We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Alleehaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alleehaus
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and was very impressed. We had a large room with a window to the street. It was quiet, spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was good. The location was fantastic, in a residential street just outside the old town of Freiburg. The free wifi was good and fast. The building was very charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquidInks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good choice as it sits near the center of town, but isn't burdened by the proximity. There are parking places in the rear of the hotel, and the usual continental breakfast is optional. The hotel itself is a nice old building, with several rooms on each floor. A common breakfast-eating area off the foyer and front desk area. The rooms are large enough, and clean, but not very modern. I thought it was a bit over-priced for the level of comfort, but it is still a place I wouldn't hesitate to return to, due to the convenience of location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, close to every touristic atraction in Freiburg. The breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable,however the room smelled quite bad, I had to open the windows for a while. Also, in the room next door there was a dog that did not stop barking everytime anyone passed by, it was very annoying. I have never been in a hotel where dogs were allowed. As an overall, it is good for a one-day stay. The internet connection was a bit slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oul4rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had difficulty finding accommodations in Freiburg for the nights we needed. I reluctantly booked a stay at Hotel Alleehaus because it had the best location and price. We were pleasantly surprised! The outside of the hotel is really quite lovely. It looked nothing like I had imagined from the picture. The room was comfortable and pleasant. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and the breakfast was very good. We loved Hotel Allehaus and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

While traveling without plans, I ended up at the youth hostel on the outskirts of Freiberg...yikes. I was so excited to find Hotel Alleehaus the next morning while scouring the town for a better place to stay. I'm really surprised to see that other reviewers didn't love it, but maybe its been redone recently?

I love vintage/historical things, and the hotel is in a dreamy (to me) building building that feels like an old house. It was very nice inside, nothing looked run down or shabby. The girl at the front desk was very nice and cheerful and gladly showed me the room before I committed - and it was awesome! The furniture/decor was really funky but tasteful, the room was extremely spacious, and the in-suite bathroom was perfect. Everything was clean and there were cookies on the bed to welcome us - it even had a mini-bar!

The hotel isn't right in the downtown area, but it is about a 5-10 minute walk depending on how fast you are. I thought the location was perfect. There is a theater on the street, just down the block, which I didn't get a chance to check out but would like to when I go back.

On-site garage parking is available, and I was a little peeved that they charged us for it at check out without mentioning there was a fee initially, but I loved the place so much I'm going to let it slide. I checked out the other floors and rooms, and each one was unique and equally cool. Bonus: the breakfast was an amazing all-you-can-eat spread of cheeses, bread, jam, deli meats, cereals, fruit, etc and included in the price of the room!

If this place was in San Diego, I'd check in for a stay-cation! This was one of the top 3 hotels we stayed in during our trip through Germany, Italy and France.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfbird0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitefish
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Hotel is located just outside core of old city in a residential area. Not easy to find from train station. Close to restaurants and attractions. If you loved your tiny college dorm room that hasn't been updated in decades then you'll love this place. Otherwise skip it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

This hotel is located 300 metres from the old town of Frieburg. A significant advantage is the limited parking on site (charge of 6 Euros). The rooms have been refurbished and where quite spacious with a very clean bathroom with great water pressure. The breakfast choice was enormous with a vast choice of breads, cereals, cheese, meats, fruit etc. There was a choice of many restaurants nearby ranging from pubs to Italian to typical German (and covering a vast price range).

  • Liked — Large clean room and location
  • Disliked — Looks tired from the outside - very deceiving
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#25 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Rathaus
Hotel am Rathaus
#30 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
#52 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barbara Garni
Hotel Barbara Garni
#19 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alleehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alleehaus

Property: Hotel Alleehaus
Address: Marienstr. 7, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alleehaus 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alleehaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alleehaus Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing