We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice sized room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Freiburg
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, nice sized room”
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We stayed here in September 2008. It was a good location, parking garage was in an area underneath the building. The room and bathroom were spacious and quiet. Average breakfast choices. Staff were helpful, friendly, and spoke English. The room size and quietness made it above average for a plain exterior, medium sized hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank jlrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    60
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
49
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

My husband , my son and I came to Freiburg from Israel for the graduation of my son at the University . The 3 nights stay at City Hotel only enhanced for us this festive occasion. We had a large room , very convenient to accomodate 3 adults . Everything was to our liking , the spotlessly clean facilities, the pleasant breakfast room , the nice personnel and the tasty and rich breakfast .
Finally , the last but not the least feature is the excellent location of the hotel , minutes on foot from the center , the university , the shops and the train station .
We have decided that not only will we recommend this hotel to others , but also we will return here the next time we will be in Freiburg .

  • Liked — location , cleanliness and comfortable room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FreiburgGraduation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2005

I travel extensively for business, in Europe, Asia, and USA. I prefer modern, minimal-frills chain hotels where I can work and rest. Stayed here for one week in Sep 05.

PLUSES: Large room on 4th floor. Clean, neutral furnishings. Grocery store adjoining. Window opens [Note: noisy street once window is open]. Armoire with doors so clothes not subjected to room air.

MINUSES: No Internet access. No Tea Kettle. Minimal, fluctuating shower pressure and temperature.

SUMMARY: Not very convenient for business travelers, but good value and location. Adding WiFi and Tea Kettle to each room (total cost about Euro50 per room) would really boost appeal of this hotel IMHO.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PenTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2005

We had a wonderful time a this hotel. We only stayed one night, but found the experience quite nice. You are very close to all the shops and good places to eat, and the breakfast is wonderful. Our room faced the main street, so it was a bit noisy, but the room was very clean and nice.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khoward83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2004

I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is excellent. It is very well situated just off the Kaiser Joseph Strasse. The area is quiet although you are very near the shops and the trams.

It is always clean and the staff are friendly.

The breakfast is to die for. If you are in this neck of the woods the City Hotel is well worth a visit.

Helpful?
10 Thank NigelHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Freiburg
Central Hotel Freiburg
#15 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#30 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#19 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
#16 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Freiburg

Property: City Hotel Freiburg
Address: Weberstrasse 3, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Freiburg 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Freiburg Im Breisgau
City Hotel Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing