We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel In Nice City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel In Nice City”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Hotel was a bit tricky to find as its located in a pedestrian only part of the city however a public multi level car park is located a few minutes walk from hotel. Hotel gives you a card to discount the parking to only 9 euro per day. The hotel is small and quaint from which you can walk to the main part of town. Ate at the restaurant and found the food to be good, breakfast was simple european style. Only complaint would be the terrible pillows (which seems to be the same throughout Germany) and a funny smell from the shower drain. Would be stay here again.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrboajangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    136
    39
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
137
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
387 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I'm not sure what other patrons of this hotel are talking about when they say annex, but we stayed in the Hotel itself, room 124. It was on the third floor, with an elevator to 2nd floor. I like the exercise. Cute old style room with sloping ceilings and beams with a modern European flair. The beams were a little in the way, but it was a good sized room so one has to weigh what is more important. Window in the bedroom gave us a view of the Munster steeple. No problems with the chimes of the bells, because I always pack earplugs. The heat wasn't working in our room, but it warmed up the second night. The room was very clean, the sheets and duvet, white and crisp and the double bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was a good size also, newly renovated with a window, modern sink and slate tiled walk-in shower with a wonderful forceful stream of water. Everything was so clean, towels white and fluffy, but there could have been a couple hooks to hang things on.

Breakfast was served in their charming traditional styled restaurant with a buffet of german foods. Good quality and many things to pick from. Wonderful staff kept the coffee coming.

I do need to mention about the hallways of this hotel. They are filled with some pretty impressive art and while walking the hallways, lights turn off and on as you enter and leave.

We stayed here again, 5 days later, and had room 114, which was a little smaller than the earlier room, but was renovated similarly. We chose this hotel for it's location. It is in the heart of Freiburg, very near the Munsterplatz, the outdoor market and near the Schwabentor gate. Walter was the host and most informational when asked anything. We felt very at home at the Schwarzwaelder Hof.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

For such a centrally located hotel prices are fair.This area is called Oberlinden is difficult to access with a car - watch out for the open drains (Baechle) or easy to access on the #1 tram to Littenweiler. I have stayed both in the annex, which is like your own private appartment, and in the main house, rooms always clean and nicely furnished.I prefer the modern look in the annex and the rooms are a bit more spacious. Free Wifi is a bit slow. Breakfast is very good and the evening restaurant is excellent both in terms of ambience and quality of food and service. The hotel is in probably the nicest area of Freiburg-fantastic little quirkey shops all around.
I don't take any notice of unfriendliness in Germany- it isn't intentional-remember they all had to do a course in hospitality and friendliness for the World Cup in 2006!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariahTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We cannot comment on the main hotel as we spent 4 nights in the annexe at the end of a touring holiday in Germany. However we enjoyed our stay here although there were a few minor issues. Nevertheless we would certainly recommend this hotel as a good value option for a stay in this city, and would return if we were ever to visit the area again. We found the restaurant which I review separately to be excellent.

Maybe it was because we arrived on a Saturday evening, but we did not find this hotel as welcoming as others in Germany, and although there were no problems and the service was good we did not feel quite so at ease. Having said this the restaurant staff were amazingly good.

The room in the annexe was very good - spotlessly clean and very modern, The beds were comfortable and even had controls to adjust the heights of the motorised top and bottom. The bathroom was on the small side with just a shower and no bathtub, but incorporated everything one needed and was also sleek and modern to complement the room.

We did find the room a little noisy from the sound of church bells. We were in a 3rd floor room above most of the nearby buildings facing the courtyard and hence the minster, which meant the sound was not deadened by other buildings. I had done considerable research in choosing the hotel but despite poring over maps I had not appreciated quite how near to the minster we were in the old city. It was indeed a marvellous location - but the bell-ringing and the clock!!!

However, this was not the main issue. On the Monday morning without any warning, work started at 7.30am drilling out the balcony 2 floors immediately below us. This work continued all day. We appreciate that maintenance is necessary, but we do feel that at the very minimum a short note could have been provided to us or someone could have spoken to us to warn us that this was going to happen.

Wi-fi reception was very poor being in the annexe, and on a number of occasions we connected to the internet only to lose the connection. On one occasion we could not connect at all and thought the password had been changed. (not so).

One of the reasons we chose a hotel with a restaurant is because we enjoy being able to just walk downstairs for a meal and up again back to our room without going out. Being located in the annexe means this is not possible and for both breakfast and dinner we had to walk around the corner to the main hotel, perhaps 50m. Not a problem although we did get wet on one occasion, but a little disappointment.

Breakfast was the usual German Buffet. It was good without being outstanding and there were no hot dishes. Occasionally because the staff was very busy at popular breakfast times it was slow to get replacement items for empty dishes.

This review may sound a bit negative because I feel it only fair to be totally honest and reflect everything relevant about our stay. Therefore to balance this I must say that we did really enjoy our stay - please read my review of the restaurant. There were no major issues and as stated above we would happily stay in the annexe again. The hotel represents real value for money in a lovely, but wealthy and quite expensive city.

Room Tip: The annexe room are nice and very modern, so if you are happy to be away from the main building ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on a trip to Freiburg. This hotel has an excellent location, a beautiful, traditional style dining room which served excellent, good value food and comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean rooms. The building is an excellent mixture of old and new, the staff helpful and friendly and the owner was welcoming and spent time with us explaining some of the history of the hotel and our room. I had visited this hotel many years ago and was so delighted that it had not lost any of its original charm whilst offering all modern comforts. I cannot recommend it highly enough. A real gem!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenScotlandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. It is in the old quarter of Freiburg, which is a cobbled area and lovely to stroll about. It was clean and comfortable, but a little noisy during the day as the room was overlooking a main street. Fortunately, it was fairly quiet at night. The room has very modern decor and spotlessly clean. Parking is close by and is at a special rate. The man on reception was very helpful and had good English. The staff in general were polite and pleasant. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a good hotel, well located in the Altstadt near the Munster. There are two buildings, and we were given a choice between them on check in. We chose the older, main building and were given a very nice room. It was the first place we stayed on our euopean trip and was an excellent choice to get over our jet lag. There was some street noise, it was a weekend and there were some partiers loudly going by during the night, but that is just what life is like when you are in the middle of an old university town.

Our room was small, but very clean and neat. We were on the thrd floor, but there was an elevator. The WIFI sgnal was not very strong, but we were still able to connect with our laptop. The breakfast was excellent.

I would reccomend this hotel, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.6 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel

Property: Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel
Address: Herrenstr. 43, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#4 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#11 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schwarzwaelder Hof
Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing