We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned after 27 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldblick Hotel Kniebis
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It shouldn't have taken us so long to return. The hotel has changed a lot in the intervening years but is still a very comfortable hostelry with very good local food. Excellent rooms, lovely balcony, comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. A great place to relax and unwind. Didn't have time to use all the facilities in the hotel this time but as the weather was good we were out and about. Step out of the door of the hotel and you are in the Black Forest, plenty of lovely walks on the doorstep. Family Finkbeiner is still actively in charge and this, of course, is what gives it its stability. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for. Allow £200 per night inc. dinner but without drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DWi186416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Waldblick Hotel Kniebis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We found this hotel via the Michelin restaurant app because it was on the route we were taking.
It was just lovely. Not opulent but well appointed with generous rooms, comfortable beds and modern bathrooms.
Dinner was served in their charming Bavarian dining room. The food was unpretentious but tasty. The service was a bit spotty but pleasant and well intentioned.
The included breakfast was one of the nicest we had in Germany with a large selection of cold cuts, smoked fish, cheeses, diet jams and bacon and eggs made to order.
They provide Wifi in the rooms for €5.00 per day. It was a bit slow.
Otherwise this was a delightful chance discovery.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed at this hotel in April 2008 for one night. About 15 – 25 km from Pforzheim in the northern black forest / schwarzwald.

Our double room was clean and comfortable enough – seating area made the room seem a bit squashed. Largish balkony

There is a swimmingpool and if I remember correctly some other spa / relaxation facilities, however we did not try them.

Overall the decoration was a bit dated, “buergerlich”.

….. most striking thing about this hotel is that after a year I hardly remember it. So I would summarize it as being neither a place to avoide, nor one to seek out.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FernwehReturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed at the Waldblick Hotel in Kniebis following the recommendation of friends. The hotel is located in the middle of the Black Forest, with many paths that allow you to go on long walks for hours.

When we arrived we were very quickly under the charm of the sound of trees. Something I hadn't experienced in a long time. You won't here a car, train, people, etc... All you hear is the trees, birds, and occasional rain. For people looking for relaxation this is definately a good destination to go to.

The hotel is very clean throughout. The staff very helpful to make your stay most enjoyable, all in a cozy family atmosphere. Our room was very large, and had a modern, clean and big bathroom. The beds were soft and made us sleep like babies (well the vibes you get at this place also helped).

The best feature of the hotel, other than the location, was the spa. The masseuse was the best I've ever had! There are also saunas, steam baths, a large swimming pool, allowing you to relax fully while at the hotel.

In the restaurant, every guest has a reserved table, which is always the same. This is nice for travelers that like thinks to be the same. The food is very good, mainly local and from the Baden Region (South West part of Germany, alongside the Rhine). There is also a very well assorted wine list. We certainly had a good time here too!

Price-wise, you have to expect approx 65-80 Euros per person and night, but this does include breakfast. The restaurant is more on the expensive side, so in case you're on a budget, there are plenty of places you can go to in the local villages, or even in Freudenstadt, which is close-by.

We recommend this hotel for travelers that want to wind-down, relax, get back to nature. Leave your mobile phone at home when you go there, as you'd be a fool to use it while staying there! We're told that in winter you can ski close-by, but during our stay we did not notice that.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 062211d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fengel198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamond-Guitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Préférez les chambres avec baignoire plu spacieuses que celles avec un douche seulement
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVL26011956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freudenstadt
4.8 mi away
Hotel Langenwaldsee
Hotel Langenwaldsee
#3 of 25 in Freudenstadt
152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
269 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Gruner Wald
Hotel Gruner Wald
#2 of 2 in Lauterbad
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Palmenwald Schwarzwaldhof
Hotel Palmenwald Schwarzwaldhof
#8 of 25 in Freudenstadt
283 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Hotel Traube Tonbach
#3 of 32 in Baiersbronn
583 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzwald Freudenstadt
Hotel Schwarzwald Freudenstadt
#13 of 25 in Freudenstadt
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldblick Hotel Kniebis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldblick Hotel Kniebis

Address: Eichelbachstr. 47, 72250, Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freudenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Price Range: £185 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waldblick Hotel Kniebis 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waldblick Hotel Kniebis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing