We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Minerva
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've had stayed in this nice family-run hotel for three nights and woke up every morning with a wonderful smell of fresh pastry from the window. Unlike every other hotel we've stayed, this had a good breakfast, very clean rooms, friendly staff. We've requested an extra blanket (yes, in august...) and got it immediately. VERY IMPORTANT: they give you a "Conus Card" wich allows to use public transport for free, including other cities in Baden-Wurttemberg. Location is 3 minutes walk from main station (bus and train).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alona-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
27
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hotel is a short distance from the train station on a quiet side street. About 5 minute walk to old town. Breakfast buffet was good, rolls, cheeses and meats, croissants, cereal, even grapefruit.
Room was comfortable and quiet. Reception at front desk could have been much friendlier when checking in and out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silkfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed four nights including two nights of the Easter break. Location was perfect for us: a short walk from station, in a quiet side street, and a pleasant stroll past appealing shops into the area near the cathedral. We booked a non-smoking larger room and were pleased with the size of room. We had no problems with the bathroom. The bountiful breakfast was of high quality and great diversity. Free wi-fi was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: If a non-smoker, book a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Situated on the edge of the city, this hotel was easy to reach, and although there is only on-street parking: this wasn't a problem in February. The hotel is on a quiet side street so my sleep wasn't disturbed by any traffic noise.

The staff were friendly, and there was plenty of choice from the standard German buffet breakfast.

The rooms were clean, though a little small and dark; overall I would be happy o stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for an independent, small, value for money hotel.

The hotel was exactly as advertised.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hi,

stayed here for 1 night on a quick weekend trip to see the area with the wife.

it was exactly what we wanted.
-close to the station (few mins)
-free wifi
- free travel pass (VERY useful eg to go see black forrest and things)
- good breakfast
-clean
-walking distance to old town
- good value

all in all a great little hotel that does what it states.

good times!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

lovely little hotel in quiet street few minutes walk from the old town, helpful staff, small room but comfortable with small balcony, breakfast was wonderful - amazing variety of excellent quality fruits, breads, hams, cheeses, cakes etc. Best breakfast of our trip throughout Germany

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed there 2 night, services and breakfast are good. Room prices are higher than other cities I visited (Munich, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Frankfurt).

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sakullak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#19 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Poststr. 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing