We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location and lovley staf ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
الكويت
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice location and lovley staf ”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

nice location - five min to old town ... and they have number one staf i saw ever ... they is very lovley reseption and concirch ... but the room is classic they have alot of difrent room same size - the hotel is very very old next year it well be 150 years ... last .. this hotel is classic .. i hope to come again to this country .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yousuf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    81
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
67
135
16
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great classic hotel, but you can get unlucky. I got a very tiny room. Felt like Harry Potter being put in a closet. Must have been smallest room I ever had in a hotel. No clue why this would be a five star hotel. Sure nice outside but the rest is surely not up to current standard. This includes unfriendly staff when one sits in an area, where apparently one isn't supposed to sit at that particular time...really?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline v, Geschäftsführer at Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sjier, first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really regret that we did not meet your expectations in all respects. Normally the size of our rooms and the sincere friendliness of our staff are well received and appreciated by our guests. As your stay was approximately one year ago (the review says September 2013) we unfortunately can not retrace in witch room you stayed. We always use reviews the feedback from our guests to improve our service and product. It would therefor be great if you could send us a small e-mail in which room you stayed to cvk@europaeischerhof.com. Thank you very much for your help.
Best regards, Caroline von Kretschmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel has an elegant look and feel, with outstanding service. It was luxurious in all aspects of my stay. Elegance and the ambience of the hotel , cleanliness, your comfort, and quality of room was excellent.
The staff and ownership was there to ensure that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The location allowed you to walk easily to the old town/castle area, as well as shopping district to experience the value of Heidelberg. What a fantastic hotel, and town

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloughmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline v, Inhaber at Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for the very positive review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you have really enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliment concerning our staff and the look and feel of the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, family von Kretschmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I cannot agree with the reviews that complain about the decor, look and feel of the hotel. I have fallen in love and will now use the place as my go-to place when in Heidelberg.
The staff is sensationally friendly, helpful and just really goes out of their way to make the guest feel special. My junior suite was large, beautifully done with a view across the couryard and a small balcony (for those of you who still crave a smoke, that's a plus). The only, really minor thing I found, was that the bathroom is done in small tiles, and the inbetween spaces could have been cleaner... Other than that. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Second floor suite overlooking the courtyard with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indichur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline v, Geschäftsführer at Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Indichur, thank you for your positive review of the Europäischer Hof Heidelbergl!. We are very pleased to read that you had really enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your junior suite with the view across the couryard and the balcony. Thank you very much for your compliment concerning our staff. We are very proud of them, because the really want to make the guests happy. And we really appreciate your feedback concerning the look and feel of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Caroline von Kretschmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed in the hotel during the easter week end; in today's world is difficult to find a hotel like this that combines elegance, comfort , location and extraordinary service; there was a small problem with the shower in my room and immediately they offer me a new upgraded room!!
a definitive must if you stay in heidelberg

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 48adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My mother and I had the distinct pleasure to end our European vacation at the
Der Europaeischer Hof Heidelberg. We are in love. The hotel was the epitome of understated elegance. The property is lovely. The furnishings in the common areas, both inside and out, are
inviting and comfortable. All of the staff members were sincerely kind, helpful and had a beautiful command of the English language. The breakfast buffet set a new bar for me (fresh squeezed lemon juice for our tea- Hooray!). It is also excellently located for strolls through the charming old town. However, none of this compares with the perfection of the room. If I could have stolen that entire room, including the soap, and brought it home with me then I would have. It was bliss.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline v, Geschäftsführer at Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Renee M., thank you for the great review of the Europäischer Hof Heidelbergl!. We are very pleased to read that you and your mother have really enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your compliment concerning our staff. We are very proud of them, because the really want to make the guests happy. And we really appreciate your feedback of the furnishings in the common areas. I will forward this compliment to my mother who designs everything with love and attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Caroline von Kretschmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is an old hotel, with an old-world charm. If you have the budget, like being in the centre of town amidst the bustle of this student friendly city, then this hotel is great.

The only drawback with the hotel were the boiling hot rooms. When we asked the concierge to fix this they said that until the end of April the central air conditioning blows only hot air and then May to September is cool air. April in Germany is far from very cold, so blowing hot air into the room was absolute hell. Once we knew this, we turned the air con off, opened out the windows and just enjoyed the naturally fresh cool spring air. It was noisy, since the hotel is downtown, so beware this drawback if you like your windows open when you sleep.

The breakfast is plentiful, delicious and the staff is very warm and helpful.

Room Tip: All twin rooms are standard - they don't do any luxury twin rooms. A bit of a cop out if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonnybom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.7 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#7 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg

Property: Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests quite simply expect more from an owner-managed hotel. More individuality. More heart. More personality. As one of few privately run 5 stars superior hotels, The Europäischer Hof frequently goes one better. Since 1865, guests from all over the world have enjoyed the unique flair of this hotel, which is located close to Frankfurt and Stuttgart. The name of our establishment stands for all that is best in European hotel culture and for exceptional standards of service. Official listings have rated the Europäischer Hof Heidelberg as the finest hotel in Heidelberg and in the Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region. The hotel is a Certified Business Hotel, Certified Conference Hotel, and certified as conforming to the pharma code. Accordingly, offers everything you expect of a professional business hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing