We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel right in the (shopping) heart of Heidelberg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel right in the (shopping) heart of Heidelberg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for 3 nights in November. The location is excellent, being literally a 5min walk to the main shopping areas/restaurants/pubs. The hotel itself is excellent. The rooms are of a good size and the room facilities are very good (a few more English speaking TV stations would be good!) and what you would expect. The breakfast is excellent. They describe it as an American style buffet. It is self service and the food is of great quality.
The hotel also has a pool and spa. These are great facilities and an added bonus is the bar located beside the pool selling drinks and snacks...so you can relax with a drink after your swim, jacuzzi, sauna. The hotel also has a business centre which is free to guests - i.e. access to internet and printer.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller75_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    443
    134
    20
    17
See reviews for
217
291
43
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

My husband and i stayed here recently for two nights. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring as its just around the corner from the altstadt yet only a short distance from the train station.

Our whole experience at the hotel was great, the service and cleanliness were all very good. The reception team were very helpful and were happy to provide directions to nearby restaurants. Breakfast had one of the widest selections i have seen in a long time, and the best of all the crowne plaza hotels i have stayed at.

Our room (205) was nice and had a huge bed. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again should i return to Heidelberg.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_p81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We were 4 ladies - so we reserved two double club rooms. We had arrived from US into Zurich in the morning - picked our car from airport and drove to Heidleberg - so it was a long day and were we happy we picked this hotel to start our trip.
The rooms were wonderful - and we had the pleasure of being able to use the Club Lounge prior to going out for dinner and a walk about - perfect.
The staff at the reception desk was most welcoming and gave us a great tip on a restaurant - not touristy -- Vetters - at the base of the bridge - the perfect meal to begin our journey through Germany - about a 15 minute walk.
The beds were perfect for a great night's sleep - which on your first day/night is so important.
Breakfast was included and we could have gone into the restaurant but instead decided on the Club Lounge again - and it had everything we needed - plus the advantage of being quite and we could check on our emails straight from there - so it worked for us.
I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco#55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHeidelberg, CP Heidelberg CC Management Team at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear valued Tripadvisor Member Coco#55,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre and for your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you were content with our rooms, the quality of bed, the comfort and service features of our Club Lounge and the friendliness of reception staff.

Your positive comments on our hotel and service will be of great motivational value to our members of staff.

We will be pleased if you give further preference to our hotel. We already look forward to welcoming you back in our Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Kind regards,
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
133 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

What a great hotel. Heidelberg is a beautiful city at only a 15 minute train ride from Mannheim. It's worth the train ride if you were just to stay in this hotel. Forget the holiday inn in mannheim - it has a pool and 2 tredmills but nothing compared to this Crowne Plaza. As I said: this is one of the better crowne plaza's I 've stayed with.
Just realize it's 2 KM from the trainstation in Heidelberg. So take either bus 33/34 or walk, or take a taxi for 7-8 euros.

I was upgraded to a beautiful club room (seemed renovated) with a free minibar, free earplugs, chocolates, coffee / tea machine (hi-tec with capsules), beautiful bathroom with very soft creamy towels and great soaps, etc.

The SPA with heated pool, jacuzzi, wet and dry sauna, is simply amazing! There's also a 24 hour gym with machines and weights.
I've stayed in many Crowne Plaza's but this one beats them all!

Two minusses: 1) no access is given to the club lounge, unless you pay another 29Euro per day. They could give Platinum PC members access... like most Holiday Inns and Crowne Plaza's do in Singapore, Bangkok, Amsterdam (including free breakfast), India.
2) The Gym could use be renovated and updated with newer machines - there's no cross training machine, and the tredmills are pretty old. Also there's no bench for free weights (so you need to do exercises standing).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHeidelberg, Management CP Heidelberg City Centre at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Dear valued Tripadvisor Member gobitz,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance.

Regarding the Club Lounge access we would like to inform you that this is not part of the Priority Club benefit programme for platinum members. It is a decision of the hotel, if club lounge access will be included. Unfortunately we do not offer it, only for an extra charge of 29,- Euro per day and person.

The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.

We already look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Was there for a meeting in September this month. perfectly located in the city center. hotel is warm, clean, and of good quality. Spent 2 days in a meeting and the banquet facilities were great as well as the food. Forgot the swimming suit so my visit to the hotel swimming pool will be for my next visit. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeJumbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHeidelberg, CP Heidelberg CC Management Team at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Dear valued Tripadvisor Member Babdou,

Thank you very much for your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre and your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were very satisfied with our overall service performance.

The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.

We would be pleased to welcoming you back soon in our hotel as well as in our beautiful city Heidelberg.

Kind regards,
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I booked this hotel because of the indoor pool. The pool was ok, with kitchy ceiling paintings suggesting you are in Rome or Florence. The rooms are the same you would find in any American chain hotel all over the world. It semed somewhat out of place in cute little Heidelberg. Unless you are a homesick American, this place may not impress you. That being said, it's centrally located, within walking distance to the river and the main shiopping street.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltenbummler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHeidelberg, CP Heidelberg CC Management at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
Dear valued Tripadvisor Member frank2007,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know about your imression of your visit. We are pleased you like our spa area and that we are centrally located.

The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.

We will be pleased if you give further preference to our hotel and we already look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

WE have stayed in Crown Plaza in August for 1 night. It is a really nice hotel. Very comfortable, big clean rooms, nice breakfast, excellent club lounge. Definetely we will go back. Our room was 230 and it was a club room. Maybe the most comfortable bed we have ever sleep. One big fault is htat they do not ofeer free internet and the internet is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHeidelberg, CP Heidelberg Management at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear valued Tripadvisor Member Mikaella1,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg.

We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know about your impression of your stay.

We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding our rooms, cleanliness, breakfast and Club Lounge.

Regarding your comment towards internet charges, we will ask you to take into consideration that we will invest the charges for internet to improve the speed of internet and to offer a larger range of bandwidth for our guests. As a benefit for our guests we provide internet service in our business centre which offers for 24 hours the option to use the installed PCs free of charge.

Thank you again for your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon in our Crowne Plaza Heidelberg.

Kind regards,
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Address: Kurfuersten-Anlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant Westcoast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conventiently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Next events in the Region: SAP Arena 20.6. EaglesHockenheimring 13.-14.6. Porsche Sports Cup / 04.07. Sonisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing