We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oberkirch June 2014”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oberkirch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oberkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oberkirch June 2014”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel has friendly staff and a very central location. However, in my view it does not live up to the 189 euros we paid for the room incl breakfast plus 15 euros for parking. I have given it a poor rating because I consider it poor value. We stayed in the main hotel with a room overlooking the square. All rooms are tired and old fashioned with no fridge or air conditioning. The first room we were shown to looked like it had been furnished from the left overs of a pine shop sale. it had a tiny bathroom with no bath. I complained and we were moved to a room that looked more like those on the website but on closer inspection, the furniture had all seen better days and the room was still tired. At least we got a bath this time. The hotel did not warn us when we booked that there would be a live concert in the square that evening so there was music blaring out when the band was practicing in the afternoon and then until 10.00 in the evening. After that, it was quiet. With the windows closed, the church bells do not bother you, but as there is no air conditioning, we had to leave them open. I have no complaints about the restaurant for dinner. I asked them in advance if they could get in something for breakfast to meet a dietary requirement, but they did not do so.

Room Tip: I suspect that rooms which are not in the main building may be better. There is a picture on the we...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    95
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
125
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel Oberkirch is located on a quieter street just a block off the main plaza. The hotel has limited parking but also has a "deal" with a public garage a few blocks away for 10 euros/night. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable - they also got some laundry done for us really quickly.

Breakfast is in the hotel's restaurant around the corner, I think it was 10 euros extra - but definitely worth it. Hot egg dishes on request came with sausages (surprise!).

Hotel room was spacious even though it's an older hotel. Linens were very nice - and they had robes and slippers. The weather was beautiful, so we slept with the windows open - turned out to be a mistake because there are bells on a nearby church every hour, all night - AND the main church bells sound at 7am-and go on for about 5 minutes! The next night we closed the windows and the room was basically soundproofed. Oh, and the hotel also supplies earplugs with your turn-down chocolates.

I can't imagine a nicer hotel in a better location in Freiburg! Definitely recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenaswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A charming hotel buried on a pedestrian street, once you learn the secret route it is easy to get to. No air conditioning, but clean rooms with windows. Ours opened onto an inner courtyard, that was quiet but situated over a staff room that was loud and smoke filled. Unfortunately the staff room kept their window open and the loud talking and cigarette smoke drifted upwards into our window. They quieted down after midnight. The room was clean and modern with free WiFi. The restaurant has an English menu and is where they serve breakfast.

The location is challenging the first time. The directions on their web page would be better if they provided a map.
Looking at the Google map, once you are on Schlossbergring follow it around to the North and before it turns into Leopold Ring, there is a light for Auf der Zinnen street - turn left. Follow Auf der Zinnen around past HermannstraBe, the next pedestrian street on your left is CG StraBe (Conrad-Grober-StraBe). Carefully turn left and yield the right-of-away to the pedestrians, eventually they notice you and move out of the way. You will come to a plaza containing the Freiburger Munster church on you left-continue straight across the end of the plaza, CG StroBe will turn into EisenstraBe, still a pedestrian street. The next cross street you come to after you leave the plaza, is SchusterstraBe - turn left. This is still a pedestrian street, patience is a virtue. The hotel is half a block down on the left under a hanging sign marked Hotel. Park well to the left side of the road and allow sufficient room for a car to pass on the right without driving into the waterfilled gutter. Unless arrangements have been made in advance for parking, they'll provide directions to a conveniently nearby parking garage. A note on the Munster plaza, it has an open-air market during the weekdays and is filled with people, keep your crossing to the end of the plaza and do not venture towards the Munster.
A couple other notes: streets marked with signs with a red circle and and a red horizontal bar mean do not enter. Also, If you look at the map, Kaiser-Joseph-StraBe looks deceptively convenient to get to SchusterstraBe - do not use it - it is for trams only.

Room Tip: We stayed on the SchusterstraBe side of the hotel in a clean modern room, I understand there are roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent location within the city centre. Great old building. Suite (bedroom+lounge+bathroom) old fashioned but not in a bad way and were clean and comfortable. Restaurant beneath was also well worth the visit in terms of food quality and good service.
Can be walked to from the rail station, but on cobblestones all the way. Better option is no. 2 tram from above the station, then short walk from the Kaiser Joseph stop.

Room Tip: Suite facing the main ('Munster') cathederal. Great position and despite facing the plaza t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is in the middle of Freiburg and the parking is 5 minutes away with unlimited space. Don't know what kind of Gps some "1 star rating" people are using but they should obviously use a map instead. The place is quiet and... very clean, a very important point for me. The personal was lovely and very professional. Loved the place and will come back soon for sure. Tried a few places already, in Freiburg but none of them with this special charme and class.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kuronokei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Fine old place in the historical center, friendly reception, good comfortable rooms, brand new bathroom, free wifi and beautiful old breakfast room around the corner , no complaints whatsoever, also the diner we had in the hotels restaurant was ok

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Trying to get to the hotel was challenging - We had a sat nav, had downloaded the map and instructions from the hotel and we still managed to fail to find it. After calling them a couple of times we finally got there. The thing is, to get there you need to drive right across Munsterplatz which will earn you LOTS of dirty looks but apparently is completely legal and the only way for you to get to the hotel.

Anyway we got there and the car park was full so we had to park in a covered car park nearby which the hotel has an arrangement with and which was fine - not too far. Remember to get a voucher from the hotel which ensures you pay a fixed amount per day before removing your car or you might end up with a hefty bill.

Our room was above the Oberkirche restaurant walking distance away, and not where the lobby was. I suspect the rooms in the main building have been refurbished as they have wifi but the one we were put in did not. The room we had was oddly shaped, long and rectangular culminating in a million dollar view of the Munster. We could sit there all day at the window just looking out at the scene before us.

The room itself was very simple and quite nondescript. It got quite hot in there during the day but they supply a fan; at night we kept the window open (the noise from the restaurant below was bearable and stopped when it closed but the bells from the church go on all night and go crazy in the mornings - I liked it but I can imagine there might be people who wouldn't.)

The bathroom was a decent size and came with a bath and shower.

Breakfast was lovely - you have it in the restaurant downstairs and you can sit outside in the spill out area.

A lovely little hotel with history - it was worth it for the view alone but the rooms really could do with some freshening up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasluggish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.5 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oberkirch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberkirch

Property: Hotel Oberkirch
Address: Muensterplatz 22 | Schusterstrasse 11, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#4 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#5 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oberkirch 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, privately run hotel in Freiburg’s old quarter is located in the heart of the pedestrian area, directly opposite the famous cathedral. It serves delicious regional cuisine.The Hotel Oberkirch provides traditionally designed rooms with en-suite facilities.A colourful range of shops, cafés and restaurants are just a short stroll away.Treat yourself to seasonal delights and Baden specialities in the Oberkirch’s widely appreciated restaurant. Make sure to try the local wines on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oberkirch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberkirch Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
Hotel Oberkirch Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing