We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of (massive) hidden costs” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware of (massive) hidden costs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

First off, the hotel is -- overall -- delightful, but a bit worn. The room in which we stayed was in dire need of an upgrade (at a minimum, a paint job and some new wallpaper...) The staff is helpful and courteous, and the Michelin 1-star restaurant is superb and worth the trip in and of itself. We had a wonderful dinner on the patio; each course was inspiring. The BIG disappointment was the unexpected (and unannounced) charge of 92 Euros (!) for two breakfasts on our bill when we checked out. Upon check-in, we were informed of the hours when and the location where breakfast would be served, but at no time were we informed that the charge -- unlike virtually every other hotel in Europe, including five-star luxury hotels -- would be additional to the already high room rate. Since we do not typically eat breakfast, we declined the elaborate preparations and instead opted for one latte, one cappuccino, three fried eggs (total), two small glasses of orange juice, one croissant, one pretzel roll, and some jams. Again, at no time were we informed that we were paying regardless of whether we consumed the elaborate meal being sereved or not... Needless to say, we were displeased by the charge at checkout, and when we questioned it, the desk clerk disappeared into the kitchen to ask Alison (the owner/proprietess), who sent the message back that half of one breakfast charge would be removed from our bill. By ANY account, it's unconscionable to be charged 69 Euros for what we consumed, and this unfortunately spoiled our entire stay. My advice - be forewarned that you are about to consume the most expensive breakfast of your lives; you are better off skipping it and grabbing something five minutes away in town... One more thing - the wifi, while free, is unreliable and slow...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear NYCCS,

You have my full sympathy and we are very sorry that a silly misunderstanding has cut a very good critic in half.

We had a double booking from the restaurant, so instead of booking only two breakfast at EUR 23 each four were booked. The of course unjustified amount of EUR 46 has been credited already onto your VISA account. So you only were charged for one breakfast – since one was waived.

I do know how fuming mad one can become if an unjustified charge is levied upon one, and I do apologize for that mistake by our receptionist who was not firm in her routine yet.
You can rest assured that we do earn our money with outstanding achievements like you described so well for our Le Gourmet and not with “hidden costs”. The butler breakfast – if it would have been charged in the right fashion would have delighted you certainly in the same way.

So, what is left to say. A direct email to me would have cleared up the situation as well without you having to “huff and puff”. What speaks for your integrity is your clear differentiation between the breakfast and dinner issue – thank you for that.
Perhaps you have the will to look at the matter again and rethink your verdict after the “smoke” has gone.

I remain with best regards and hope we see you again in the Hirschgasse - breakfast is on us then!
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    51
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
30
97
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kayl, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very historical and inspiring hotel, which deserves to mention to be decorated the Laura Ashley way: indeed, you feel like staying by The Little House in the Prairie!!! Rooms, bedding and bathrooms were amazing although a bit dusty... Reception staff (see also your name on the door bell! lol) is great although the restaurant one looks more mitigated; the inn restaurant's menu (not the gastronomic one) is fine but can be ignored (the setting must be seen though!). Location is at the other side of the river but you can enjoy a great view!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndLibertyForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This small luxury hotel was a gem to find in Heidelburg. Marcella at the front desk was very helpful, gracious and hospitable. She showed us how to get to town, enjoy the beautiful sights, where to drink the best coffee, nearest gas station.
All their rooms were suites, ours opened directly to the garden. Our room was beautifully furnished befitting a luxury hotel. The bathroom was a WOW! Full jacuzzi and spacious. It was worth every penny.
This hotel was 20 minutes from the castle. Parking is free.
The restaurant is next door and is a museum by itself. The food was great in spite of us missing their Michelin star chef who was off that day( Sunday and Monday)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Junespain,

Thank you for rewarding us with the accolade of being a gem. We are very happy that you have been our guest.

Nice, that you had a chance to eat in the historic restaurant Mensurstube. Next time make sure not to miss our Michelin star chef.

We look forward to welcome you back in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg in the not too far future and remain with very best wishes.

Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a charming individual hotel. As befits a Small Luxury Hotel of the World the Service is first class. Very personal, very profesisonal but without being intrusive. Couple of nice touches including Prosecco on arrival and having the name outside our door.
Breakfast was very good, although the room is very dark (Lots of deep reds and greens)
The beds were comfortable but the rooms - at least the one I had- had a few little issues. nothing major, but enough to be worthy of mention.

We had booked a four poster suite, but got an attic room suite, where we kept banging our head on the sloping roof... and no 4 poster.
The bathrrom was quaint, but the bath small and again, you couldnt stand up to use the shower attachment or else you banged your head. There was no shower curtainn and no individual shower. There were insufficent amentities (uncluding no conditioner),some of the tiles were cracked, and the showere head/hose was worn and leaked.

My biggest issue was the restaurant. They have 2. Neither could we try becuase they were fully booked (including a Michelin starred restaurant) - which as a resident was very frustrating. On sunday both restuarants were closed and there was no room service. At this level and this price this is simply not good enough.At least one should have been open.

I would probably go back,. I tink I just had a poor room and a few frustrations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear mdcryan,

Thank you so much for your positive comment; we are glad that you have been our guest.
It’s a real pity that we did not have place for you in our restaurants.

Since we have been awarded a Michelin star the demand and reservation situation have increased. Therefore a pre-reservation is absolutely advisable.
Should we be full, then we have offer the last option, only for houseguests, to eat at either 6 p.m. or 9 p.m. in the Mensurstube from the regional menu.

We provide which is very unusual for our size of hotel two restaurants which are open 5/6 days a week. Sunday is normally our day off. But should restaurant business develop further and justify economically to open on Sunday we will consider opening 7 days. We have to give our staff time to regenerate in order to deliver top performance and hope for your understanding. Next time please reserve in time and rest assured.

Banging the head, hmmm… We presume that you are a little bit taller than the rest of us? If you reserve again, perhaps make a point of having a larger suite like a Salon Suite where ceiling heights are not limited by the cosy sloping roof of some suites. If you expressively booked a four poster bed let me know more details, so I can follow up on that point.

We have enlarged our amenities selection and soon will have also conditioner – as well as bathing salt.

Glad that you still see it positive and consider coming back – we look forward to welcome you again in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg.

I remain with best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A German country style hotel across the Neckar river in a quiet location. It has a renowned restaurant and a weinstube with memorabilia from the cadet days when students fought duels for bravery and honor. The hotel is run with care by the Kraft family and is a wonderful antidote to anonymous luxury hotel chains. The location is good for walking to city center and for day trips to Worms and Speyer. "Yes," the Internet connection is slow but this is a hotel to get away from all that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clematis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Clematis,

"Antidote"..., again a really great expression to discribe what type of hotel and restaurant we are offering - thank you for that intellectual "injection" and staying with us.

Regarding the internet connection we can inform you that we have updated the system with a new fast WiFi and it is no longer required to log in every time after a longer a standby modus. This was owed to older times - when we still charged WiFi - and wanted to save online time in favour of our guests, so they could "stretch" online time. Anyway, now we support multiple devices - one ticket fits all and is of course still complimentary.

Hoping that your left days of holidays still permit again a visit to the Hirschgasse Heidelberg.

I remain with best wishes from the Kraft Family.
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I spent three days at the hotel on business and had a very pleasant stay. Room was clean and well kept and the dining room with its historic connections to the student duelling clubs was a delight. Excellent local food I had both Zander and belly pork which were superb, excellent service and fine local beers. Why stay at an identikit modern hotel when you have Die Hirschgasse as an option.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you for your very positive comments on the Hirschgasse Heidelberg and also staying with us. Great that we could enhance your business stay pleasantly, also with superb local food.

We love your expression "identikit" and will try to use that word in our new website describing what makes us different from other modern hotels...

See you soon in the HIrschgasse

I remain with best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
386 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel, across the Neckar from all the tourist throngs, has marvelous service and a very authentic aura. The three day package includes a private tour of the town and castle by a lovely lady guide, plus two meals in the hotel, plus breakfast and tickets to the museum and, while we were here during the music festival, tickets to a concert. A great value.

Room Tip: We were in the Blueberry suite which was extremely attractive and comfortable. As the hotel is off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear New York Wendy,

Thank you for your stay. Especially booking our three day package which is - of course - only bookable on our own Hirschgasse Website under packages section. Your picked indeed great value which is not offered on other OTA's sites.

Hoping that we see you again very soon I remain with best wishes.

Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
1.1 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#19 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
ArtHotel Heidelberg
ArtHotel Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg

Property: Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
Address: Hirschgasse 3, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hirschgasse Heidelberg, which is a listed building and over 540 years old, was the place for student fraternities and clubs to fence and celebrate - the oldest in Germany.Now 20 Laura Ashley suites offer a luxurious country house style, all in different design and layouts, which are offered in three categories such as: Junior | Deluxe | Salon. For the ones who do not like identikit chain hotels we are providing the right antidote with a private and familiar ambiance. Check our own official website for daily best rates and offers with growing rewards.Only a short scenic walk along the river Neckar across the Old Bridge (Alte Brücke) brings you into the heart of the Old Town. Retreat to our peace and quietness once the hustle and bustle of the city is too much for you. The nearness to the famous Philosopher’s walk and the holy mountain starting behind our hotel is a paradise for jogging and hiking.Two restaurants offer unique character and quality. The Mensustube with lots of historic memorabilia of the bygone studentic times serving local authentic Food. The Le Gourmet awarded with one Michelin star and 16 points in the Gault Millau accompanies with very charming French service and large wine selection onto a fine culinary expedition.An outstanding luxurious Butler’s breakfast served individually, without having to "fight" on a big buffet for the last piece of sausage, is an experience to start the day relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing