We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location and location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Location, location and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We could not have picked a better location, within the old town and steps from the main pedestrian shopping strasse, the castle and the bridge. Location alone made me swoon, but the hotel itself was lovely, clean and cozy and the staff, particularly Christina (spelling?) at the front desk, warm and helpful. Our room overlooked a courtyard and was a peaceful oasis after lots and lots of walking. It may sound corny, but I really don't remember the last time I slept so soundly.

Breakfast was included and just lovely. Coffee was available all day and night as well as a nicely stocked little fridge with refreshments on the honor system. We did not have a chance to dine at the restaurant for dinner, but from all we heard it is amazing.

Don't think twice about booking here, it's wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank writesabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    86
    22
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
106
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed there 3 nights. We had the room 34 which is on the last floor, with great volume and great size (3 windows!), about 30 square meters!

The breakfast was rather good (not so big but reasonable choice of fresh food) and the staff very friendly. I could park my car in the hotel parking lot for 10 box a day. Internet is rather cheap (50 cents for one day connexion). The hotel design is rather traditionnal as opposed to modern hotels but overall clean.

The hotel is located in the heart of Heidelberg, 2 min from the Opera house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyononline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed one night here while visiting Heidelburg. The room was clean and cozy, the bed comfortable, and the staff pleasant.
The morning breakfast, which was included for us, was a nice variety, hitting the spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdagrkgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our drive from the Netherlands to Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy was an occasion to stop in Heidelberg and visit this old city and the Christmas markets.
The hotel was very central, 1 minute walk from Hauptstrasse, but enough away to be quiet for sleeping.
The suite was very large with a separate room for our son. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good.
Unfortunately the restaurant was closed.
Although we stayed here only one night, we are satisfied with this hotel and we strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
580 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We thought this place was one of our best hotel stays in Europe. The hotel is quiet but in a great location just off Hauptstraße in the old town, and really nicely appointed with good beds and bathroom. All feels fresh, very clean and well maintained.
The breakfast was marvellous, staff friendly and efficient, and the price we paid for an inside room (20) was a bargain for Heidelberg. We would recommend it to anyone coming here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet side street not far from the river and within 50 metres of the main pedestrian hub where shops and restaurants are located, as well as being close to the city’s attractions.

We arrived by car, however, found the hotel a little difficult to find, as the GPS led to a one way street, whilst at the other end of the street is a pedestrian area. In the end, we drove up the street (which fortunately has minimal traffic) the wrong way to access the hotel. If arriving by car, it may be beneficial to obtain instructions from reception prior to arrival on how best to reach the hotel, as it was noticed several other reviews mentioned they also encountered a similar problem.

On arriving at the hotel, we were fortunate in being able to secure a parking spot (cost 10 euros per night), with about 8 parking bays being available on a “first come” basis, as it is not possible to make a parking reservation.

Our double room and bathroom was an adequate size, air-conditioned, very quiet, clean and adequately furnished with a comfortable bed, whilst the free Wi-Fi worked without any problems. The room being on the first floor was accessible by lift, although it should be noted stairs are a necessity for some rooms.

Whilst we did not dine in the restaurant, we did note it was heavily patronised and based on TripAdvisor reviews, rates quite highly.

Breakfast (which is available until 11am) was superb, with a vast choice of food on offer including cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, salmon, assortment of cold meats, cheeses, breads; whilst eggs are cooked to the guest’s requirements.

Service provide by all staff during our stay friendly and extremely good.

In conclusion, we could not fault any aspect of our stay, with the central location being the major plus and have no hesitation in recommending Backmulde Gasthaus Hotel, which we felt also represented good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed two nights there and we liked so much.The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Well located we could go to many restaurants nearby. There is a restaurant and parking. The breakfast was nice too. Good option!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atill2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
1.0 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde

Property: Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Address: Schiffgasse 11, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing