We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”
Review of Hotel Am Schloss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Schloss
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good central location”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel has a great location to walk around the sites in Heidelberg, including the castle. It sits right below the castle, but it is 300+ steps to walk up to it! You can also take the funicular, which is in the same building as the hotel. The hotel is at the top of a car park and the funicular, so convenient if you have driven here. A bit difficult as you are looking for a hotel, but you really need to find a carpark. The hotel website explains how to get there. It met our expectations after reading other reviews on tripadvisor. It was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and breakfast was included. Breakfast was average buffet style, with only cold items. There was some noise at night, but if you shut the windows you couldn't hear it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    39
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
24
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dodge Co., Wisconsin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Our rooms on the upper mezanine of this hotel had a beautiful view of the castle. You are well-positioned here for visiting the university, the pedestrian shopping zone, restaurants and the castle. The parking is a major convenience in this town. You can park here and walk to everything. The rooms are a bit standard with a fairly small bathroom, but everything is clean and convenient. The terrace just steps from your room is a lovely place to sit and enjoy the castle view. We were enjoying a glass of wine at 6 pm when all of the church bells began to ring across the city. It was an amazing moment. The breakfast is good, definitely enough to get you going for the day. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinity100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had stayed at the hotel four years previously & it is still a good choice. It takes a little finding, situated as it is on top of a car park, but a good tip is to head for the "Parking Altstadt". You park on the multi-storey & take the lift to the hotel on level 7. There is a discount on parking for hotel residents. The rooms are small but adequate for an overnight stay. The bathrooms are a little dated now, but clean. There's no airconditioning, but a fan was provided in the room. Breakfast is good. The hotel is right on the edge of the Kornmarkt & the main square and the restaurants of the old town are within a five-minute walk. In a city full of packed bars & restaurants the hotel scores by being in a peaceful area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniscorthy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We took 2 rooms here (1 Double & 2 Singles). Rooms were well appointed & very clean. Beds were quite comfortable & bathrooms were excellent. The breakfast was fine, with plenty on offer & we left feeling well set up for the day.

The staff were very friendly & helpful & spoke excellent English.

There is an outdoor balcony with superb views of the Castle (Schloss) & if the weather permits, this is a lovely location to have breakfast or lunch.

Bedrooms on the town side have a shared balcony & this can be a little off-putting, as another guest can appear outside your bedroom window.

Room Tip: Rooms on the town side have a better view of the town's panorama
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenEnniscorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Am Sloss several times. Each time was for events downtown that I did not want to worry about drinking and driving. The latest time was last weekend for a friends' wedding. Though small, the double room suited our needs perfectly. The manager was the same all three times I have stayed there. She is pleasant and knowledgeable.
As stated in the title, the best things about this hotel are the location and views of the Schloss. It's situated at the base of the schloss and is quite the hike up to the gardens or the entrance to the Schloss. If you are not fit, do not try the stairs. There is a much easier ramp that will take you right ot the gardens. It's quite a magical place. Be sure to bring your camera.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Schloss. #17 is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OfficerandGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our family took the large family room for 4. The location was great- just a lift down and you are at the funicular station to the Old castle, 2 min walk to the market square and 10 min walk to the old bridge, neckar river. Parking is at the same multi storey car park as the funicular station and cost 8 euros per entry/day.

The rooms however were not very inspired. Decor looks more from 60/70s. It was a bit stuffy as ventilation was also limited and no aircon. Hair dryer auto stops after a short while due to over heating and needs some time to cool down bf use again. A bit of a problem even with shoulder length hair as have damp hair for quite a while. Pillows are way too soft and some of us woke up with a neckache. Given the cost, I would expect a bit more.

Would still rec for location but do wish that rooms were nicer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Super view, very good location, but small rooms, good breakfast but no hot food, good service

Room Tip: ask administration view to the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#13 of 76 in Heidelberg
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#22 of 76 in Heidelberg
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
#51 of 76 in Heidelberg
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perkeo
Hotel Perkeo
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Schloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Schloss

Property: Hotel Am Schloss
Address: Zwingerstr. 20, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Schloss 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schloss Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing