We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful city - great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Heidelberg Astoria
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The Hotel Heidelberg Astoria is a wonderful mix of old world German hospitality and contemporary design. Upon arrival the owner greeted me outside and helped me find a parking spot for my car. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel in general exhibits a modern yet homely atmosphere. Breakfast was also excellent with great service. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would certainly return here when visiting Heidelberg in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lance_dqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

This place looked so cool and so classy online, that I booked it, and it is even better than expected. There are only 6 rooms, and the hotel is a lovely restored villa hidden away in courtyard with other villas from the same period. The sites are only minutes away on foot, so the location is ace. High- quality beds, and the renovation has been done with excellent materials. The owners' love for the place is palpable, and, last but not least: the only thing you hear is wind in the trees and birds singing even though it's in the middle of the city. Brilliant.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Berlineric1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Heidelberg is quite unique place and an absolute must for any foreign traveller in Germany. Although there was never a place as in the "student prince", there is hardly another town that is so much "Old Europe" in Germany (it was one of the few bigger cities that had not been destroyed in WW II). This very nature of Heidelberg has a negative side: it is although it is inhabitated by some 100,000 folk (and about a third of them students and researchers as well as people active around the university), overcrowded by tourists who drop in for a day or less. A consequence is a relatively standardized, low quality hospitality sector.

I was staying for two nights in the Astoria, a small and beautiful hotel just across the Neckar river, a 10 minutes walk from the Altstadt historic center. It is located in a very small garden in a quite residential neighborhood. The house itself is a art nouveau 3 floor building of a bit more than 100 years with only 7 rooms. They are not cheap. I had a smaller one for 120 EUR/night while the spacious superior rooms are at 190 EUR.

In short: If you would like to stay in a beautiful, more private place which offers great hospitality, an excellent breakfast and everything prepared with great taste, this should be your pick.

Room Tip: I would go next timr for room 2 which is a big superior room at the corner of the house on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoachimBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank schnatty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoMauroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
#22 of 76 in Heidelberg
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#29 of 76 in Heidelberg
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
ArtHotel Heidelberg
ArtHotel Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heidelberg Suites Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heidelberg Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heidelberg Astoria

Address: Rahmengasse 30, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: £130 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heidelberg Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ****hotel is situated in the center of Heidelberg - in an old, but very trendy area called Neuenheim - at the end of a quiet lane in the middle of gardens. It is next to ther river and to the famous "Philosophenweg" and within 10 minutes walking distance to any historical place or to the hospitals of Heidelberg university. Built in 1907, the hotel was completely restored in 2006: Now we can offer 6 comfortable rooms in a modern design, but with the atmosphere of the beginning of the last century. Each room is individually furnished and has got wireless LAN, telephone and flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Heidelberg Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing