We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bayrischer Hof(Heidelberg)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Heidelberg(Heidelberg)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Heidelberg(Heidelberg)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
308
100
33
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
100
33
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun terraceclassic luxuryold world charmmoment you arrivepublic spaces arerubber duckfamily owned hotelboth morningsindividual roomsclass hoteltraditional hotelold townevery requestold styleturn down servicesleep qualitythe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is an excellent hotel serving excellent food with tremendous staff. My room was small and I was slightly disappointed not to have a bath but the room was well appointed with an excellent comfortable bed. The choice of entertainment on the television was excellent as well. At lunch I ate in the beautiful outside restaurant and had the turbot which was well cooked served with a delicious red wine. Breakfast is superb with a wide variety of fruit, cheese and eggs cooked to order. I had poached eggs on toast which arrived on a hot plate beautifully presented.
The staff in this hotel are excellent. After I commented on whether the soft toys in the forea were for sale I was offered a complimentary one which was placed in my room. A beautiful touch.The spa was also excellent offering a roof terrace.
Room service was also great. Service was quick, sufficient and polite, The staff make you feel most welcome and the whole experience was excellent. I highly recommend travelers to stay in this hotel. The staff make you feel like royalty. A totally exceptional experience. I will remember it for a long time to come.

Room Tip: Pick this hotel in Heidelberg. You will not be disappointed. I can assure you.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaz186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After more then 6 hours in a queue on the autobahn due to a lorry with potatoes turned over we arrived by the hotel at 10 pm, which we informed by phone about our late arrival. As we could not enter the courtyard to the entrance we parked the car next to the entrance and walked to the reception. There was no doorman to take care of the luggage and together with a lady from the reception we caried the luggage inside. The lady urged us to park the car in the public garage next to the hotel as is was not allowed top leave our car on its spot for the next 15 minutes. When we returned to the reception, a little tiried and thirsty the lady asked us when we would use the diner from the arrangement we had booked and when we would have the bottle of champagne. Our mindset was not really focused on that and would have been pleased when she had offered a drink. We said to reserve the dinner for 8 pm the next day and serve the champagne on 7pm in our room.
We then went to the bar to have a drink and something to eat. It took a while to get the waiter to our table as he was in a long conversation with a lady in the bar.
Aftyerwards we went to our room and switch on the tv for the news. However the tv was not acting. We called the concierge who came up and tried to get the tv to act. Without result and he told us that there were many problems with the it. Then someone from the reception came up and tried the same without result and suggested to change the room. We said that we were not really in for this after our long delay on the autobahn. Then he came with a new(verry old) tv to replace the broken one. This old fashionned tv was working. However is was impossible to see what canals were available and switching to another canal took 10 seconds.
The next day after visiting the city we returned to the hotel and tried to get something from the minibar.However that was locked and they had not given us a key for it.
At 7 pm we were waiting for our champagne. Nothing happened. At 7.30pm we were over and done with the lack of service and went to the reception and told them our complains and that we would not make use of the arrangement and only were willing to pay for our 2 nights stay and went for a nice dinner in the city.
When we returned and asked for our key the lady from the reception told us that we had to speak to the manager with regard to cancelling the arrangement. However there was no manager in the house untill the next day. We refused to wait for him as we were leaving early in the morning and insisted to pay the bill right now. After some discussion they made up the bill and charged us Eur 508 for the 2 nights in the room and Eur44 for oneday breakfast for two.
To call themselves a 5 star hotel is out of belief. The level of service is poor, the windows are up for fresh painting for years, all the doors make noise, no change of towels in the evening, no valet parking and above all no word of sorry for all the mistakes they made. Many 3 star hotels would be ashamed with this kind of service. Be wise and stay away from this overrated hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a large 5-star hotel in operation by the same family since 1865. The public spaces are grand. The breakfast room is lovely. Our room featured a deep tub, double sinks, cozy chairs, internet access, plenty of cabinetry for storage, a flat screen TV with dozens of international TV channels and radio, plus a large safe. The wifi was functional. The location is excellent, just steps to many restaurants.

Of course, one expects these features in a fine hotel. One other important feature: the service is impeccable. At every turn, the staff was more than helpful. One evening, an elderly woman took ill in the restaurant. Emergency vehicles responded. From the outdoor café, I could see staff scrambling, moving cars and waving in the ambulances from the street. Great intensity. All ended well.

We were surprised by shortcomings in our room, however. The wheezing hair dryer was nonfunctional and needed to be replaced. The shower was awkward for both of us. The showerhead was placed oddly low on the wall, which made it hard to wash one’s hair or rinse off. The short sheet of glass at the front of the tub provided inadequate protection against the shower spray going beyond the tub. In addition, I was surprised to find the bedspread and carpeting stained.

Room Tip: Wherever we stay, we ask for a room away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

the service was excellent and the quality of the rooms..beautiful and clean. You can tell that this family takes pride in its ownership. Also, the Manager was so kind and helpful along with staff. Just loved it and you MUST check out there pool..OMG..it is gorgeous and so so so clean. I have nothing but praise for this hotel and will come back next time in Germany. The Restaurant setup ..GORGEOUS!!!!

Room Tip: check out the restaurant along with the bar area AND OF COURSE, the Pool
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtrav1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a typical German 5-star family run hotel with fitness center (up to date equipment), pool and spa. Very helpful staff. The only "minus" is somewhat slow internet connection - and suboptimal working conditions in the room (much too low chair; very little table space). However, it can be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrik Frederik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews