We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of September on a business trip. From the moment you arrive outside the hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful, answering routine questions they must get hundreds of times from idiots like me, with the utmost courtesy and patience. I did not eat at the hotel due to meetings, but the rooms are clean and comfortable and i could even open the window fully to let in some air, which is unusual in most of the hotels I stay. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    81
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
64
127
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in Europe but this one is a stand out. This is not because I booked a standard room and ended up in a 2 room apartment. All the guests I spoke to in the hotel thought this hotel was tops. The staff were absolutely fantastic from the front desk to the dining room. I only used the dining room for breakfast and the service was outstanding .Although I only spoke English I felt part of a German family. I am hoping I will be able to return. It was a real home from home with a capital L for luxury.

Room Tip: Whatever room you get it will be quiet and you will enjoy the peaceful and calm atmosphere of this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeneneThurecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Arriving with roof box caused no problems, doorman parked the car separately and returned it. A really elegant hotel. Fabulous luxury next to the old town. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even the tea was excellent.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mjc992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff and service was excellent, Dr. Caroline von Kretschmann certainly demonstrated what a 5 star hotel is all about. Her guest approach is most welcoming, she took the time to speak with us, very easy person to communicate with, my husband Dr. Kircher & I were very impressed and that is demonstrated throughout the hotel and its staff. Being in the service industry myself I fully understand the attention to details. We had been on a business trip in Portugal and made a stopover in Heidelberg to visit family. Over the years this is about our 7th or 8th stay, and the quality of the hotel from staff, food, accommodations truly 5 star. We occupied your rooms 330/331 a lovely apartment. Side note Best Breakfast in Germany.
Mrs. Helen & Dr. Perer Kircher

Room Tip: Choose one of the apartments, wow, spacious and most comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

great location right in old town. I got upgraded to a huge suite that had a sitting room and a bedroom and large bath. the bath was upgraded and great, but the room, though very large, had dated upholstery and felt like something that was left behind from the 60s. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable and I didnt really sleep much at all. The breakfast was superb and so was the service.
(Paid) Parking is right next to the hotel, so wasnt a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is an excellent hotel serving excellent food with tremendous staff. My room was small and I was slightly disappointed not to have a bath but the room was well appointed with an excellent comfortable bed. The choice of entertainment on the television was excellent as well. At lunch I ate in the beautiful outside restaurant and had the turbot which was well cooked served with a delicious red wine. Breakfast is superb with a wide variety of fruit, cheese and eggs cooked to order. I had poached eggs on toast which arrived on a hot plate beautifully presented.
The staff in this hotel are excellent. After I commented on whether the soft toys in the forea were for sale I was offered a complimentary one which was placed in my room. A beautiful touch.The spa was also excellent offering a roof terrace.
Room service was also great. Service was quick, sufficient and polite, The staff make you feel most welcome and the whole experience was excellent. I highly recommend travelers to stay in this hotel. The staff make you feel like royalty. A totally exceptional experience. I will remember it for a long time to come.

Room Tip: Pick this hotel in Heidelberg. You will not be disappointed. I can assure you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaz186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After more then 6 hours in a queue on the autobahn due to a lorry with potatoes turned over we arrived by the hotel at 10 pm, which we informed by phone about our late arrival. As we could not enter the courtyard to the entrance we parked the car next to the entrance and walked to the reception. There was no doorman to take care of the luggage and together with a lady from the reception we caried the luggage inside. The lady urged us to park the car in the public garage next to the hotel as is was not allowed top leave our car on its spot for the next 15 minutes. When we returned to the reception, a little tiried and thirsty the lady asked us when we would use the diner from the arrangement we had booked and when we would have the bottle of champagne. Our mindset was not really focused on that and would have been pleased when she had offered a drink. We said to reserve the dinner for 8 pm the next day and serve the champagne on 7pm in our room.
We then went to the bar to have a drink and something to eat. It took a while to get the waiter to our table as he was in a long conversation with a lady in the bar.
Aftyerwards we went to our room and switch on the tv for the news. However the tv was not acting. We called the concierge who came up and tried to get the tv to act. Without result and he told us that there were many problems with the it. Then someone from the reception came up and tried the same without result and suggested to change the room. We said that we were not really in for this after our long delay on the autobahn. Then he came with a new(verry old) tv to replace the broken one. This old fashionned tv was working. However is was impossible to see what canals were available and switching to another canal took 10 seconds.
The next day after visiting the city we returned to the hotel and tried to get something from the minibar.However that was locked and they had not given us a key for it.
At 7 pm we were waiting for our champagne. Nothing happened. At 7.30pm we were over and done with the lack of service and went to the reception and told them our complains and that we would not make use of the arrangement and only were willing to pay for our 2 nights stay and went for a nice dinner in the city.
When we returned and asked for our key the lady from the reception told us that we had to speak to the manager with regard to cancelling the arrangement. However there was no manager in the house untill the next day. We refused to wait for him as we were leaving early in the morning and insisted to pay the bill right now. After some discussion they made up the bill and charged us Eur 508 for the 2 nights in the room and Eur44 for oneday breakfast for two.
To call themselves a 5 star hotel is out of belief. The level of service is poor, the windows are up for fresh painting for years, all the doors make noise, no change of towels in the evening, no valet parking and above all no word of sorry for all the mistakes they made. Many 3 star hotels would be ashamed with this kind of service. Be wise and stay away from this overrated hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.7 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
482 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg

Property: Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests quite simply expect more from an owner-managed hotel. More individuality. More heart. More personality. As one of few privately run 5 stars superior hotels, The Europäischer Hof frequently goes one better. Since 1865, guests from all over the world have enjoyed the unique flair of this hotel, which is located close to Frankfurt and Stuttgart. The name of our establishment stands for all that is best in European hotel culture and for exceptional standards of service. Official listings have rated the Europäischer Hof Heidelberg as the finest hotel in Heidelberg and in the Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region. The hotel is a Certified Business Hotel, Certified Conference Hotel, and certified as conforming to the pharma code. Accordingly, offers everything you expect of a professional business hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing