanted.
-close to the station (few mins)
-free wifi
- free travel pass (VERY useful eg to go see black forrest and things)
- good breakfast
-clean
-walking distance to old town
- good value

all in all a great little hotel that does what it states.

good times!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

lovely little hotel in quiet street few minutes walk from the old town, helpful staff, small room but comfortable with small balcony, breakfast was wonderful - amazing variety of excellent quality fruits, breads, hams, cheeses, cakes etc. Best breakfast of our trip throughout Germany

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed there 2 night, services and breakfast are good. Room prices are higher than other cities I visited (Munich, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Frankfurt).

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sakullak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

One of my co-workers recommended this hotel, and I'm glad she did. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was great. I had a corner room on the top floor, and it was much larger than I expected. Some of my other co-workers stayed at the hotel next door, and they were jealous of the Minerva. Also included in the price is a transit pass for Freiburg and neighboring area. We used it to go hiking in the Kaiserstuhl on the weekend.

The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the main train station, so it was very convenient. The cathedral and shopping were just a couple of blocks in the other direction, so it really was a great location.

One of the nice touches was that every morning someone went around and lit about a hundred candles. It showed a high level of personal attention to making the place cozy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipsyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

At first, at the internet, this looks like an unpersonal chain hotel, but it is not. It is a very charming and tidy little hotel between the old town of Freiburg and its raliway station. The staff is extremely friendly.

Our room was calm, clean and cosy, decorated in light colours (white, blue, green). It was not too big but very comfortable. There is an elevator in the hotel.

Breakfast is good and German; in other words, you can choose between several types of bread and pastries. There are fresh fruits. Breakfast is included in the price.

There is no parking but the hotel offers you discount on a parking house nearby the railway station (Konzerthaus). The hotel also offers you free tickets for the public transports.

  • Liked — Non-smoking hotel
  • Disliked — Could be cheaper
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matti_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#16 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rheingold
Hotel Rheingold
#37 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#30 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Poststr. 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing