We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Comfortable Hotel in Heidelberg”
Review of NH Heidelberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Heidelberg
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Nice Comfortable Hotel in Heidelberg”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is located on a main thoroughfare of Heidelberg. When you walk in the hotel, you will have the impression of cleanliness, modern décor and friendly front desk staff. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating that they checked us in quite efficiently despite there were 9 of us checking in 4 rooms. We helped ourselves to our luggage and whisked them into our respective rooms. The rooms are amazingly large and spacious by European standard and are comparable to the 4 or 5 star spaciousness of hotels in The United States. Our particular room including the bathroom were very clean. The building had central air and the control was in each room. During our stay we were able to maintain a comfortable cool air temperature throughout. The linen service was also prompt and they replaced the toiletries and towels we used while the sheets were changed daily. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were really soft enough to support our neck and head that put as to sleep in a matter of a couple of minutes. Needless to say, we slept like babies the entire nights we stayed. The buffet breakfast that came with the price of this hotel was superb. It had hot and cold food varieties and even salads. They also provided a wide variety of drinks hot and cold and they even had smoothies for breakfast with 5 or so different flavors. The breakfast by no means was a Continental breakfast but a real buffet breakfast, that I feel was one of the best breakfast we had in a 4 star hotel in Europe. We stuffed ourselves with that breakfast that satiated us until the mid afternoon so we had a long stretch of seeing what Heidelberg had to offer, which we enjoyed in between meals and thanks to this NH hotel. Even though parking was quite difficult along Bergheimer Strasse this hotel offered an underground parking with plenty of spaces to keep your car safe at a reasonable daily price. The Old Town is walkable from this hotel that you can reach in less than 10mins. walking. There are also trams that run along Bergheimer Strasse and a tram stop in a few steps in front of this hotel, which makes traveling convenient. At night, the area of the hotel is close to a residential area, that is quiet enough and we felt safe walking in the neighborhood late at night.
Overall, NH Hotel Heidelberg delivered with flying colors and it'll be the one I'll be staying again when we return to Heidelberg.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecbmdpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    398
    128
    49
    28
See reviews for
122
284
53
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, TX, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We like to be outdoors touring and exploring the town, so having the fanciest decor is not de rigeuer for us. Bed was comfortable and room was equipped with mini bar and microwave. Room was very clean and refreshed daily. Breakfast buffet was top notch. Front desk staff is polite and attentive but don't ask too complicated a question as you'll only get blank stares. The only minus, not unique to this hotel, but a big one for us, is the fact thermostat is not guest-controlled. Thank God temps were below average when we visited, otherwise our stay might not have been as pleasant. This hotel is a comfortable walk from the train station.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bossyvossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here on a round-trip and i really can recommend the hotel - very quiet rooms, good sleeping comfort and very attentive staff.
Breakfast was one of the highest standards with a huge selection off cold and hot food.
Although its a 10min walk down to the old city centre, its really not far.
we had a room in the 2nd floor and have not heard anything from hotel operations or neighbours.
typical NH hospitality, good for a stop-over or business travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestkeepedsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at NH Heidelberg during our trip through Europe. Nice, clean hotel in a good location. Breakfast was great, as it had a huge assortment of food and beverages. It was an enjoyable experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrutusMcV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronshoej, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My group was rejected, even though we had reservation for this hotel. In the reception they claimed that our reservation was for another NH hotel 20 km outside Heidelberg, and it was done in a rude and arrogant way.

This meant many extra hours and money spent on transportation to and from the city.

The administration admits that the communication from the hotel has not been satisfactory, but they offered no kind of compensation.

The NH Hotel, the group was referred to, was definitely not a 4-star experience. For instance, their wi-fi didn't work on apple products. This was a disaster for several group members.

Just not good enough, NH.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Karoline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narrabeen, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A very big thanks to Natalie & Doeter on the reception, for being so understanding with our needs our 1st room was awesome but not easy for our 82yo Mum . Room 436 much easier to access from the lift. Thanks to Moritz the bar tender, he made evening drinks special.the restaurant had a good selection of meals & drinks.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are good, just check the floor for some of them you need to access lifts & st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As we (a choir of 32 persons) arrived to the hotel, the receptionst starred at us and said: "You haven't booked here".
We had contacted this hotel via E-mail but they gave us an offer for another NH hotel 20 km outside of Heidelsberg! But how on earth could we know that NH Hirschberg Heidelberg is another hotel far away from Heidelberg city?
There was no address, no specification about the location, nothing that would indicate that this was a completely different hotel so we gladly accepted the offer for this "great" hotel and thought that we were going to stay in the centre of Heidelberg. Otherwise we would have stuck to the offer, we already had in the city!
The moving outside the city was a disaster since we have disabled and older peole in our group so the four days that our tour lasted was a challenge in many ways, mostly as far as transportation is concerned.
I can only say: be careful when you write to the hotel. You get an answer from the head quarter in Berlin. And unfortunately, the reception at NH Heidelberg was not very helpful even though there was no other guests.
I will definetely never stay at one of the NH Hotels again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoinette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Heidelberg

Property: NH Heidelberg
Address: Bergheimer Str. 91, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#10 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Heidelberg is located right in the center of Heidelberg, perfect for visiting the city and Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region. Heidelberg is a spectacular city known for its tourist attractions, world-leading companies, science and research labs, and prestigious universities. A major sports/concert arena and a conference center are just 15-20 minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing