We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not up to Scratch”
Review of NH Heidelberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Heidelberg
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really not up to Scratch”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Lacklustre staff a bar that was not there(closed for refurb but no signs or even a mention about the lack of bar until you go and look for it). We had our bikes with us, so easy to get into town, but calling it a city centre hotel is pushing it a bit. Ok as a roof over your head but not a contributor to a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the 10 Euro upgrade if possible having a larger room makes the stay more bearable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    398
    128
    49
    28
See reviews for
122
284
53
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The building from the outside is wonderful. I even liked the way they tied the two old buildings together. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. BUT 4 star??? Those must have been other rooms, certainly not the ones we got. The two rooms we had were triples. They were quite large with wonderful closet space. They were also stark white, with white blankets (think feather tic in the middle of the summer) folded on the bed, and gray curtains. It was not modern crisp, it was drab, drab, depressing. The one and only picture on the wall was way too small for the space, it looked awful. The (incredibly cheap) furniture is the glue together kind, particle board with a sticker on the outside resembling wood grain. Ours had a strip off of it, so there is no doubt what was in it's composition. The couches and chairs OMG uncomfortable and CHEAP!! (Just as you would expect from a really cheap hotel) The internet is (like many other European hotels) the kind that you get a code for each device, every 24 hours. I would have to say that one of every three works for more than an hour or two, and even then it is brutally slow. The TV had very few channels. The TV in one room was a small flat screen, but the other room had an incredibly old tube TV. Sheets and the bathroom were clean, but dust on the window sills, back of the TV, and in the corners was a tad gross. This hotel is about a mile from old town, so not too far a walk. The breakfast was nice. And as long as nothing was going on in the lobby it was quiet. No view from either of our rooms But four star?? They must have a different system then we have in the USA.

Room Tip: Tell them you want one like the room pictured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The location of the hotel was good, near the center. The hotel was nice complex build partly in an old brewery. We did not use the breakfast or restaurant, so no experience of those.The beds were good, that I appreciate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Juha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Room in modern wing was fine, albeit small window overlooking what looked like apartments. Room smart and modern.

Service was a let down - two phone calls requesting an iron and ironing board resulted in nothing, until I complained at Reception.

A request for a late checkout of 1pm instead of normal 12, was met with a request for €10.

Add to which it is a 20 minute walk to the old town action.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

There is nothing I can add in my review that hasn't already been said about this hotel. It's located 20 minutes by foot to the Altsdadt and the main railway station. It's a converted brewery and a modern building joined by a marvellous glass and steel atrium. They charge €17 per night for the car park and €20 for breakfast both of which are disgustingly high. Good breakfast's can be found in Thanner, Merlin and the bakery just beyond the Leonardo Hotel heading towards Bismarckplatz.
However, my problem with this hotel was the evening we had dinner.
6 of us decided to try the restaurant at the hotel. We were shown a table and ordered drinks which arrived quickly. We ordered our meals, my daughter wanted to have prawns in her casear salad instead of chicken but was told this was not possible. We waited and waited for dinner to arrive, 20 minutes became 40 minutes then 50. We spoke to the staff who assured us that it would be with us in another 5 minutes. It wasn't. More complaining as the hour mark came and went and we got the manager involved. 1 hour and 20 minutes after placing the order our meals came. What a laughable joke they were. My potato wedges were hard as if they had been in the oven for days, my daughters casear salad was barely recognisable as such and all the othe food was either burnt or over cooked. We paid for our drinks and trooped off to a nice Italian restaurant on the was into town on the right hand side of the road.
I'd stay here again, the staff were nice. The refurbished rooms were nice too but I won't ever eat here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_ChEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Modern, high quality hotel built on a converted brewery. Rooms are what you'd expect for an upper mid-range business hotel. Close to the hauptbahnhof (10+ minutes walk) but a slight trek (15+ minutes) to the Altstadt, so be ready to walk. Breakfast is excellent, Wall St Journal thrown in as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
397 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Visited Heidelberg between July 24 up to 28. Hotel service is average based on a 4 star. The temperature this Saturday was of 35c and we were out of air-condition between 10PM up to 7AM Not a good experience. From hotel to town center at least a good 20 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Second floor room 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHL573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Heidelberg

Property: NH Heidelberg
Address: Bergheimer Str. 91, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#10 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Heidelberg is located right in the center of Heidelberg, perfect for visiting the city and Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region. Heidelberg is a spectacular city known for its tourist attractions, world-leading companies, science and research labs, and prestigious universities. A major sports/concert arena and a conference center are just 15-20 minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing