We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wirtshaus zum Nepomuk

Wirtshaus zum Nepomuk
Ranked #3 of 473 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$54
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In einem Bürgerhaus des frühen 18. Jahrhunderts, dem Blickfang am Platz vor der Alten Brücke in Heidelberg, heißt das Wirtshaus zum Nepomuk seine Gäste mit familiärer Gastlichkeit und gutem Essen willkommen. Auf der Speisekarte des traditionellen Restaurants locken regionale Spezialitäten wie Schwäbischer Zwiebelrostbraten vom argentinischen Rinderrücken mit hausgemachten Spätzle oder Maultaschen mit Füllung vom Schwäbisch HällIschen Landschwein nach Hausfrauenart gebacken mit Ei. Das einladende Ambiente in dem Wirtshaus bietet den idealen Rahmen um gemütlich mit Freunden und Familie zu speisen oder aber auch große Feste abzuhalten.
Lauchringen, Germany
Level Contributor
205 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had dinner at the 'Nepomuk' - and what a pleasant surprise it was! Right in the downtown area, which is full of very 'touristy' places that offer food which is rather on the mediocre side, we had dinner at this delightful place.

The menu is limited, but all the things we had were fresh, tasty and very good. The service was helpful, friendly and knowledgable, something you can't say for many restaurants any more. - Not surprisingly, the place filled up quickly in the evening, so making a reservation might be a good idea.

Next time we come to Heidelberg, we will certainly visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    80
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

A great place to eat high quality German food in Heidelberg. Very reasonably priced, great atmosphere and the best food we had on our trip to Germany.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bambino0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average Overall Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

While visiting Heidelberg, myself and my husband wanted to eat at a traditional German restaurant so picked this one based on the reviews. The service started out good but by the time our entrees were served, it was getting busy and there were too many tables for the number of waitresses. After waiting more than 20min after asking for the bill, we decided to go inside and pay. The patio was very nice and the food was good so no complaints there. It was quite a bit more expensive than similar meals that we had in other German cities (ex. Munich and Rothenburg) but maybe that is because of the location. To give you an idea, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and a beer was 58 EUR.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CANTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nepomuk - krönender Abschluss eines schönen Ausflugs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We visited Heidelberg for one day. After a long sightseeing & shopping day we decided to try this nice place next to the neckar at the bridge. Sitting outside in a nice quiet ambiente. There was a warm welcome and we had a great salat as starter with different kind of salats, herbs and roasted seeds. Delicious! I tried the "SteinpilzRavioli mit Pfifferlingen" together with some Riesling from Forst. (On recommendation of some guys from here - the best wine area of the Pfalz). Unforgettable! Prices were okay, food quality very good. Only the toiletts need a little renovation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moxymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We went looking for this restaurant and it was one of the busiest nights of the summer being the night the fireworks were let off from the Old Bridge, so were not surprised to see "Reserved" signs on all of the outside tables. However, we asked the waitress and she said there was one table left in the courtyard so sat in there. So glad we did, it was the best meal we had in Germany and lovely dessert too. Located right at the Old Bridge in the old district. So we were just lucky to get a table - you really need to book in advance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWellington2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wirtshaus zum Nepomuk also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Wirtshaus zum Nepomuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing