We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel in Freiburg + great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in Freiburg + great restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a good value hotel - but it's not luxurious. Room was a little tired around the edges, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with a coat of paint and a floor polish (...so why don't they?). Fronted on to main road, which is noisy with traffic and trams, but with the windows closed that was no problem. The welcome was excellent - really friendly staff all round. Dinner in the rather stylish bar/brasserie restaurant was very good indeed. All in all, very happy to have stayed here for one night on business, but wouldn't take Mrs Frequentfiler as she's fussy about finishes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    35
    17
    12
See reviews for
31
27
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Having paid 123 Euros per night (without breakfast) for our stay my wife and I were dissapointed by the standard of the accomodation which is in need of prompt refurbishment.
On our arrival we were informed that the hotel restaurant would not be opening for another week, this had not been made known at the time of our booking.
Breakfast was very limited and not of standard normally found in this area. To compound things some friends called in to see us at the hotel, but were told by staff they could find no record of us staying at the hotel on the computer, despite limited number of rooms!
On the plus side Hotel is very convenient for the Stadt Mitte, however would not stay here again without hotel undergoing substantive refurbishment and realignment of ethos.
I am not a hard person to please, but Hotel did not come up to standard and was overpriced

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWLIFE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I've been in the Schiller Hotel for one week when my girlfriend came to visit me in Freiburg.
The welcome has been warm, and the rooms look very nice.
I found the position very strategic as the hotel is just over the schwabentor bridge, very close to the river's walking paths and to the city center.
I found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The atmosphere is old-style, without a proper hall and with few rooms.
Compared to the Hotels in the city center the price was much cheaper.
I can suggest it especially for young people and couple who doesn't look for luxury but can benefit from a small-size setting with a friendly staff service!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Though we were lucky to get a room here during the wine festival after our booking at another hotel was messed up and the room was really nice- I found it difficult to sleep being right next to the noisy main road and without AC, it was also really hot! For one night it was ok, but I couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We were at this hotel once or twice. Room was at top floor, view was nice and it's by the river so will hear it during summer (like it). It's an average clean room, everything was okay.
Hotel is pet friendly - we really appreciate it.
Cons> no breakfast, staff service could be bit better

Location is really nice, close to the center, within walking distance with nice cafes and pubs.
Freiburg is a city of students so you will meet young people in those pubs, and be sure to try out the Flammkuchen cakes...yummy! :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaSt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have stayed at the schiller numerous times when on business in nearby lorrach. The rooms are immaculate and the restaurant is one of the best in the world. You can and many people do spend an entire evening dining there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I booked the hotel due to the misleading of location, I thought they were stay downtown but in fact is 4-5 stop tram from the main train station.

The plus side: Opposite to the tram stop, free wifi and the room quite spacious

The downside: Not included breakfast, food quality is rather poor for German hotel.

If you stay for short days find somewhere else near main station or in town

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wijaya_Randu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alleehaus
Hotel Alleehaus
#41 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#28 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
Hotel Rappen am Muensterplatz
#22 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Schuetzen
Hotel Gasthaus Schuetzen
#42 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiller Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiller Freiburg

Property: Hotel Schiller Freiburg
Address: Hildastrasse 4, 79102 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schiller Freiburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schiller Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schiller Freiburg Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing