We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, authentic local workers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Toscana

Trattoria Toscana
Ranked #120 of 480 Restaurants in Heidelberg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, authentic local workers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I ate here twice during my visit in Heidelberg and would go back. The 1st time was during lunch on a weekday during a slow time, we had 2 five year olds (who are well-mannered) with us, we ordered pizzas and the waiter was patient with us. The food is delicious!!!! So, I went back a 2nd time with my husband for dinner on a Saturday night. Again the food was delicious! The waiter was good, he came back to check on us a few times with is rare in Germany. I did notice that on a Saturday night when the restaurant is busy the employees will do what they need to do, for example we saw them kick-out a young bachelorette party that seemed drunk. I think this is why some other reviewers didn't five this place 5 stars, because the waiters aren't afraid to do something if it keeps all the other patrons happy. So, go here knowing that you or your children will need to be on their best behavior. Overall, I recommend this place and would go back because the food is awesome! Staff is ok. You can sit outside or inside and will have views of the Holy Ghost church. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    12
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lewis, Washington
Level Contributor
264 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy in the middle of Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Spaghetti Sinatra. That should be enough for you to try this dish. My work had me at Heidelberg and I ventured into this place longing for some pasta. I was delighted by the wonderful taste of Spaghetti Sinatra. I had returned to this delicious destination 3 nights in a row. I must admit I liked so much I had it twice. The other plate of Linguine al pesto was also very good. My wife liked the Mussels and spaghetti one night. She raved about the Artichoke starter also. Salute!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clausrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Major dissapointmet!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had felt in love with the food and staff. But as we continued to visit more often the same nice super friendly waitress that always took care of us began to get from loving us began to get rude, extremely slow and nastier. Until we decided we will not set foot again. Also the food portion kept reducing by the continued visits. Yup, dissapointed. Great cappuccino, but nasty sweet tiramisú!

Will not go again, and do not recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaBva27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This restaurant was recommended at our hotel and they could not have given us a better option! Suggestions and meal were great. Staff is children friendly.
Would come again!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maren_Rodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For Italian in Heidelberg, this is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

This is an authentic Italian restaurant, from food to service. Be aware that this means that nobody is in a hurry, and if (inevitable) mistakes are made, they're not considered a crisis. Last time we were there, the waitress accidentally brought me a pizza instead of the pasta I'd ordered. She apologized, then fairly well demanded that I eat the pizza while my pasta was being prepared. When she came back in a few minutes and nobody had touched the pizza, she was horrified that it might go to waste..."You eat the pizza! You no pay for pizza!" Hilarious and charming, if you have the right attitude. The pizza was, as everything we've ever eaten here, fabulous. The pastas are to die for and they serve the best tiramisu we've ever had, anywhere, including Italy. Go in with an understanding of and appreciation for cultural differences in service, and you will have a fantastic meal and enjoyable dining experience. Buon appetito!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somesie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Toscana also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Trattoria Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing