We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and pleasant little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed over a weekend for two nights in two double rooms (two parents and lone teenager).

The hotel is squeezed into a fairly historic building so the layout is all a bit of a compromise but nonetheless, it all works as it should.

Reception were well organised, spoke good English and quickly got us into our rooms. The two rooms we had were overlooking a small inner courtyard; had the effect of making the rooms quite dark. Dark decor and 'heavy furniture' create a slighlty dower atmosphere in the rooms but they are very clean, very comfortable and have most facilities you're ever likely to need ie. mini bar, wi-fi, TV etc.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the end; the old town of Heidelberg is a 10 minute pleasant walk by the river so we ate all meals including breakfast in the town (lots of restaurants, cafe's and bars to choose from with artisan bakers etc in plentiful supply).

Hotel is tucked away up a small road about a 2 minute walk to the river.

So, no great views to mention and quite a quirky, independant hotel that offers a clean, comfortable and cosy option for any visitor with Heidelberg old town a short stroll away.

One footnote; may be the area/location but we found quite frequently (there were occasional exceptions) that English speakers, even those like us that would have a stab at speaking some basic German, were given a reception that ranged from downright frosty to a reluctant acknowledgement that you exist. My message to the townsfolk; if you speak English and you have a customer/guest who is tryng to communicate, then how about helping us out, whilst taking our money, by at least attempting to be helpful/welcoming. If you don't like visitors what are doing living/working in a historic tourist centre?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear ITTS,

Thank you for your positive remark. Your hint to the downtown folks who did not want to speak English made me smile. It actually reminds me of one of our famous historic VIP guests Mark Twain, who also wrote about the Hirschgasse Heidelberg in his book “A tramp abroad”.

Read how he felt about the “The awful German Language”:
”I went often to look at the collection of curiosities in Heidelberg Castle, and one day I surprised the keeper of it with my German. I spoke entirely in that language. He was greatly interested; and after I had talked a while he said my German was very rare, possibly a "unique"; and wanted to add it to his museum.”

So do not despair, others had also their difficulties
It is really a pity that you never experienced dinner in the Hirschgasse. You should have tried to eat once in one of our two Restaurants: the historic Mensurstube with the Bismarck table, the romantic Le Gourmet (16 points Gault Millau), or had at least our scrumptious Butler Breakfast with a personal service to start the day in perfection! You ended up with only 48% impression of the Hirschgasse which I regret. But that is a good reason for you to return and catch up with the other 52% (=percentage of hotel guests using our restaurants).

Hoping that this will be soon, I remain for now with very best regards to you and your family,
Ernest Kraft

PS: An economic hint! You did not book over our OFFICIAL HIRSCHGASSE HEIDELBERG WEBSITE. You missed some special offers, which are only available there and nowhere(!) else. Look and compare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Staff was outstanding. Hotel is in need of some refreshing. Carpets are tired, fixtures need updating with period correct items. Interned access was terrible. Courtyard would make a wonderful herb/flower garden, but, was overgrown with weeds. Food was OK. Dinner at the Gourmet restaurant ($300 for two) was not worth the fare. All in all an OK facility but way over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdHoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Ed Hoffmann,

Thank you for your comments and suggestions, which always are appreciated. Garden is a very important subject for us and we have gardeners which work on a regular basis and we pay a lot in a year for gardening.

Since the weather has been very rainy for the last two months - plants and naturally weeds - are shooting vigorously. The little inside garden court is looked after carefully. Since you cannot really work in rain this was an unlucky coincidence – we are sorry that you received the wrong impression for a topic which matters to us.

Regarding your comments on the food. We checked your bill and find only a 180 EUR charge which equals 230 $ for food and beverage (2 menus and wine) and not a 300 $ as you claim it.

Still, we are sorry that you felt that the money was not worth the price, since we put a lot of effort in our culinary standards for which we are enjoying a high reputation. We are rated with 16 points in the Gault Millau Guide, which stands for outstanding gourmet kitchen and service quality. Perhaps you try the next time our historic restaurant Mensurstube, which serves more regional and hearty food at lower prices – still in a very high quality.

I would be delighted if you would return and give it another try – perhaps then on our nice blossoming rose terrace.

I remain with very best regards,
Ernest Kraft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We found the staff to be extremely polite, helpful and professional. We loved having a view of the castle from our window. Parking was very adequate and the short walk to town was thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely try to stay here again in the future.

The only negative I can think of was the cost of dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was extremely delicious however we were there at the harvest time of asparagus and did not initially realize that the cost of our meal included 19 euros for white asparagus in addition to the cost of the other part of the meal. After ordering we did see the posting for asparagus cost and could have amended our order. The asparagus was delicious however, the portions were extremely large so one order would have been sufficient for the 4 of us. Again I stress this doesn't reflect negatively on the hotel, it was a learning curve for us.

I would like to thank the staff for making us feel at home and we look forward to staying with you again.
Jeff K

Room Tip: We were facing the front of building on the end near street. Offered good view of city. 2nd floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Jeffrey K,

Thank you for your comment and highlighting the wonderful vegetable asparagus, which is a speciality grown in our area - some also title it the "White Gold"

Asparagus is always served as a base with only asparagus and then accompanied by options to choose, such as raw or cooked ham, pancakes, fillets etc. Each dish is individually priced and has to be added up always. Since asparagus is handpicked - very hard labour - kneeing and bowing in the fields all day long, you hardly find harvest workers for it - the price reflects this of course. It is one of the vegetable highlight in the year. A nearly adequate, but not so expensive, vegetable coming on in fall is salsify. Also long and white, but more a nutty taste. Perhaps a reason for you to try out another local speciality.

We love to hear that you intend to come back – we will make sure your next stay will be at least as good as the first.

I remain with very best regards,
Ernest Kraft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Hotel Hirschgasse is located on the north side of the Neckar River, just far enough from the city of Heidelberg to be totally quiet yet close enough for easy foot access. It is also only a few minutes walk from the forested park area along the Philosophenweg A friendly and helpful staff and excellent food are keynotes here. The building itself has immense character although the bedrooms, although perfectly comfortable, are falling a bit behind in the standards of decor and the amenities now expected in a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Bill,

Glad that you gave the Hirschgasse Heidelberg such a positive feedback. Of course, we are constantly trying to improve the quality of our rooms and services and thank you for your hints.

Please bear in mind that our rooms and suites in Laura Ashley design are actually up to date, since it concentrates on a timeless appeal of nineteenth century patterns, some even dating back to William Morris (1834–1896). Other commentators describe it sometimes like that: You either love it or hate it. Whereby the big majority of our guests of course love it :-) Even the biggest machos melt away in some of our four poster beds

Some amenities we do not provide e.g. DIY coffee and tea making facilities, since this is chain hotel standard – we rather render service to our guests. On the other hand, we provide the excellent and luxurious Molton & Brown London bathroom series.

Your visit to our historic restaurant Mensurstube was appreciated by us. You belong to the over 52% of our house guests, who use our two restaurants - one of them the Le Gourmet with 16 points in the Gault Millau guide.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Please try next time to book over our OWN HIRSCHGASSE HOMEPAGE for good deals and extended arrangements and of course also our much larger salon suites.

I remain with best regards,
Ernest Kraft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

When we travel to Europe, we have a routine of flying to Frankfurt, renting our car and driving to Heidelberg for a few days to get our ‘feet on the ground’. This year, for the first time, we decided to stay at the Hirschgasse. Although we arrived early, our room was ready for us (and our nap!). The room was wonderful and the staff outstanding. Our 2-day stay was perfect.

We decided to stay for another 2 days at the Hirschgasse on our outward journey at the end of our holiday. We were provided another marvellous room after being greeted like a member of the ‘family’ who had not visited for some time.

We will be staying at the Hirschgasse on our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50mikea50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear 50Mikea 50,

Your idea after landing in Frankfurt and come directly to Heidelberg is abolutely right. With a fast motorway (A5) you are in just under one hour in Heidelberg, measured by international standards, Heidelberg is an international airport city. The only air traffic we have here are birds flying from and to the near woods and vineyards surrounding the hotel Hirschgasse.

We thank you for sharing your clever traveling habbit with others - so perhaps we are able to welcome more guest who are doing it like you. Arrive internationally in Frankfurt - and become a "member of the family" in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg.

Looking forward to your next visit we remain with very best regards,
Ernest Kraft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We picked this hotel from Small Luxury Hotels book, which we use when travelling randomly through Europe. Although not "front line" location it is nevertheless very well located for strolling into the old town and along the river. Nicely appointed with lots of old and quality traditional fittings and furnishings it created a comfortable and cosy feel for our 2 night stay in unseasonally cold weather. We had a very good dinner in the restaurant on one night and the breakfasts were superb. The staff and cleanliness were top class. Overall we were very pleased with our choice which we would be very pleased to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Patrick S,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the HIrschgasse Heidelberg - eventhough the unusual cold weather. But it is just one of our plus points.

Our suites are so cosy and the inhouse restaurants Le Gourmet or the Mensurstube are offering a real historic Heidelberg experience with exquisite food and service, so one does not mind to be restricted by temperatures.

Hoping, that we will soon be able to welcome you again - perhaps in summer - then also on our rose terrace, which will be the ideal spot to dine.

I remain with very best regards,
Ernest Kraft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Die Hirschgasse for two nights in early December, arriving and departing in the midst of falling snows that enhanced the already wonderful atmosphere of this fine, historic small hotel. Our room was the charming Blue Sapphire suite (#218, I think), which overlooked the hotel’s small interior courtyard through casement windows with decals of young male students wearing the famous Heidelberg student caps. This room is two floors above ground level; the elevator is small but adequate.

Everything about the room was wonderful, from an inviting sitting area with comfortable leather couch and chairs, original artwork, cobalt blue chandelier and of course the (locked) secretary with a display of leather-bound books and blue bottles (such as Bombay Sapphire gin comes in), to a hallway full of closets with lots of hanging space and shelves, to the folklore decorative pattern on the toilet. The bathroom facilities are extensive, divided into two rooms (sink, vanity table and soaking tub in one, shower and toilet in the other). The soaking tub has a marvelous feature: a large bolster at one end to serve as headrest. The sleeping alcove had two comfortable twin beds moved together to form a superking; a writing desk and a second vanity table. The draperies, nightstand and vanity table skirts, and the tub privacy curtain are executed in a lovely floral fabric. The WiFi signal was strong, and connecting multiple devices was allowed.

Breakfast is served in the hotel’s gourmet restaurant, a charming warm room with wood paneling and old brick. Don’t despair when you see a modest table at the entry with bread, cold cereal and juice. The waitstaff brings a lovely spread including gravlax, cold meats and cheeses, muesli, fruit salad, berries and yogurt and a basket of croissants and rolls. There is also a carafe of water with “energy stones”, small crystalline rocks that resemble fresh chunks of lemon. There are also hot dishes, cooked to order, but we did not sample them.

The hotel’s casual restaurant, the Mensurstube, is marvelous! Do reserve a table ahead of time, and try to get the round one that sits in front of the tile stove. The whole restaurant is atmospheric, but this table with its spiral of inscribed names – members of student (dueling, drinking) societies – is especially so. There are some rather gruesome displays in a wall niche but some charming ones as well (fencing gear, braided jackets and so forth); overall the room is warm and charming. The food is delicious! We can recommend the deer goulash with licorice spaetzle (these noodles taste only lightly of anise) and the roast chicken with curd cheese dumplings; for starters, matjes herring with apple horseradish dip should not be missed. Apple tart with marzipan ice cream makes for a sweet finish. The restaurant has some delicious wines by the glass (offenes wein), notably a Riesling and a Spätburgunder (what we know as Pinot Noir).

The hotel’s location is ideal for reaching the pedestrian center of Heidelberg’s medieval town on foot, although the initial part of the walk – downhill on Hirschgasse to the north bank of the Neckar River – is a bit steep and of course slippery in the snow/ice. The parking area is small, but parking is free. Finally, the hotel is in the perfect spot for easy exit from Heidelberg to the east along the Neckar River, which has several lovely old towns with castles, castle ruins, half-timbered houses and examples of sgraffito (painted frescoes) on buildings.

Room Tip: we recommend the Blue Sapphire suite
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Gggrl,

What a valuable in depth report from you about your staying experience with us!. Thank you very very much. You have not only taken time in your description, but also have noted a lot of hidden detail, which loves to be discovered and other guests sometimes miss.

Especially, the butler breakfast experience broken down so well in detail by you is hopefully a big help for other guests - understanding and getting the idea better.
By the way, the herb licorice you mention in the German translation means Süssholz and "süssholzraspeln" means "talking sweet to somebody you care for...

Hoping that we can "talk to you sweet" soon in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg:-)

Best regards,
Ernest Kraft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.1 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
0.4 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
1.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#13 of 76 in Heidelberg
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg

Address: Hirschgasse 3, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: £162 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hirschgasse Heidelberg, which is a listed building and over 540 years old, was the place for student fraternities and clubs to fence and celebrate - the oldest in Germany.Now 20 Laura Ashley suites offer a luxurious country house style, all in different design and layouts, which are offered in three categories such as: Junior | Deluxe | Salon. For the ones who do not like identikit chain hotels we are providing the right antidote with a private and familiar ambiance. Check our own official website for daily best rates and offers with growing rewards.Only a short scenic walk along the river Neckar across the Old Bridge (Alte Brücke) brings you into the heart of the Old Town. Retreat to our peace and quietness once the hustle and bustle of the city is too much for you. The nearness to the famous Philosopher’s walk and the holy mountain starting behind our hotel is a paradise for jogging and hiking.Two restaurants offer unique character and quality. The Mensustube with lots of historic memorabilia of the bygone studentic times serving local authentic Food. The Le Gourmet awarded with one Michelin star and 16 points in the Gault Millau accompanies with very charming French service and large wine selection onto a fine culinary expedition.An outstanding luxurious Butler’s breakfast served individually, without having to "fight" on a big buffet for the last piece of sausage, is an experience to start the day relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing