We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Landgasthof zur Lilie
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Triberg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with my wife and daughter on August 5th. The food and service was good. It is a large restaurant but for a touristy town it still kept it's typical German atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    125
    51
    27
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest, VA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch After Cuckoo Clock Shopping”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We went in search of a new clock to replace the one we gave my father some 30 years ago. Our German friends suggested we go into the heart of the Black Forest in Triberg. After a couple hours of shopping we worked up an appetite and decided to mull over our cuckoo options during lunch. It was quite busy and we were led to a table near the back of the restaurant. The girls ordered a Radler and us guys ordered a refreshing Rothaus Pils.

The girls ordered the soups, my wife a beef/chicken soup and our friends the lentil soup. Both were well prepared and tasty. I ordered the cheese spaetzle and my friend the sausage and cheese salad. All was good and I had so much cheese spaetzle I had plenty to share. The food was also reasonably priced for the note able touristy area. Definitely recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank MrKaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We ate here both nights we were in town. The beer is great, the service is friendly and the menu is easy to navigate. The wild game is hunted on the land surrounding the city and is cooked in a variety of ways. My son loved the Venison saddle. The bacon stuffed dumplings were great and the black forest cake and dampfnudle were some of the best ever! Prices are typical for a tourist area but not outrageous.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msbdrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommend ”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The gulash soup was tasty, quick service. There was a cozy atmosphere, clean toilet. Located at the entrance of the Triberg waterfall, recommended for the cheese cake dessert.

Helpful?
Thank yaron_moryosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Traditional Schwarzwalder Dining”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

In the heart of Triberg is the Landgasthof zur Lilie, a hearty down-to-Earth restaurant which serves traditional Black Forest dishes. During the day the atmosphere is quite lovely and quiet as families are the largest contingent of patrons. For the price, the dishes are quite large and very, very good.

The staff is very friendly and the menus are both in English and German. Although the main dishes are very good, the highlight is the dessert menu. We had the traditional Schwarzwald Torte (the best in Triberg!) and a dampfnudel (yeast roll/dumpling) with a cherry filling and a vanilla-cinammon spice sauce topping which you will talk about for years to come.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landgasthof zur Lilie also viewed

 
Schonach, Baden-Wurttemberg
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Landgasthof zur Lilie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing