We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent location, hotel tired, needs a refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This hotel is located right in the centre along the river Neckar. Location-wise you cannot get any better. All the shops, bars and restaurants are right next door.

The hotel is run by very friendly people but is in desperate need of a complete refurbishment. The rooms are tired, tiles cracked in the bathroom. Carpets worn and need painting.

The breakfast is very basic. No hot food on offer just rolls and cereals.
The advertised parking is about half a mile away and is in a public car park which is easily accessible by everyone. So not very secure.
All in all a bit too much for what you get but will do as an one nighter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed 4 nights. The room was spacious and quiet, but on the 3rd floor with no elevator, a problem if you have luggage or are tired from walking around. The view of the river was beautiful and the breakfast was fine. The best point of the hotel is Mr. Thomas at the reception, always helpful, kind and smiling. His replacement for the evenings was his opposite, dour and grouchy. Strangely, there was no hair dryer in the bathroom, something I had not seen in years.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

When we tried to book this hotel we were told it was fully booked but we were offered rooms in their lodge which was just a few doors away. A map was provided and it was only a short stroll. This did not show that the actual rooms are located over the street corner at the top of a steep staircase. We arrived at about 9pm after a 12 hour delayed trip by train to be given a lecture on tourism facilities in the town by a person who had his lecture to deliver and was going to give us this whether we wanted it or not. We were then shown to our room. It was up a very step flight of stairs.It is on the noisiest corner in the university town of Heidelberg. Sleep was impossible on any of the 3 nights
No breakfast facilities were available and there were no tea or coffee making facities. After a sleepless night we walked the streets looking to find some place for breakfast. We were charged the same rate as quoted for the main hotel which faces the river and I would imagine would be quiet...... breakfast may have been available in the main hotel but the staff did not inform us of this ....not a pleasing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chookPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

What a great find...right near the Alte Brucke, comfortable beds, quiet despite being close to bars/restaurants.

Breakfast is included, although for Americans it's not quite what we're accustomed to, but still gets something in your stomach.

We were there during the lighting of the castle, which was followed by fireworks off the Alte Brucke, and both were spectacular to see.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadeofGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

This hotel was in a wonderful location. Our room overlooked the River Neckar (with some trees in the way but that was ok). It was a short, easy walk to the town square and just another short walk to the tram up to Heidelberg Castle (we had our 7 and 9 year old with us and they walked without a complaint). We were a family of 5 in one room but what we lacked in room (it was ok though and they gave us an extra bed) the staff made up for in hospitality. We came down for breakfast and they said oh you are our family of 5, here is your table. The next morning he remembered our drink order – very impressive. Breakfast was plentiful with bread, cheese, meats and cereal. Parking was just a short walk away but a car isn’t necessary – everything was accessible by walking. They spoke excellent English and were a joy to chat with. It’s family owned so we met some of his children too. Will definitely stay there again if given the opportunity.
Some of the down sides - not really an issue for us but could be for some
no shower curtain - we had to learn to shower without one
no elevator
noisy - I found it part of the charm and my kids slept through it so that was fine
if you needed internet it was very expensive - go to Starbucks a few blocks away and you can use it for 2 hours for free - also a few internet cafe's close by

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermaineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Thomas, the hotel manager, was incredible. His attitude and recommendations were superb. The location of the hotel, right on the Neckar and only a couple of minutes walk to anywhere in Heidelberg, was a definite plus. The breakfast was basic, but very well presneted. I would give this a 4 star rating, compared to any other places we have stayed in Europe, except for the afternoon staff. On our arrrival, we were greeeted with only, "Americans", and the keys thrown on the desk. No welcome or where our rooms were or anything else. One evening we found no hot water, which we are fine with and completely understand, but when one of our party advised this same staff member of the problem she was verbally accosted. This staff member was present nearly everyday and always seemed to have a bad attitude. Again, I want to give a higher rating, but this individual keeps me from doing that.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vol27970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

this hotel need a big make over and the breakfast served was the poorest I have ever had in Germany
Fantastic view over the river Neckar and the old bridge
At the edge on the old town.
Hotel staff is very friendly

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#13 of 75 in Heidelberg
229 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hecht
Hotel Goldener Hecht
#35 of 75 in Heidelberg
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkhotel Atlantic
Parkhotel Atlantic
#44 of 75 in Heidelberg
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#26 of 75 in Heidelberg
212 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#57 of 75 in Heidelberg
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#29 of 75 in Heidelberg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Haspelgasse 2, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: £67 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing