We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay in this hotel in July 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is an excellent hotel serving excellent food with tremendous staff. My room was small and I was slightly disappointed not to have a bath but the room was well appointed with an excellent comfortable bed. The choice of entertainment on the television was excellent as well. At lunch I ate in the beautiful outside restaurant and had the turbot which was well cooked served with a delicious red wine. Breakfast is superb with a wide variety of fruit, cheese and eggs cooked to order. I had poached eggs on toast which arrived on a hot plate beautifully presented.
The staff in this hotel are excellent. After I commented on whether the soft toys in the forea were for sale I was offered a complimentary one which was placed in my room. A beautiful touch.The spa was also excellent offering a roof terrace.
Room service was also great. Service was quick, sufficient and polite, The staff make you feel most welcome and the whole experience was excellent. I highly recommend travelers to stay in this hotel. The staff make you feel like royalty. A totally exceptional experience. I will remember it for a long time to come.

Room Tip: Pick this hotel in Heidelberg. You will not be disappointed. I can assure you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaz186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

After more then 6 hours in a queue on the autobahn due to a lorry with potatoes turned over we arrived by the hotel at 10 pm, which we informed by phone about our late arrival. As we could not enter the courtyard to the entrance we parked the car next to the entrance and walked to the reception. There was no doorman to take care of the luggage and together with a lady from the reception we caried the luggage inside. The lady urged us to park the car in the public garage next to the hotel as is was not allowed top leave our car on its spot for the next 15 minutes. When we returned to the reception, a little tiried and thirsty the lady asked us when we would use the diner from the arrangement we had booked and when we would have the bottle of champagne. Our mindset was not really focused on that and would have been pleased when she had offered a drink. We said to reserve the dinner for 8 pm the next day and serve the champagne on 7pm in our room.
We then went to the bar to have a drink and something to eat. It took a while to get the waiter to our table as he was in a long conversation with a lady in the bar.
Aftyerwards we went to our room and switch on the tv for the news. However the tv was not acting. We called the concierge who came up and tried to get the tv to act. Without result and he told us that there were many problems with the it. Then someone from the reception came up and tried the same without result and suggested to change the room. We said that we were not really in for this after our long delay on the autobahn. Then he came with a new(verry old) tv to replace the broken one. This old fashionned tv was working. However is was impossible to see what canals were available and switching to another canal took 10 seconds.
The next day after visiting the city we returned to the hotel and tried to get something from the minibar.However that was locked and they had not given us a key for it.
At 7 pm we were waiting for our champagne. Nothing happened. At 7.30pm we were over and done with the lack of service and went to the reception and told them our complains and that we would not make use of the arrangement and only were willing to pay for our 2 nights stay and went for a nice dinner in the city.
When we returned and asked for our key the lady from the reception told us that we had to speak to the manager with regard to cancelling the arrangement. However there was no manager in the house untill the next day. We refused to wait for him as we were leaving early in the morning and insisted to pay the bill right now. After some discussion they made up the bill and charged us Eur 508 for the 2 nights in the room and Eur44 for oneday breakfast for two.
To call themselves a 5 star hotel is out of belief. The level of service is poor, the windows are up for fresh painting for years, all the doors make noise, no change of towels in the evening, no valet parking and above all no word of sorry for all the mistakes they made. Many 3 star hotels would be ashamed with this kind of service. Be wise and stay away from this overrated hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a large 5-star hotel in operation by the same family since 1865. The public spaces are grand. The breakfast room is lovely. Our room featured a deep tub, double sinks, cozy chairs, internet access, plenty of cabinetry for storage, a flat screen TV with dozens of international TV channels and radio, plus a large safe. The wifi was functional. The location is excellent, just steps to many restaurants.

Of course, one expects these features in a fine hotel. One other important feature: the service is impeccable. At every turn, the staff was more than helpful. One evening, an elderly woman took ill in the restaurant. Emergency vehicles responded. From the outdoor café, I could see staff scrambling, moving cars and waving in the ambulances from the street. Great intensity. All ended well.

We were surprised by shortcomings in our room, however. The wheezing hair dryer was nonfunctional and needed to be replaced. The shower was awkward for both of us. The showerhead was placed oddly low on the wall, which made it hard to wash one’s hair or rinse off. The short sheet of glass at the front of the tub provided inadequate protection against the shower spray going beyond the tub. In addition, I was surprised to find the bedspread and carpeting stained.

Room Tip: Wherever we stay, we ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

the service was excellent and the quality of the rooms..beautiful and clean. You can tell that this family takes pride in its ownership. Also, the Manager was so kind and helpful along with staff. Just loved it and you MUST check out there pool..OMG..it is gorgeous and so so so clean. I have nothing but praise for this hotel and will come back next time in Germany. The Restaurant setup ..GORGEOUS!!!!

Room Tip: check out the restaurant along with the bar area AND OF COURSE, the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrav1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a typical German 5-star family run hotel with fitness center (up to date equipment), pool and spa. Very helpful staff. The only "minus" is somewhat slow internet connection - and suboptimal working conditions in the room (much too low chair; very little table space). However, it can be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrik Frederik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I am a frequent visitor of Heidelberg and I have my favorite hotels in the city. This time round I was attending an organized event and the Europäische Hof was booked for us.
There is nothing wrong with the hotel, the only thing I really do not like is the atmosphere... It simply does not feel like being at home... As a very frequent traveller, I want to feel at home in a hotel. Not like I am sleeping in a museum. Again personal opinion...
Our rooms were booked at €159 per night... Which for hotels in Heidelberg is expensive. But the expectations were high because of the steep price. After checking in, the receptionist brought me to my room and we had a friendly chat about my frequent visits to Heidelberg and which hotels I typically stayed in... He assured me that the Europäische Hof was THE best hotel in Heidelberg. When the friendly gentleman opened the door of my room for me I was shocked... It was a room with a very narrow, small single bed... And everything was mint green/ sea blue... Horrible.. (According to my taste). I looked at the gentleman that guided me to my room and asked if he was serious... He told me that I was booked in a single room... That on itself would not have been a problem, but I saw the pictures of my colleagues that just checking in on Facebook and their rooms were bigger than mine... Their bed actually would fit me... Being a tall person I have a preference for a slightly larger bed, so I friendly asked if they had a bigger room.
We walked back to reception and I was asked to take a seat (a cup of coffee while waiting would have been appreciated - that is what you would expect at the "best hotel in Town"...) After 15 minutes I was provided with a room key and the comment if it was OK that the room would cost now 181 euro instead of the agreed €159. I was a bit surprised, but at that point in time I already knew that this was a once, but never again... I agreed to the price increase and was already looking forward to writing this review.
There was nothing wrong with the room, in fact it was comfortable, nice bed, good shower, bathtub with jets, but the fact that all the buying signals were ignored... And I was charged extra for the same room my colleagues were in... I was convinced not to come again.
Besides that my favorite hotel in Heidelberg (Art Hotel) is cheaper, as convenient as the Hof and makes me feel at home...
After all, that is what you need after a hard day of work.
Also the group' "business breakfast" was bad... Not much choice, in fact if you do not like cereal or fresh fruit for breakfast you are in the wrong place...

Room Tip: Make sure you do not end up in a single room with a single bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ireneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

It is such a pleasure to go to an establishment where you are acknowledged and greeted in a friendly manner by all the staff, irrespective whether they are the manager, frontline office, housekeeping or maintenance. The accommodation was very comfortable and considering how long the hotel has been in existence as a hotel the mixture of modern updates with the historical building led to the ambience.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Heidelberg Suites Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
892 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
1,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg

Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: £208 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests quite simply expect more from an owner-managed hotel. More individuality. More heart. More personality. As one of few privately run 5 stars superior hotels, The Europäischer Hof frequently goes one better. Since 1865, guests from all over the world have enjoyed the unique flair of this hotel, which is located close to Frankfurt and Stuttgart. The name of our establishment stands for all that is best in European hotel culture and for exceptional standards of service. Official listings have rated the Europäischer Hof Heidelberg as the finest hotel in Heidelberg and in the Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region. The hotel is a Certified Business Hotel, Certified Conference Hotel, and certified as conforming to the pharma code. Accordingly, offers everything you expect of a professional business hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing