We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view to the castle”
Review of Heidelberg Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heidelberg Suites
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice view to the castle”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This property is located about 200 yards from the main bridge to old town. We had a standard suite which was modern and spacious. We had a suite on the second floor with a beautiful view across the river. Our room was quiet and clean. The beds and shower were great. They have what looks like a cool exercise room and hot tubs outside but we were not able to utilize them. The breakfast was great and taken in what doubles as a library. When we checked in we had trouble with the tv but it was promptly fixed. I have read other reviews about this place being understaffed. When we checked in there was only one woman at the reception desk. We asked her for a map and directions to sites in old town. She had nothing to offer. Our bellman was a Spanish student there over the summer. Later when I went back to the lobby to arrange for a cab and enquire about train schedules the staff was very attentive and helpful. I think what you have to understand is that this is a relatively small property with limited staff especially in off hours.

Room Tip: Don't check in late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bgetz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    69
    24
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
229
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is a beautiful hotel well located along the Neckar. The rooms are well appointed. Unfortunately, the hotel also seems to be seriously understaffed, which translates into inconsistent or even missing service. We had a long wait behind other guests to check in. There was only one (harried) woman at the reception desk. The breakfast buffet offerings were not as robust as most other German hotels and were not promptly restocked. Our room was not cleaned until after 4 p.m. Our mini-bar and coffee machine were not restocked until we requested it and then it was only done in the late evening. In sum, the service levels were not at all consistent with the hotel's rates. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HiIslandsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel was such a disappointment. Well,at least the part of the hotel we stayed in, which was not shown in any of the pics online.

We were placed in suite 22, a "city suite." Turns out that means the building next door to the beautiful hotel. The lobby and library are lovely. And I'm sure the suites in the actual hotel are too. But our room, located on the ground floor of the building next door, was below average, to say it nicely. There was no balcony. In fact, the room only has one window in the front - and it has bars on it. A tall hedge is in front, I assume for privacy. But that means that there is no view. Which is such a shame since you are on the river.

So no view, no balcony, spotty internet, no new towels, or room cleaning.

This was the place on our two weeks of travel that my husband and I decided to splurge on. We paid $500 for 2 nights. Not even remotely worth it. Beyond disappointed.

We did ask for another room, but all "standard suites" were booked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had a lovely and extremely spacious suite for our family with free minibar and big windows overlooking the Neckar river and the castle. The hotel is perfectly located right at the foot of the famous bridge leading to downtown. The bathrooms were lovely, in marble and the decoration of the room was modern and tasteful. We went running along the riverside path in the mornings. Gorgeous with the mist coming off the river.
The front desk could not do enough for us. They even took the time to get us recommendations for wineries to visit. The breakfast was lovely with excellent tea and espresso. This is THE place to stay in Heidelberg!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisGrandeVoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Heidelberg Suites is a 5-star boutique hotel. Our room was gorgeous: it had a wonderful sitting area, comfortable bed, unique bathroom. Everything in the room was spotless. The staff were extremely helpful whenever we had any questions, buffet breakfast had a nice selection, and the included wi-fi was an added bonus. Make sure you request a room facing the river - what a wonderful view! Heidelberg Suites has convenient parking. This hotel is a 5-minute walk across the pedestrian bridge to the old city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The Heidelberg Suites is a perfect combination of elegance and fine attention to esthetic detail without being "precious" or stuffy. I was in the hotel for nearly a week with a film development workshop. I stayed in room #8. I was able to do private consultations in my very spacious living room or lounge. It was also easy to write and work at the generous desk provided. Coffee, tea, and other beverages were nearby in the efficient kitchenette (hidden behind a length of beautiful armoire-type cabinetry that concealed a fridge, burners or hob, and coffee-maker).The library-breakfast room was also a very peaceful meeting space during the afternoon hours. As others have said, the hotel is ideally located-- very near the bridge and old town but also very quiet (especially in the back building where I stayed). The owner is extremely gracious and the staff is very pleasant and accommodating. It was like being in a stately but intimate home in the midst of a relaxed but elegant house party. My only complaint is the wireless service which could be very slow when all the media obsessed filmmakers logged on at once.

Room Tip: The back building and room #8 where I stayed was very peaceful and had two nice balconies and was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Chose this hotel from other reviews.

Location is perfect. Right across the river from the Historic old town of Heidelberg via the Alte Brucke Bridge.

We had the back cottage during our 2 day stay and it worked out perfect since we were traveling with our 4 year old. We had a private room to ourselves and we set her up in the sunroom in the back.

It felt very private and would be perfect for couples of course. Very romantic.

The workout facility is a bit small but the location makes up for any shortcomings. It's in a seperate pavilion with windows on all sides and has views of the city of Heidelberg and hills beyond. It was more enjoyable working out in this room than in a basement gym without windows.

The staff were all pleasant and very friendly during our stay.

The breakfast was included in the rate and had a good variety of local cuisine.

We would stay here again and recommend to anyone we know that are going to be in the Heidelberg area.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy choose the back cottage room. If you want easy in and out without stairs th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
428 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Suites

Property: Heidelberg Suites
Address: Neuenheimer Landstr. 12, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heidelberg Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heidelberg Suites is your home away from home in the heart of Germanys most romantic town. Located on the banks of the scenic Neckar River adjacent the historical bridge, each suite is blessed with Picture Postcard views of the world renowned castle, bridge and river. The two uniquely charming 19th Century homes have been meticulously restored by an internationally acclaimed interior architect and designer. Perched within easy walking distance of all historical sights, it is a haven for travellers in search of beauty, comfort and peace, without compromising modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heidelberg Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing