We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in all regards other than noise”
Review of Kulturbrauerei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kulturbrauerei
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Exceptional in all regards other than noise”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Such a charming hotel right in the middle of the old city, just a few blocks from the main square, with the castle looming up on the hill and the river just a stone's throw in the other direction.

The on-site brewery and beer garden were great for hanging out at the end of a long day, and the beer was excellent.

The exterior has great character, while the interior has been fully renovated and feels very fresh and modern (unlike photos from many of the other hotels that we looked at).

Service could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The reception staff went the extra mile to download and print train schedules, advise on other transport options, make bookings, etc.

Major drawback is that it is very noisy throughout the night, due to a cabaret bar next door, at least for the Thursday to Sunday that we were there. Loud music until midnight and then the occasional shouting drunk person walking past our window until 3 or 4 am. Combine that with rock-hard mattresses as a second drawback, and you can imagine we did not get the best night's sleep...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    54
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
37
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was spacious and bed comfortable. Everything was modern and functional. Check in was easy, staff were friendly and spoke English, and the parking spot we reserved meant no worries with parking each time we returned. The food at the restaurant is excellent, and the beer garden is a great spot to sit day or evening. We would return in a heart beat!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rastus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location, service, and room. We did dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Dinner wasn't cheap, but the atmosphere was great, food was good, and beer was excellent.

The breakfast seems to be a bit overpriced for what's offered. I don't know what else was available in town, though, so for the convenience of eating there it was ok.

Overall, I'd stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I travel frequently across Europe on business and Heidelberg and Kulturbrauerei is one of my favourite destinations. This hotel is set in great location in the old part of the town, nestling underneath the castle and just a stones throw from the river Nekar. This a very good location for exploring the old town of Heidelberg, and within a few hundred yards you are thrown into the old culture and sights of the town with the cobbled streets, bustling squares and quirky cafes. There is a large array of restaurants and the local food (and beer) can only be described as excellent! The Kulturbraurerei is an excellent example of the local cuisine and the homemade lagers are really good. The rooms are clean, modestly appointed and are within keeping of the local character and architecture. My only dissapointment as a business user is the lack of decent wi- fi and air conditioning. The staff are friendly and attentive and was ready to assist or offer advice. All in all a great hotel in a fantastic location and well worth a vist!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor above the brewery room offer great views towards the castle or hills beyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrybazabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great rooms. Clean and in a quiet area. Best of all the brewery is right next door. My friends and I thought we'd jump from bar to bar but no need. Would happily stay there again... staff quite friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPWATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

English and was very helpful. Great bock beer from the brewery. Suckling pig and sauerbraten were good, but the red cabbage and white cabbage dishes were outstanding ... couldn't get enough! Interesting cellar night club under hotel. Parking close by.

Only complaintwas cost of parking; €16 per night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nice location just 5 mins walk from the centre of the old town and cathedral etc; also the funicular railway up to the Castle and beyond. Large clean modern room inside the old building with comfortable beds and useful chairs/tables. Only used the breakfast facilities which we had included and was a pleasant continental buffet laid out in their kitchen.

We were there at the time of the Christmas market which filled the squares near to the hotel. Lots of Gluhwein in great souvenir mugs and pork steak rolls with onions that were heavenly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#29 of 76 in Heidelberg
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#22 of 76 in Heidelberg
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Weisser Bock
Weisser Bock
#36 of 76 in Heidelberg
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Schloss
Hotel Am Schloss
#32 of 76 in Heidelberg
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulturbrauerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulturbrauerei

Property: Kulturbrauerei
Address: Leyergasse 6, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kulturbrauerei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Kulturbrauerei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulturbrauerei Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing