We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freiburg”
Review of Hotel am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel am Rathaus
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent a couple of days in Freiburg, beginning of November, and stayed at Hotel am Rathaus. Very tidy, convenient and clean. Very nice breakfast and service minded staff. It is a very price worthy accomodation in the central parts of Freiburg, which in itself is a gorgeous old town.The parking facilities was pretty tough and we recommend that you have a small car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Absolutely brilliant location right next to the Christmas Market and Town Hall, but my room was quiet nonetheless. Nice, compact single room – a bit exotic to have the shower in the bedroom (though the toilet was, thankfully, in a separate room!). Stylish, simple decor, nice touch to have a well-filled bookshelf in the room (left-behind books, presumably). Good breakfast. I was also given vouchers for glühwein and bratwurst from the Christmas Market, since no person must leave Freiburg without it, apparently! Service was friendly throughout, and Freiburg is a very cosy place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel has a superb location in the old town Freiburg. Everything is very clean and very new. The reception staff are exceedingly polite and helpful, and they make you feel welcome! The cleaning staff is very sweet and polite, especially the lady on the second floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Very clean, soundpruff windows (verrrry importnant things for this area, trust me))), reach buffet breakfast ( price includet), friendly and very helpfull staff. Only 7 minutes walk to HbahnHoff and 5 min to Münster...good price for Altstadt district..so.. Recomended! Next time will book it again for sure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mazuratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Loved the breakfast here. Wide variety of sweet and savoury. Our room was very clean and comfortable, but a little hot. We were on the top floor, and I would recommend asking for a room lower down. There were large fans in the corridor we could have used which suggests heat is a common problem. Also the lift didn't go up as far as this floor. The hotel is very central but, as others have said, getting there by car is a bit tricky as you have to drive through a pedestrian area to the underground car park. If you are travelling by car I would recommend booking a parking place beforehand - worth paying- and then getting clear directions from the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the very top floor - no lift and rather hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful, but the hotel is hard to find. The entrance is inside a shopping area and the GPS could not find it, because it is on a pedestrian area which you have to drive to to park the car. The room was large, but not air conditioned. The breakfast buffet adequate, but nothing special. I would NOT recommend visiting this town. There were much prettier places that we drove through. The church, the market, some of the old buildings were interesting, but unless you have a specific reason for visiting - I would add a different city to your intinerary.

Room Tip: Family suite was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaTravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Hotel am Rathaus is centrally located, very clean, reasonably priced (for the location), and surprisingly quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful, and breakfast is very good. They have free internet and a big library of DVDs. If you want to stay in the center of the old part of Freiburg, this is a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
#20 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Post
Park Hotel Post
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
#37 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#22 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Freiburg
City Hotel Freiburg
#17 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Rathaus

Address: Rathausgasse 4 - 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £105 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Rathaus Hotel
Hotel Am Rathaus Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing