We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, easy access to railway + old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Barbara Garni
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, easy access to railway + old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visited Hotel Barbara for 3 days in August 2014. Chose the hotel based on internet-reviews on three different sites. Location was excellent for us, only 5 minutes/roughly 250 m from main railway station, less than 10 minutes to the Old Town.
Room was of decent size and also very clean. Showerroom also in good condition.
The hotel gave us a booklet for local restaurants, ended up visiting two of them, were very much as described and also otherwise met expectations. Hotel staff was friendly, brother spoke German so we didn`t use English, most other guests did, though, no problems.
Breakfast buffet was very good, kept us going until late afternoon, and at least in August, in my opinion, cheap compared to what was on offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatuHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    41
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
49
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a great place to stay in Freiburg. The building is really cute on the outside. The location is wonderful, just a 5 minute walk from the train station a 10 minute walk from the cute city center. There is a very yummy breakfast available each morning. The staff was very nice and helpful! My only criticism would be that the beds were a little too hard for my taste. Other than that, a great place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheIsKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We loved our stay here. Charming hotel and the staff was so welcoming and helpful. We wanted to celebrate a birthday dinner but it was a national holiday and most of the special restaurants were closed. The hotel owner called around for us, found a great restaurant open and got us reservations. We arrived early so left our luggage and went out for a bit, when we came back (still before check in time) our room was ready and they had carried our heavy luggage up to our room already.
The room was very clean and pretty and the bed very comfortable, loved the mattress. Breakfast was good as well.
The location is excellent, just an easy two minute walk from the train station and a short walk to the old town area.
The rates are very reasonable for such a great hotel and experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The woman with whom I spoke on the telephone while reserving our room was very agreeable and efficient and took into account all my "specific" requests.
From our Monday afternoon arrival, when the kind receptionist carried our luggage up the few stairs to the "main" floor until our departure four days later - when he poured us a drink of refreshing sparkling water before we left, we found the staff to be exceedingly helpful and pleasant.
Our room, albeit very small, filled our requirements perfectly. It was well appointed, as was the bathroom (modern shower, complete with "balance bar"). There were no drawers, but there was a reasonable amount of shelf space and (a rarity!) a good supply of hangars in the closet. The beds were excellent.
The delicious breakfast buffet included a variety of tempting foods from all nutritional categories. An additional generous touch was the tray of inviting apples and candies to be found at all times at the reception desk.
The location is perfect : easy walking distance from both the railroad station and the "old town".
Should we return to Freiburg, we would unhesitatingly go again to the Hotel Barbara, which afforded us a truly delightful "hotel experience".

Room Tip: Being old, we requested a quiet room, with no steps to go up. We were given room 12, on the main fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friscaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Seemed to live up to tripadvisor ratings , very friendly and helpful staff, recommended a good restaurant , and had a nice German breakfast for fair price. We went to Freiburg because it was said to be different and found a lovely walk up the hill, and through the old town, very pleasant. The hotel had everything we wanted, great location to train, old town, etc , and reasonable rate compared to the other highly rated hotels. The town is a tourist town, but this seemed a more family affair

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Barbara in Freiburg in September 2013 and highly recommend it. Our room was pleasant and comfortable. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfasts were great. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of town, yet its side-street location offers tranquility and quiet.

My traveling companion needs to use a wheelchair for everything but very short trips. On the day of our departure, one of the hotel personnel offered to wheel him all the way to the bus station (about 3 blocks away) so that I could deal more easily with the luggage. This was an extraordinary courtesy and deeply appreciated.

In short, the Hotel Barbara seems to be managed and staffed by kind, capable people and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our first-floor room was quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Room luxurious with fine furniture. Spacious bathroom and room. Discounted parking in the indoor garage down the street. The hotel gives you a ticket that you use to get in/out of the garage. The hotel bills you for the ticket when you leave. Great breakfast. Lovely German sausages. Charming breakfast venue. I recommend the pizza and caprese at Casanova down the street. (Room 34 – double).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oberkirch
Hotel Oberkirch
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbara Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbara Garni

Property: Hotel Barbara Garni
Address: Poststr. 4, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barbara Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This privately controlled 3-star hotel with his cosy atmosphere will inspire you. Impress yourselves by the personal service and special ambience of this house, with impressions to the town history. "Barbara" lies only 3 walking minutes of the central station removes in a quiet byroad. On foot you reach at few minutes many places of interest, the theatrical house and concert hall, shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barbara Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Barbara Garni Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing