We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun atmosphere, nice vegetarian options, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Rauhen Mann

Zum Rauhen Mann
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, nice vegetarian options, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We ate here on a warm summer evening. The terrace of the restaurant was nicely located near the water under the trees, providing for a pleasant atmosphere. The menu was nice and varied, the food quality good. I was pleasantly surprised to find serveral vegetarian dishes on the menu, though the one I chose could have been a bit more strongly flavored (my suggestion: try something with cheese). The service was very friendly so you'll be sure to have a nice meal here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We wandered through the square and nearby roads, attempting to find a place for dinner. Without reservations, we were turned down at the door, time and time again.
When we walked by this restaurant, we pretty much expected the same. However, the busy and friendly waitress told us to come in and have a drink at the bar, while waiting for a table. Maybe 10 min later we were called in to our table. We're so lucky!
Service was very friendly, and it didn't take long for them to take our order. With our beers we had the Schniposa ( my son had the kinder version, half price), Schweinehaxe and the Sauerbraten. The food was absolutely delicious. We ended up having a great time and a great meal for the night.
If you are lucky to find yourself in Freiburg, don't miss the chance to enjoy this awesome place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilyblue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Goose well cooked!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We visited this restaurant at a very busy time of year, just before New Year. We managed to find a table on which five of us squeezed. Sitting on the end was no problem to me but it was a bit obstructive for the staff. The food was excellent. Three of us had goose - a seasonal dish. The service was friendly. The fact that it was full was an accurate indication of its deserved popularity. The meal for five including drinks was about £80. We only had one course for that but we were all full and couldn't have eaten anything else evenif it had bee

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpaandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Real German Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Standing outside this restaurant one evening last week we were wondering whether to go. The menu looked OK, the place looked OK, but it was a case of "go in" or "wander around a bit longer".

Then a woman came up to us and said, in German, that she'd eaten there last night and that it was good and, also, to ask for a table in the window. Well it would have been rude not to then go in.

I'm glad we did.

The food was good and the portions enormous (I'm glad we hadn't bothered with a starter); the wine and beer were good; and the service was with a dry humour.

A really good meal.

Look out, also, for the special of the day as it also comes with a "free" soup of the day included in the very reasonable price.

Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrils, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

About the place: nice atmosphere, traditional and cosy decoration, especially for Christmas time. The restaurant is near a water canal in Freiburg's old town.
About the service: warm welcome, excellent waitress who speaks several languages and works really hard.
About the food: traditional German style. I recommend the homemade soup, the sauerbraten, the schweineschnitzel and Apfelstrudel as dessert.
About the price: average, about 20 euros per person.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank domumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Rauhen Mann also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Zum Rauhen Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing