We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated property but definitely serviceable”
Review of Hotel Loewen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Loewen
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dated property but definitely serviceable”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked very late and had little choice. The other reviews and rating on tripadvisor worried us. But in all not bad at all. The property is clearly old but the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. The family room was very good value for money. Only a few minutes away from Freiburg. I would definitely re-rate it on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBhasins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
15
21
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After staying at the Schwaer's Loewen for the third time in the past 6 months, we feel it really could use an improvement in attitude as well as equipment. The rooms lack a basic refrigerator and are only basic in furniture. There are no mirrors in the room where you can do your hair or put on makeup, only the bath area. The hotel staff appears to only tolerate customers, and this is true of the breakfast buffet staff as well.
When we came to breakfast an hour before it ended, we found many dishes already empty. They did not replenish them. When we asked for some of the foods, we were made to feel it was an imposition. We asked for bacon (for three persons) and the lady brought us 2 strips! We then asked her to bring enough for everyone and not just one person!
We last booked "the last room available" and had to pay 35 euros more for 1 night. We got a sofa under a sloping roof, which you couldn't sit in because of the ceiling. That's what the room had over the normal "standard" rooms we had been booking in the past.
Glad we won't be needing to do overnight visits there any more. Would definitely look for another place!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms border on streets with either heavy traffic or barking dogs. There is no avoiding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Disappointing. This was once a nice hotel but clearly has not been looked after in recent years. Garden/plant pots not maintained, dirty windows, ripped and stained carpets, weeds growing on the balcony floor, mouldy areas in the bathroom, the furniture in the restaurant in need of tlc, no coffee/tea facilities etc. We spent a week at this hotel but the bin in the room was not emptied for 3 days, the bedding never changed, and no cleaning activity was carried out in the room. On the plus side: the location because it was very convenient for day trips in the area, parking, adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamiRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed at the Lowen in early July. the hotel is rated a 4 star - but it is barely 3 star... the rooms are large- but the amenities are very plain. The room floors were stained, TV small, it is essentially a small town hotel without the charm... And it is far from the center of the city, so little atmosphere.
The restaurant was good, but expensive. Free parking in the hotel lot was free.
Overall, an OK place to stay- but way overpriced...

  • Liked — Free parking
  • Disliked — No character
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frankll1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Since 2006 this hotel has served as a base for our annual April visit to a fair, that is held in Basel, Switzerland.
This family run hotel is very comfortable, though not perfect. The surrounding of the hotel is very nice, since it is located in a small suburb outside the city center of Freiburg.
For travellers with a car, this hotel is easy to reach. There are busstops in front of the hotel, so the hotel should also be accesible with public transport, but we have no experience with that.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the bathroom is not big. Wifi internet is provided by an external party.

We paid for two night Euro 190, total. This price included breakfast.

To our surprise this hotel has an excellent restaurant, if you have a chance you should try it.
Overall this hotel is good base for trips to Switzerland and the Black Forest.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and room. The location.
  • Disliked — In the morning the birds might wake you up.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kinkybinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.9 mi away
Gasthaus zum Kreuz
Gasthaus zum Kreuz
#32 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
893 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Classic
Hotel Classic
#28 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#6 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
232 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hirschengarten Hotel
Hirschengarten Hotel
#37 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
63 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bierhaeusle Hotel-Restaurant
Bierhaeusle Hotel-Restaurant
#12 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loewen

Property: Hotel Loewen
Address: Kappler Str. 120, 79117 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Loewen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loewen Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing