We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to train station and old town.”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Minerva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hotel is a short distance from the train station on a quiet side street. About 5 minute walk to old town. Breakfast buffet was good, rolls, cheeses and meats, croissants, cereal, even grapefruit.
Room was comfortable and quiet. Reception at front desk could have been much friendlier when checking in and out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silkfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed four nights including two nights of the Easter break. Location was perfect for us: a short walk from station, in a quiet side street, and a pleasant stroll past appealing shops into the area near the cathedral. We booked a non-smoking larger room and were pleased with the size of room. We had no problems with the bathroom. The bountiful breakfast was of high quality and great diversity. Free wi-fi was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: If a non-smoker, book a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Situated on the edge of the city, this hotel was easy to reach, and although there is only on-street parking: this wasn't a problem in February. The hotel is on a quiet side street so my sleep wasn't disturbed by any traffic noise.

The staff were friendly, and there was plenty of choice from the standard German buffet breakfast.

The rooms were clean, though a little small and dark; overall I would be happy o stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for an independent, small, value for money hotel.

The hotel was exactly as advertised.

Stayed: February 2012
2  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hi,

stayed here for 1 night on a quick weekend trip to see the area with the wife.

it was exactly what we wanted.
-close to the station (few mins)
-free wifi
- free travel pass (VERY useful eg to go see black forrest and things)
- good breakfast
-clean
-walking distance to old town
- good value

all in all a great little hotel that does what it states.

good times!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mistry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

lovely little hotel in quiet street few minutes walk from the old town, helpful staff, small room but comfortable with small balcony, breakfast was wonderful - amazing variety of excellent quality fruits, breads, hams, cheeses, cakes etc. Best breakfast of our trip throughout Germany

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed there 2 night, services and breakfast are good. Room prices are higher than other cities I visited (Munich, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Frankfurt).

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank sakullak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

One of my co-workers recommended this hotel, and I'm glad she did. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was great. I had a corner room on the top floor, and it was much larger than I expected. Some of my other co-workers stayed at the hotel next door, and they were jealous of the Minerva. Also included in the price is a transit pass for Freiburg and neighboring area. We used it to go hiking in the Kaiserstuhl on the weekend.

The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the main train station, so it was very convenient. The cathedral and shopping were just a couple of blocks in the other direction, so it really was a great location.

One of the nice touches was that every morning someone went around and lit about a hundred candles. It showed a high level of personal attention to making the place cozy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tipsyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#23 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Post
Park Hotel Post
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Freiburg
Central Hotel Freiburg
#12 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Poststr. 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £98 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing