We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very nice hotel close to city centre. Very modern facilities and very friendly staff. Food was ok although didn't eat in main restaurant. We had 1 meal in the hotel bar which was good. As with all chain hotels the prices were a little high and charged £15 per day for the garage which doesn't help when deciding on any future bookings.

Room Tip: Free wifi only if you are a member which is also free so worth joining if only for the free wifi as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    456
    141
    21
    17
See reviews for
222
306
46
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was very clean, was in a great location to the old town. We had wonderful service at the hotel and the breakfast was wonderful. the only negative is that Wifi will cost you unless you are a Crown Plaza member.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We booked two standard rooms here. 5 days before our stay we had an email from booking dot com to say the hotel could not process the credit card. I called the hotel directly, was told that one of the rooms had been cancelled but the other was fine. I asked them to rebook and they confirmed they had a valid card to pre authorise. 2 days later, another email- both the rooms had been cancelled. By this time we were driving through France and had to take time out of our holiday to sort it out. They were unable to rebook without charging us 78 euros more! by this point we had no option to search elsewhere, were travelling with elderly parents and would be arriving late in the day so needed somewhere confirmed. When we arrived we were told 3 rooms were booked. We were upgraded to a club room but honestly who needs a 2.4 metre wide bed? I'd rather have had 78 euros to spend. The location is not ideal as it was a long way to walk back with the folks and a bit of a dive late at night. It's in the modern shopping district not the old town.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trave11er101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdy907, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Mr. Trave11er,
thank you very much for taking time to write a review for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg. I am very sorry for the fact that your reservation was cancelled due to incorrect credit card information. Our reservation system doesn't accept reservations with wrong credit card number. I can understand your frustration. The correct way to handle this problem should be adjusting your rate at check in instead offering you a higher room category for which we charge 80 € for one night. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration. I am sure handling such a problem in the future will be taken care differently. Kind Regards, Koren Yueksel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed one night in Heidelberg in July - normally go for smaller, private hotels, but this was well priced and centrally located, so booked on line. Good location for the old town, although Heidelberg was a bit bigger than expected, so we walked a lot!
The reception staff were extremely helpful - and probably the reason I give this review 4 stars, otherwise hotel was certainly up to standard and did not disappoint. Car park a bit expensive, but we arrived early and left late the next day and still only got charged for 24 hours - so again no complaint!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wemwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel for the Formula 1 race. It was very comfortable and well appointed. The front desk staff was helpful with local activities and reservations. The indoor pool is a nice touch. The only negative was the Internet . You have to pay where a lot of hotels are free. It's a nice location close to restaurants and shops

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield England
Level Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Easy walking distance of all the sites, shops and restuarants. Sat nav took us directly to the secure underground car park.
Rooms were large enough clean with free wifi if you have IHG membership.
Bathroom was OK but in need of a refurb. The whole hotel is in need of a update soon.
Breakfast was average.
Staff were very nice and attentive.
Bar had no unique selling points.

Room Tip: Do not stay by the service elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdy907, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Richard,
first of all thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center. We are very pleased to hear that you were staisfied with the services, location and rooms. I regret to hear that you found breakfast avarage but the staff nice and attentive. Thank you also for your kind hints with regard to breakfast and hotel product,
We look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg soon again.
Kind Regards, Koren Yueksel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was located in a great location if you want to walk around central Heidelberg. The staff was lovely and very helpful. These are the positives. The breakfast buffet was quite nice too. There were a few negatives.

Rooms: The rooms are on the small size. They could use some updating as could the hallways. The bathroom was roomy enough but also could use some updating. There was not a complementary bottle of cream rinse in the bathroom.

Internet: we were extremely disappointed that in this day and age, there was a hefty charge for wifi-€13,50 per day! We were told that we could use the computers in their "BusinessCenter" to access the internet but the keyboards were in German and the characters did not match the English keyboards very well. If wifi is complementary at Starbucks, it should be complementary at the Crowne Plaza!

Our stay in Heidelberg was quite nice but the hotel was a just ordinary.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdy907, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Carol B, thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center. I regret to read that you have found your room small. Our standard rooms have 22 sqm which is over standard in hotel business. We also offer Club Rooms, they have 28 sqm. You can book this category for a an extra charge.
Indeed we charge for internet. Our internet services are secure and in this regard not comparable with others in public Cafes or Pubs. We are also investing year on year for speed and security. Please bear in mind if you use IHG hotels for the future you can become a member of worlds largest loyalty program called IHG Reards Club. Members of IHG Reward Clubs get WLAN services free of charge up to 3 devices during their entire stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Heidelberg again.
Kind Regards, Koren Yueksel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Address: Kurfuersten-Anlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant West coast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conveniently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Starting from 22nd May 2017 construction works will take place from Monday to Friday between 8 am and 8 pm. Occasionally noises could occur. We appreciate your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing