We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a few places with AC in Freiburg”
Review of Hotel Rheingold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rheingold
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We did not plan to stay here at first but found out that the hotel we had booked did not have AC and it was very hot during the four days we were in Freiburg. The AC worked sort of, it was central AC, so not the very best but it was better than not having it. It is just two minutes from the train station and has an underground garage if you need it. The internet works but it not a speed demon. Since the breakfast was priced rather high we chose to walk into town to eat at different cafes instead. The room was large and the noise from the street was mostly filtered out. It only takes a few minutes to get into the old part of town so it was fine. If you need AC then give it a try. Another nice touch is that the buffet breakfast comes with the room rate and so that is another reason to give it a try. It is modern and everything works and there is good sound proofing between rooms as well.

Room Tip: If you can get a room not facing the main road it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

The staff at this hotel are polite, helpful and friendly. They were always available to answer questions and offer tips on things to do in the city. The hotel has an amazing breakfast. All of the food is organic and the meat is locally sourced from a butcher concerned with the quality of the meat and the treatment of the animals.

The rooms were not glamorous. We had a "comfort double room", and while it was nicely air conditioned and had decent linens, the bed was not great and the furniture was a bit tired looking. I think they are in the process of updating their rooms, because the bathroom was very stylish and looked newly remodelled. Despite the somewhat disappointing rooms, I would certainly stay here again. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotel Rheigold is located close the central station of Freiburg and therefore also close to the city centre. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. I´ve been there just for one night but I enjyed the room and the breakfast buffet with a good choice of flakes, cheese, sausage and other stuff. Although my room did not have an air conditioning (but a ventilator) the rrom was not too hot and an open window during night was possible (no loud noises from the street below). The stuff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I had room 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel at the end of May. We visit Freiburg every year and we have stayed in 5 different hotels. We would only go back to 2 including this one.
Our room was very comfortable and clean and very well maintained during our stay. The room had air conditioning which is definetly a huge bonus during the summer months.
The bathroom was small but adequate and the water pressure was great in the shower, definetly a big plus.
I am a light sleeper but found the room and the hotel very quiet.Breakfast was good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar area is nice and much the same as any hotel bar.
We wanted a clean comfortable quiet hotel in a central location with a good shower good breakfast and friendly staff, and thats exactly what we got.
We happened to be in Freiburg during the Champions League final and watched the match in O Kellys Irish pub,which is walking distance from the hotel. There was a great crowd there and the atmosphere was amazing.The pub food was very good, fresh, generous portions and reasonably priced.Well worth a visit.
We will stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELEN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just completed a short 2 day stay at this hotel. Room was very nice - large size compared to others in area. Thank goodness for the Air Conditioning in the room because of the hot humid weather during this stay.
Very tasty breakfast - not a large selection though. Small, cozy bar area.
Helpful staff assisted with a special request.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitownthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our fourth stay at this place, and we will certainly come back. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and very well refurbished. Staff is friendly and dedicated, service excellent. Last but not least, their restaurant is a class of its own.....delicious meals at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimetrius1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Freiburg for a wedding. After hours of jet lag and driving around Germany we arrived at the hotel. It was a little hard to figure out where to park because to get to the parking garage you have to go down a road that looks like a sidewalk. Other then that the hotel was great, staff at the front desk were helpful and courteous, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Finally the free breakfast in the morning was really great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kreuzblume
Hotel Kreuzblume
#28 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Freiburg
Hampton by Hilton Freiburg
#25 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Schiff
Hotel Zum Schiff
#24 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
IntercityHotel Freiburg
IntercityHotel Freiburg
#32 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheingold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheingold

Address: Eisenbahnstr. 47, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rheingold 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rheingold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rheingold Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing