We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Nice Hotel”
Review of Heidelberg Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Suites
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location, service, cleanliness and rooms. Located on the river, nice view of the castle across the way. Easy walk to restaurants nearby. Nice breakfast in the morning. Only ding is the parking, not much available in the nearby vicinity, about 25 Euros to park on property. Nice stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhawknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    66
    24
    16
    7
See reviews for
74
224
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, N.H.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Heidelberg Suites is a boutique hotel across the river from the main attractions. It is quite, but an easy 5 min. walk across the old bridge to shops, restaurants and bars. The room was big, modern, clean and comfortable. Service was great.

Room Tip: The castle was well worth visiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony03801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If arriving by car, parking is your first problem as there is very limited parking space off a very busy riverside road, but we were lucky and snapped up a free space as someone left just when we arrived. The reception staff were polished and agreeably upmarket in the style expected at reportedly the best hotel in Heidelberg and we were shown to our suite (it turned out really to be a roomy apartment) in the next door older building. We arrived on a sweltering hot and humid day with temperatures around 30 and were surprised when shown into our room by one of the younger reception staff to feel it if anything warmer than outside. However she fiddled briefly with a mobile air conditioning unit, we were slow to understand the situation (thinking it had just be switched on) and she quickly abandoned us to our fate. When temperatures continued to rise we looked more closely and realized that the AC unit was connected to the outside via an open window, and that the way it had been arranged it forcing hot air into the room alongside the cold air (it later emerged someone had amateurishly put the hose on the wrong way round, but the whole arrangement was stopgap in any case)

The young lady in charge of reception could not have been more pleasant and apologetic when we eventually contacted her and said we had to move to another room. She found us a very nice room on the first floor of the main building overlooking the river which was well air conditioned. It was only later we noticed the very strange bathroom arrangement - this was we understood a junior suite, which made it even more unexpected - with the bedroom and bathroom separated only by a partition open at the top. So no privacy between bathroom and bedroom. We couldn't bear the idea of changing rooms again so did not raise the issue and just enjoyed the coolness.. The hotel was unable to offer us dinner, as their floating dining room was fully booked, but organized a booking for us in the centre of town at a lively if extremely informal restaurant

Breakfast was excellent in a small beautifully appointed dining room, with option to eat outside (in the rather small outside seating space). So a good end to our stay, together with the nice views of the castle and river. Overall we did not think it good value for money and felt disappointed by the experience. Given that Heidelberg frequently has hot and sultry summer weather they should be better equipped in a hotel of this standing to cope, and they should discuss on booking whether clients require a dinner reservation. If you do visit this hotel choose and inspect your room with care. We may just have been unlucky. If you want a quiet roomy apartment the old building next door may be right for you - separate entrance and double keys - but otherwise stick to the main building.

Room Tip: stay in the main building and ask for a room overlooking the river and with view of castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Heidelberg Suites for one night during our 2 day trip through the beautiful Odenwald. The location of the hotel is truly fantastic, opposite to the old town, the castle and next to the river. The hotel and its rooms are beautifully decorated, in an elegant, modern style producing a chic but also cosy atmosphere. Our (spacious) suite was located in the main building, unfortunately not with a view on the river, but looking out on a little patio, very nice as well and absolutely tranquil. We enjoyed our short stay a lot, due to the great setting, but also because of the friendly and authentic staff. One night is definitely too short to enjoy all the amenities of this great place, so we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFHFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for one night in a suite facing the castle! The view was AMAZING. We hardly left the bed. We stayed in mostly and admired the view of the river and the Schloss from our bed. The room was beautiful and the garden at the back was very tranquil. Only points of critique was that the outdoor Jacuzzi was not working also the bathroom light was hanging off the wall slightly and the products are non hypoallergenic .. I developed a small rash from the bathroom products... also at breakfast there was no one there in the beginning to serve us and there are no blackout curtains so bring an eye mask to block out the morning light... overall a great hotel and would for sure recommend a room with river view... I would come again!

Room Tip: A room with a castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in the Heidelberg Suites in July 2013. Approached up the river towards the old town, you pass all the old stately houses and arrive at this gem of a hotel. The Suites are in adjoining buildings very well presented and chic. We had room 3, a suite with a view to die for - the castle straight out of the window! The suites are not huge but very well presented and comfortable. The gardens behind the hotel are also very pretty and quiet. The service was ok, there was no-one available to take our bags to the room and the breakfast service was also lacking although the food itself fine. All in all, although expensive, this hotel is very select and upmarket, a gem in Heidelberg, why stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Facing the river and on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesA045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Heidelberg Suites.
The location ist excellent, just a few steps from the Old Bridge.
The hotel has a beautiful décor. We had a room facing the Old Town and the view was great.
The staff was most friendly and helpful.
We would certainly use this hotel again if in Heidelberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grp403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Suites

Property: Heidelberg Suites
Address: Neuenheimer Landstr. 12, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heidelberg Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heidelberg Suites is your home away from home in the heart of Germanys most romantic town. Located on the banks of the scenic Neckar River adjacent the historical bridge, each suite is blessed with Picture Postcard views of the world renowned castle, bridge and river. The two uniquely charming 19th Century homes have been meticulously restored by an internationally acclaimed interior architect and designer. Perched within easy walking distance of all historical sights, it is a haven for travellers in search of beauty, comfort and peace, without compromising modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Heidelberg Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing