We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room is clean and nice. I was there at July 2013 with a super-hot summer. There are only 4 rooms with air-conditioning and unfortunately, the rooms are fully booked and I have to make do with a fan.

Wifi is not great. You have to request for wifi password from the reception. I guess that's usual for Germay.

It's not cheap but decent for business travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TayChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the guesthouse. Staff were extremely welcoming and we were given a complimentary welcome drink. The hotel is around a 5 minute walk to the city centre. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. The shower was superb. Breakfast was brilliant with hot and cold options. There is ample secure parking. We would stay here again in an instant.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary8265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked last minute via booking.com. It was the cheapest hotel. It's the guesthouse opposite the main hotel. We paid only 59 euro a night and for that it was ok. It's very central and you can venture out to the city. I would not book it though for any more money. The rooms are clean but very old 70s design, no minibar. No air con, no amenities on the room. It's not a room where you would spend time in, it's purely for sleeping and nothing else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

we booked for just one night and were very happy with our booking. We booked using booking.com and got a good price too. We had a very comfortable room, it was a good size and was very clean. The only problem was that it overlooked the evening BBQ that the hotel were doing for dinner and so we couldn't open the window. also the noise from the bar meant we couldn't go to sleep with the window open. It wasn't too noise but we were on the first floor and are both light sleepers.... had we stayed longer we would of moved rooms but for one night it was OK. It is just worth thinking about when booking.
The hotel is in a good location on a relatively quite street but easily walkable to the altstadt in about 5 mins.

Room Tip: ask for a room not overlooking the outdoor bar if you sleep with windows open !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This review is for the GUESTHOUSE, not the hotel: room and bathroom are clean, but very simple and even banal. The room is not as the one shown in pics (probably they have taken pics from the best rooms or from the hotel, which is a 4 star). No elevator. Expensive breakfast (13 euro), but you can have a very good and cheap breakfast in a bakery very close to the hotel, going towards the city centre.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage try to find a room on the first floor, because there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGoodTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel has a good location and the staff during my stay was very helpful and friendly. But my room was terribly warm and the room had no air condition. Opening the window was not an option because of noise and smoke from the hotel's outdoor bar/restaurant below the window. So would not recommend the hotel for a summer time stay in Freiburg.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swede645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Nice hotel , friendly staff , very good services , has an excellent location becausr it is very near from down city and shopping places and the cathedral square , realy i recommend this hotel strongly

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanyasaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
2.1 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
945 reviews
1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designhotel am Stadtgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel am Stadtgarten

Address: Karlstr. 12, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: £86 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel am Stadtgarten 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Designhotel am Stadtgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stadtgarten Hotel
Designhotel Am Stadtgarten Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing