We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too quiet town”
Review of Krone Igelsberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krone Igelsberg
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Too quiet town”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I booked this hotel for one night after reading great reviews to explore this section of the black forest and I must say that i've maybe expected more based on the reviews.
First of all Anja is very nice and warm no doubt about it.I booked for half board but disappointed a little bit from the food.I have found the food to be tasty enough but not great.Maybe it's my fault as a vegetarian not to tell them in advance and they had to improvised something that was not to my taste so much.Most of their guests are german speakers,at least that night that we have stayed.Every one had a fixed reserved table with their name printed at dinner time.
Somehow our name did not appear no where and they put as aside from everyone which was not bad because we had a privacy; still it's felt awkward not to have a fixed table like every one else.
The decoration is kitsch but fits well with the overall atmosphere.
I liked the breakfast as well as the breakfast room decor.
We paid for half board 168 euro for couple for one night.
They have lovely outdoor quiet garden outside where you can drink your coffee with a tasty schwartzwald cake.
All the staff are welcoming and friendly.
The town is very very quiet,virtually nothing to do there in the evening .With out a car you can't go anywhere by foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirit-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is great for a romantic weekend getaway! The food is very good, especially the breakfast options. The Happy weekend deal is pretty good if you plan on being at the hotel for dinner. The staff are friendly and helpful and I had a great massage. The rooms are nice and have pleasant views, most have balconies. There are also good running/hiking paths around the hotel.

Down side, sauna/hummum is only open from 2:30-6:00 pm and the hotel was full, so it can get a little crowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lovely setting, wonderful room with balcony and lounge, fantastic breakfast with a more than ample choice, good food overall although in warm weather the soup course may have been better changed to a cheese course? The homemade Schnapps is also worth a try.
The staff were very helpful particularly Anja who looked after us and allowed me to practice my rusty German! There is a lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna, the latter were closed due to the extreme hot weather. Although located in a tiny village, it's convenient for places like Stuttgart and Baden-Baden, there are also some good walks around in the Nagoldtal.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ghislaine334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having never visited the Black Forest before I used Trip Advisor to help me find a hotel and we were not disappointed in out 5 night stay here. The decoration is kitsch, not chic boutique design, but having accepted that it is a wonderful experience. We had half board which offered excellent value (about £140 per night for 2 people) and that was for one of the larger rooms, classed as apartment . The food was wholesome and well cooked. We ate breakfast and 4 course dinner and needed nothing much else in the daytime. Food is meat and cream rich, not sophisticated but there was a choice of main courses for dinner and there was nothing that we disliked. The staff are so polite, speak good English and help with the menu. All the wine is available in 250ml jugs. We had a lovely room, with lots of fresh towels and robes for use in the swimming pool and sauna, a balcony with recliners, a sitting area, a large (rather dated) bathroom with 2 washbasins. Everything was spotless. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were superb. Massage and beauty treatments are also available.
Outside there are walks from the door into the amazing countryside and short drives offer much more. The free Black Forest card gives you access to free travel and reduced rates at local places of interest. We loved it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungrySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay, CA and Southern Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Thanks to the top reviews in Tripadvisor we choose the Hotel Krone Igelsberg for a 5-day mini-family-reunion. It turned out to be an excellent decision.

First of all just to be clear, the Hotel Krone Igelsberg is NOT for you if you’re looking for a fast-paced action-filled party hotel. In fact it is the exact opposite. The sleepy village of Igelsberg, located 12 km outside of Freudenstadt, sports no other commercial establishments – no pubs, no restaurants, no grocery stores. As such, having a vehicle available while staying at the Krone is a good idea. We arrived by train in Freudenstadt and rented a very nice small car from the local Europcar agency for just this reason. City buses do pass through Igelsberg several times a day, though, so with careful planning a nice stay without a car wouldn’t be impossible.

The Krone just exudes low-key luxury. The décor, while bordering on what might be considered kitsch in another setting, works perfectly here. The place is stuffed with large dolls sporting German/Bavarian clothing, many real antiques (especially in the breakfast room) and not one cuckoo clock! Padding down to the perfect-temperature-controlled indoor pool in a plush robe and matching slippers for a morning dip proved an ideal warm-up to a sumptuous breakfast. And after a day of wandering some of the many hiking trails radiating out from the hotel, a relaxing stop-off in either the wet or the dry sauna helped sooth any trail-weary muscles.

And the food! Since there are really no other options for dining short of driving into town each evening we choose the half-pension room rate plan. Each day’s caloric input began with an incredible array of freshly prepared breakfast items, including not only the German standard hard rolls and meats, but bacon and eggs, fruit salads, etc. By mid-afternoon when a few pangs of hunger began straggling in, a slice of Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte (this is the Black Forest after all) hit the spot. And then came dinner! Every night a 4-course extravaganza of local specialties was heaped in front of us. Toward the end of our stay the more petite among us were begging the servers for smaller portions. It’s easy to say “just don’t finish it all” but the temptation to not leave behind even one delicious morsel proved nearly irresistible.

Anja and the rest of the Krone’s staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. For example, when we wanted to show photos from a USB data stick on a big screen, they provided us with an overhead projector to use in the multimedia room. And the sweet young woman already busily preparing for breakfast every morning soon became accustomed to our particular habits and began filling a pot of fresh coffee as soon as she spotted one of us wander sleepy-eyed into the breakfast room (well before it opened for service) for us to take back up to our room.

The only thing less than perfect about the hotel was the spotty internet access. It turns out the hotel is at the mercy of the local access provider which hasn’t yet seen fit to provide the small village of Igelsberg with broadband service. The hotel is currently working with the local equivalent of the town mayor to try to convince the provider to upgrade the service. Hopefully that will happen soon.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor facing the street were perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toucanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is situated in a very quiet, picturesque, village a few kilometers outside Freudenstatt, in the Black Forest.
We stayed for 5 nights, originally booked as bed and breakfast, but after a warm welcome from Anja, the owner, we were offered a half board package which worked out cheaper overall, as we had intended eating there for the week.
Our room/apartment was on the top floor was very well appointed, with a balcony, and a glorious view over the village and fields.
The facilities at the hotel are superb, from a good sized pool, sauna and steam rooms, solarium and massage.
The food was also excellent, consisting of a 4 course meal each night and a 5 course, candle lit dinner on Saturday night.
It was my wifes bithday during our stay and the staff made it really enjoyable for her, beginning with a bottle of Champagne for breakfast.
All the staff,especially Anja, Elena and not forgetting Torsten, go out of their way to get to know you and make your stay as pleasureable as possible, and their English is very good, (better than my German).
If you are looking for an excellent hotel, with superb facilities, brilliant staff and a quiet location, I would thoroughly recommend the Hotel Krone , Igelsberg.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGBV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This was our second visit exploring the Forest visiting Alpirsbach, Triberg, Haslach and Gengenbach - all worth a visit for traditional architecture. The hotel food and room was as good as last year with the pool table particularly attractive this time though in the smokers' room. The sauna and steam room were only available from 1430 to 1800 for some reason.
The walking and autumn colours were superb.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peglegManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freudenstadt
6.5 mi away
Hotel Langenwaldsee
Hotel Langenwaldsee
#3 of 25 in Freudenstadt
141 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Gruner Wald
Hotel Gruner Wald
#2 of 2 in Lauterbad
113 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Teuchelwald
Hotel Teuchelwald
#11 of 25 in Freudenstadt
42 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#10 of 25 in Freudenstadt
46 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Bareiss
Hotel Bareiss
#2 of 32 in Baiersbronn
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krone Igelsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krone Igelsberg

Property: Krone Igelsberg
Address: Hauptstr. 8, 72250, Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freudenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Krone Igelsberg 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krone Hotel - Holidays and Wellness in the Black Forest Our hotel is located in the village of Igelsberg close to the towns of Freudenstadt and Baiersbronn in Baden-Württemberg. Surrounded by prairies and woodlands, the village of Igelsberg nestles in the northern part of the Black Forest far from any hustle and bustle. Your holidays here, in one of the most beautiful mountain landscapes of Germany, will be unforgettable. We have put together some packages for your holiday and offer good value for money to suit any requirement in any season. Are you planning a short break or a weekend trip to unwind for a few days? Would you like to read a good book, while enjoying the calmness of the Black Forest? Or would you like to spend restful and carefree holidays, including spa treatments and the complete services of an excellent hotel? Or do you prefer to undertake relaxing hikes through the pine woods in the pure Black Forest air? Have you already fixed a date and are looking for a suitable accommodation with an excellent cuisine? The well-run, 4-star Krone Hotel provides attractive services and beautiful rooms with every comfort. The Hausdorf Family and their long-time employees are looking forward to your visit and will be delighted to extend a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Krone Igelsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing