We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”
Review of Park Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel Post
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

If a hotel can be judged on the welcome then this was excellent. Can I state now that Conny on reception could not have been more welcoming. Thank you so much for making our stay perfect..
As others have said book the parking ahead - we didn't but Conny overcame the issue by getting one of the staff to park for us. They also helped with advice on places to eat , and places to visit. The hotel is literally 5 mins walk into the old quarter with its restaurants etc - we had two lovely evening walks soaking up the atmosphere. We also had a pleasant drive around the Black Forest including Titisee and Feldberg. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. Minor downside would be lack of air conditioning on hot days. Overall we couldn't fault our stay.

Room Tip: As others have said we were given a room over looking the rear of the hotel so it was quiet and we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cablegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

The service in this hotel was excellent - a very friendly and warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble, this included having help getting my car into a tight space in the car park - the garage attendant parked it for me! Definitely book car parking ahead.

The hotel is ideally situated for walking around Freiburg, including only a short walk to a fantastic beer garden. The local area has a supermarket for everything you need.

Breakfast was good, but not enough tables for two. The street outside was very noisy, so ask for a park view. As we were lucky to have warm weather we had to decide between a little air in the room and the noise, or a warm room, and peace. Air con or a fan would have helped.

Room Tip: Not on main street if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBatten121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our family of 5(3 teenage boys) stayed for 4 nights in late June. Having just arrived in Europe following the long flight from Australia, this hotel was the perfect place to find our feet and get over our jet lag. It is located an easy 5 minute walk from the main train station (2 hours by high speed train from Frankfurt airport), next to a delightful park. Across the park is the beautiful pedestrianised Altstadt.
We stayed in a spacious, well appointed 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor with views across the park to the Münster. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and modern. Of note, the rooms were quiet despite the hotel being on a relatively busy street. The friendly and knowledgeable staff were very welcoming and a great help with planning our days' itineraries. A highlight (especially for our ravenous teenagers) was the delicious buffet breakfast. A small supermarket and bakery across the road made for convenient self catering, although the daily market in the nearby Münsterplatz was another excellent food alternative. We highly recommend the Park Hotel Post and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again ourselves if we find ourselves in Freiburg in the future.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment a good family option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great hotel which is perfect for a short stay in Freiburg. Its ideally located just outside the old town (2 minute walk) and has underground parking for 9 euros. Our room was pretty big with nice views and a balcony overlooking the park. The hotel staff provided some very nice touches like a free welcome glass of wine and free bottles of water and fruit when we left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Park Hotel Post in May 2013. The staff were very helpful, giving us information and making phone calls for us.We enjoyed the free tea, biscuits and chocolates which they brought to our room. The breakfast was good. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to the train station and next to the old town. Our room overlooked Colombi Park which is lovely. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very good hotel Within walking distance from the station and to the old town.The rooms does not have a tea kettle but tea coffee snacks available all day at the reception. the breakfast was good.
free Wi-Fi available.and the kids loved to eat candies at the reception.
they also offered us bottles water and snacks when we were leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheetal207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had mixed feelings about the Park Hotel Post. It is listed as a four star and maybe it just makes the bottom end of that classification, but probably more like a three star. We reserved a double room with a view to the Colombi Park, which seemed the highest category in the booking system. The room was adequate, nothing exceptional about it, but probably our biggest concern was the hotel is not air-conditioned and it is on a busy, noisy street, it is the thoroughfare from the railway station to the city, and the noise levels kept us awake most nights until 4 am. The staff are really nice. The breakfast was fine, but in a fairly small room for the number of guests. The hotel is close to the city, a few minutes walk, and Freiburg is a lovely city to visit. Perhaps this hotel is among the best in Freiburg, but given the noise levels at night, we had mixed feelings about it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Post

Address: Eisenbahnstr. 35/37, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#8 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £121 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of Freiburg near the Colombipark, despite the city bustle, guests will experience its quiet, naturalistic setting, a haven of peace and relaxation. Guests can unwind in the tastefully furnished rooms during their stay at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Park Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Park Hotel Post Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing