We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why not a four star?”
Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Panorama
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Augsburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why not a four star?”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely hotel with a good central location only a few minutes walk into the city centre. The room, especially the bathroom, was large, clean and comfortable. Buffet style breakfast had a great selection and was beautifully presented in the light and airy breakfast room. all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. On site parking right outside the hotel is small with limited spaces so would definitely recommend reserving in advance if needed, but is cheaper than alot of city centre hotel parking at 8 euros per night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    57
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
72
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were revisiting Germany and this trip decided to use intercity trains rather than tour by car as in the past. The hotel is about 15 minutes direct route from the station or else one can take the tram which stops close by. The car park is not large. The hotel is over the road from the old town entrance and close to all amenities. Whilst few things were open on Easter Friday, it did not detract from our experience and gave us time to become acquainted with the town.

Our room was spotless and cleaned meticulously each day with new towels, bathroom supplies, water and coffee/tea sachets left. My wife enjoyed the coffee machine although I only drank tea. Mentioning this to the receptionist as we headed off to explore she said a kettle would be placed in the room immediately. It was this attention to detail, friendly smile and greetings each day from a variety of staff which were appreciated. They accepted that it didn't have a gym nor other facilities found in four and five star establishments and always tried to make the hotel the best it could be.
We stayed in a few five star hotels (Munich, Koln, Dubai) and we felt Hotel Panorama was superior to these and probably best suited our budget. Air conditioning was present in our room which faced west. Even in early spring the sun's warmth on our window was strong and the A/C would definitely be required and enjoyed in hotter days.

Breakfast was superb and the range of food on offer very wide. The cook would prepare a cooked breakfast to your request with cereals, fruit, pastries etc. available from the delicious buffet. A nice touch was Easter eggs supplied on Easter Sunday.

We relied upon wifi access to keep in touch with family and work but found the access in the hotel a little variable. This was not entirely unexpected as we had found reception in many towns could be frustrating. The hotel does supply a computer with high speed access adjacent to the lounge and we used this a few times when felt it was necessary.

There is so much to see and do in Heidelberg. We had driven through two years before on the way to Munich and was impressed with the beautiful location of the old town along the River Necker. We didn't buy a tourist pass, which are great value from the Tourist Office, and instead spent a lot of time wandering the free Castle gardens, walking along the river, exploring the old town, taking a half day boat trip etc.

We booked the hotel based upon reviews from previous guests and were very glad we did. It more than lived up to our expectations and ensured we had a memorable five day stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer! Lovely hotel with a great location over-looking the River Necker and within easy walking distance of the old town.

The receptionist was very very friendly and helpful as were all the staff. Our room was large and spotlessly clean and overlooked the river. Bottle of complimentary water and a few chocolates were a nice touch. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but toiletries were supplied. We arrived on a really hot day and the air-conditioning was already on in the bedroom which was great.There is free Wi-fi in the room.

There is on-site parking which is available for 8 euros a night, but it is advisable to book this in advance as I think these spaces go quite quickly.

The breakfast was really great. There was plenty of everything and it was all very well presented.

There is a bar at the hotel and the drinks were very well priced at 3 euros for a bottle of beer which were served with complimentary nuts.

Though the hotel is right in town, the old town of Heidleberg is about a 10-15 minute walk away along the side of the river and is a really nice walk. The old town is amazing and definitely worth a visit. There are loads of restaurants and bars and shops.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolBenfleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Whilst visiting family in Germany they surprised me with a 3 day trip to heidelberg. Staying at the panorama hotel was heaven! My room overlooked the Neckar river and with the sun shining, it looked magnificent from my bedroom window. Staff could not been more helpful on arrival. The breakfast was something else, from a proper warm soft boiled egg to all the lovely fresh fruit on offer. A smiling waitress first thing in the morning is a delight. I would recommend this hotel any time but book well in advance, it is very popular.

Room Tip: If you come by car and would like to park at the hotel it costs 8 euro's a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urenard44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandrie, Egypte
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I don't really know how to start, or where to begin !!!!!!! It might be easier to say what i heard from Rose, that magnificent lady at the front desk when she told me " we are like a family here ". Dear Rose it's not only about you, staff, feeling like a family and helping each other to serve your clients, as perfect as you can, it's also about you making us feeling part of that magnificent family. From the first moment, when i sent my e-mail to enquire about the availability and rate, until the last moment when i left, carrying in myself this irresistible feeling and desire to come back. It's not only about a well located hotel, it's a place where you can find true peace visiting as a tourist, for medical treatment, or just passing by. It's all about SERVICE!!! They would do anything for you to make you feel satisfied and happy. I spent 13 nights in a simple single room, and they provided me with everything i needed, literally everything. And when i say "they" i mean all of them. It does not really matter if it's the hotel manager, Mr Christian Börger, or Luca, or someone else, of the most helpful staff i have ever met in a hotel, and i do travel a lot and reside in hotels, allover the world. They do not wait to help with anything, finding you a pharmacy if you need one in the middle of the night, or a simple shop where you can buy gifts for your daughter, or just a nice tourist attraction to visit. Regarding the service in the hotel itself, it is just amazingly excellent.
By the way, the bed was ever sooooooo good, perfect for the back. The breakfast was delicious and prepared with love and care, and served with a beautiful smile by Rali.
I would just like to thank you all, Mr Börger, Luca, Mrs Apfel, Rose, Mrs Gross, Mr Hogan, Mr Cengiz, Rali, Jennifer, Mrs Zubek, Mrs Kathabi, Ralitsa, and anybody who has been there at that beautiful hotel and i haven't had the opportunity to know his or her name or to meet. They all deserve all my respect and best wishes. I hope be able to visit your beautiful Heidelberg and your lovely hotel again. Thank you .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebtissam_sakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is overall an excellent hotel, but their beds are so firm, it did affect quality of my sleep. These days I also travel with my own pillow, which I am glad I do, as their "pillow" was horrible. However, location is great, with an excellent location and view. Breakfast was very good, wifi was included.
It is near a busy street, but the balcony window, when closed, would keep the noise out.

So by far the biggest plus is the location. I was not paying for my stay, so I don't know how good the value is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrVeryEvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We found the beds to be very firm, and it affected our sleep. Most hotel beds in Europe are firm, but these were the hardest that we dealt with on our trip. It affected our sleep, and thus lowers the rating. The room was well sound proofed as long as you kept the window closed. The room had AC, so could be cooled. However there was a noisy part of the AC cycle when it sounded like water was running.

The ceiling are very high, so each floor involves many steps. There is a lift from the reception area to the rooms, but it is rather small. We took the stairs unless we had luggage. There are about a half a dozen steps up from the exterior level to the reception area, so you will need to carry your luggage up and down them.

The breakfast was good, but some of the tables are chairs are rather close together, so moving around in some locations can be a bit tricky if the room is full.

The WiFi was included. You need a separate code for each device, and will have to sign in again if you leave your room with your device for breakfast and then return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
972 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Property: Hotel Panorama
Address: Bismarckstr. 19, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Neckar Hotel)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#14 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panorama 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neckar Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing