We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in an excellent location. Great for not-families guests.”
Review of Hotel am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel am Rathaus
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nice with great central location but is really not suitable for families. To get to the parking space you have to drive in a pedestrian only area, the parking is within 2 mins walking distance, but is not connected to the hotel. The breakfast is nice for business people, but not much to eat for kids and the small eating room amplifies every child noise. The big family room on floor 5 is reachable only by stairs from floor 4, which sadly was not mentioned during the order. So, not for families, but yes for all the rest.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roi_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is, as advertised, a three star hotel, but it was very good for a three star. The hotel was kept very clean, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast tables were prettily decorated with dark yellow dishes and we thought the buffet was excellent. Our room was comfortable and well maintained, but my husband found the bed too hard. Our biggest problem was with the shower in our room, which was rather bizarre - it was in a tub that was sort of coffin-shaped, at the narrow end, which left little room to manoeuver, and the glass barrier did not cover enough of the tub, so no matter how we tried water got everywhere. Our sons' room has what looked like a much better shower stall, as did a room we peeked in one day in passing. The location is great, and overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 155019Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a town centre three star bed and breakfast hotel within the old city of Freiburg. Surrounded by lots of excellent shops, restaurants, bars and fast food.

Close to the Concert House and the Munsterplatz - regular markets

Excellent value for money - nicely furnished and equipped rooms - free dvd library. DVD players in every room. Free coffee and tea in the reception area.

Free Internet. Very good breakfasts.

Michael Boella

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the square c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stay only one night in this hotel. The rooms are ok, excellent bath room. The breakfast is normal but it would be helpful to have a self service coffee machine, the filter coffee is too light... If
you go there when the Christmas market is in front of the hotel, it will be difficult to have a good access to the hotel and the parking, because for the next months the work on the main streets who brings you to the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

travelled to visit family friend and xmas market. Definitely central go out of entrance and in the main xmas market square. Had car with us, used sat nav to find but slight problem as there are some road works, so left car and easily found hotel on foot reception gave us directions to underground car park. Would not like to park large car no problems with golf. Given room 25, large with 3 beds, very comfy asked and received extra pillows. Lovely warm room, yes noise of bells at night but didn't keep me awake, don't think you'll escape them in this town. Bathroom was good size with bath, hairdryer soap, no other tolitries. Good continental breakfast loved the brioche. Fridge in room with drinks also bottles of water. Hot drinks and free computer access in reception nice touch also can loan dvds from reception. TV in room all german channels. Very clean good housekeeping. Very central able to walk all around town, lovely place so much better than l expected excellent shops. would definitely visit again

Room Tip: ask for quiet room, will always hear bells but less so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ad803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

It's a very good hotel in a fine position in the city center of Freiburg.
The staff is very polite and helpful.
The cleanliness of the room and of the hotel is excellent.
Breakfast is acceptable (typical continental breakfast).

The street where the hotel is placed is very noisy and the TV available in the rooms transmit only TV channels in German language.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaetano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We chose this hotel for 2-night stay in Freiburg as it has received excellent review from the earlier travellers. Indeed we have made the absolutely right choice. Everything from strategic location, friendly and helpful staff and owner, delicious breakfast to clean and neat rooms, is simply awesome. This is one of the most wonderful hotel I have stayed thus far. We really loved the generous spread of items for breakfast. The buns ( especially the ones with sesame seeds) were deliciously tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
#18 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Freiburg
Central Hotel Freiburg
#11 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alleehaus
Hotel Alleehaus
#41 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Rathaus

Address: Rathausgasse 4 - 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £82 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Rathaus Hotel
Hotel Am Rathaus Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing