We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reason on its own to visit Heidelberg”
Review of Heidelberg Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Suites
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“A reason on its own to visit Heidelberg”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I like Heidelberg it's very pretty and one of the few towns in Germany spared by the allies but I was quite shocked by how touristy it is. I can understand the reason, picturesque surroundings, old castles by a river but what I liked most was the Heidelberg suites. It is truly stylish with a great location by the river looking over the bridge to the old town. I have read some of the reviews complaining that it is not in the old town and I was so glad that it is not! Staying at the Heidelberg suites is like staying at a friends home except that friend has exquisite taste! The property, the decor the ambience are all faultless. You get minimal service though that was the only problem. The wifi was also not working somehow when I was there but these are minor problems compared to such a great stay. It was short but sweet. The best choice in Heidelberg really.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    67
    24
    16
    7
See reviews for
75
226
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked the Boutique Hotel Heidelberg Suites (its full, somewhat portentous name) on the strength of its tempting online site - and were not deceived... in part.

As other travellers have pointed out, its superb location with a breathtaking view on the picturesque university town of Heidelberg is a true delight, while Heidelberg's charm, just like Venice, cannot be destroyed by the hordes of tourists infesting it. The tastefully decorated buildings - bar a few kitschy slips - and our mall suite were high up in what one can expect in a hotel of this category. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff were up to par. Amenities and toiletries were of the highest possible standard, including a small kitchenette plus complimentary soft drinks and snacks. A small but rather complete fitness room (with again a perfect view) completed the good impression. Complimentary WiFi was perfect. And breakfast was flawless where content, variety, originality and quality is concerned.

However, perfection is not of this world and in the case of the Heidelberg Suites, the imperfections sometimes marred our otherwise agreeable two nights' stay.

First, we have the distinct impression - no, the certitude - that the place, in stark contrast to the apparent luxury, is understaffed. So, on arrival at about 5pm, we were met by just one person who at the same time had to take care of our reception and help us carry our luggage, and introduce us to our room, before driving our car away to the hotel garage some distance away.

The prevalent understaffing had several other consequences. Mostly of an organizational and synchronizing nature. Take for instance this example: the hotel boasts of a cruise dinner on their boat, the Patria, on the River Neckar. Well, there was no such thing available at dinner time on the day we arrived - on Sunday the boat departs at 6pm instead of 8pm. While on Monday, there is no dinner cruise at all. This wouldn't be a problem if such things were known beforehand. However, no trace of schedules can be found anywhere on the hotel's site. Fortunately, there are several very good local restaurants in Heidelberg, so we did not end up famished that evening!
Other example: at the lavish breakfast several items were not replenished in a timely fashion, still due to the scanty personnel (which remained as usual extremely helpful under the circumstances). Moreover, warm drinks are served per cup, which is quite impractical, given the slowness in service, inherent to the lack of personnel (which was aggravated in our case the last morning by one of the staff being sick).
Third example: after the first night of our stay, we left our room at about 11am, expecting to find it done at our return, at about 16pm. Well, at that hour, the room was still not done! Later on neither bed nor room were prepared for the night either.
But the most problematic aspect of the understaffing was that at night, there was no-one staffing the reception, which guests can then access via a code. A most insecure situation if ever there was one. If a guest leaves his/her room key at that reception (where it is kept in a drawer for everyone to see), anyone in possession of said code could get hold of any key - including the car keys one also leaves at reception for the staff person serving as valet to use when needed.
Speaking of which: the parking spaces in front of the buildings are direly insufficient for the amount of guests. And since the car overflow is taken care of by a garage some distance away, recuperating one's car does not happen in a timely fashion, despite forewarnings. And on arriving back late at night, despite due questions of availability, one found the scant parking place fully occupied... on a street were normal parking is as good as impossible.
Further minor irritants:
The abundant and high quality toiletries were not renewed. Air conditioning could be more efficient. Television was too far from the bed. Interior decoration was, as said, quite tasteful; but the decorator had not realised that a huge lamp hanging above the sitting area table was so low that one kept bumping into it. And since we're on the chapter of lighting: as in many hotels, even the most luxurious ones, individual lighting of each bedside proved impossible, despite switches on both sides...

Be all that as it may, these drawbacks should not refrain you from staying at this hotel - hoping that the hotel direction will realise it has to correct several annoying and for such a hotel quite uncharacteristic flaws and details.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building: less danger of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hakutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent five days at this small but friendly property. As many others pointed out, the view from most of the rooms is amazing, as you can enjoy the Neckar river, the old bridge, and the castle in its full beauty. However, you should note that the hotel is not located in the downtown, and it is located next to a relatively busy road. In terms of noise it is not an issue, but this takes away from the experience. The rooms are nice and very comfortable and you have everything that is required for a pleasant stay including fast and free wifi. The breakfast is nice and only high quality food and beverages are offered, and the breakfast room is really amazing, unlike in many bigger hotels. I had some issues with the cleanliness of the hotel, I had the impression that the cleaning staff was not doing its best to make sure that everything is flawless in the room. If you don't like stairs, this may not be your place, since they have some steep stairs but no elevators.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viking005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
212 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent two nights in Room 18 at the Heidelberg Suites boutique hotel. Lovely junior suite, nicely decorated and appointed. Wonderful views across the river to the Castle and Old Town which is a 5 minute stroll. The staff were all friendly and very welcoming. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection. Unfortunately the boat restaurant was not available whilst we were there but it looked great.

Room Tip: Room 18 was perfect for our needs. Only one issue - there is a low hanging lamp shade above the sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here 5 nights (based largely on TripAdvisor reviews) are were very satisfied. The suite was an actual suite, with doors separating the bedroom from a comfortably large living area. The wifi worked consistently. The staff was friendly and very competent. We booked a tour on the hotel golf cart up to the castle and really enjoyed it. The location is great, quiet but close to the old town. The hotel restaurant is worth a mention--a boat in the Neckar river just across the street. Good food, fancy drinks, good-natured pleasant wait-staff, and a view to die for. I'll post some pictures if I can remember how to do it. I really recommend this elegant quiet pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: We had a nice quiet room in the old building toward the back. Some rooms have balconies, that might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betsythedevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice boutique hotel with great views on the old-city of Heidelberg. We stayed here several times, and it always was great. Spacious, very stylish rooms, nice service, very good location. A good base camp to discover Heidelberg.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We very much enjoyed one night at Heidelberg Suites where we occupied a quiet and elegantly furnished junior suite with a lovely view of the old town, 15 minutes foot walk away. The receptionist was friendly and helpful, the breakfast great and with a lot of variety even without many guests. I would nevertheless like to recommend the architect to spend a night at our junior suite as it was nearly impossible to get a look at the mirror in the bathroom, well "hidden" behind the lamps -- a complicated affair ! The adjacent WC had no door which makes a double occupancy of the too small bathroom unpleasant. A suite of such a level also needs two TVs in my view.
Otherwise - enjoy ! We did and so did our dog !

Room Tip: If you choose a costly suite, ask for a big bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigiitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Suites

Property: Heidelberg Suites
Address: Neuenheimer Landstr. 12, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heidelberg Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heidelberg Suites is your home away from home in the heart of Germanys most romantic town. Located on the banks of the scenic Neckar River adjacent the historical bridge, each suite is blessed with Picture Postcard views of the world renowned castle, bridge and river. The two uniquely charming 19th Century homes have been meticulously restored by an internationally acclaimed interior architect and designer. Perched within easy walking distance of all historical sights, it is a haven for travellers in search of beauty, comfort and peace, without compromising modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heidelberg Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing