We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Staff, Top Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Staff, Top Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

You can't knock this location for a visit to Heidelberg. Staff are very helpful and the breakfast spread was impressive.

I've stayed in nicer rooms, but these were clean and a good size. For the money I wouldn't bother looking elsewhere if I returned to Heidelberg.. Which I will, because it is a lovely city and I wasn't here long enough.

Just a tip: If you are coming here by car they have limited parking downstairs at a reasonable price, it might need some car juggling when you need to move it however. Also, it can be tricky to find by car and you may feel like you have gone the wrong way and that you are driving down a pedestrianised street that you shouldn't be for a couple of hundred yards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakubona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    93
    22
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
111
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Beautiful room, extremely quiet yet a minute from the Main Street where there was lots of shops cafés restaurants. Service was excellent and fantastic breakfast. Will definitely stay again. Would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed here on August 6th and 7th. We had no difficulty finding the location and we were lucky enough to get one of the 6 parking spots. The location is fantastic to walk to everything you want to see or do. Rooms are clean and large even with 3 of us in our room. The room was number 16 and did not have AC but the two large windows opened up and we were cool enough at night. Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing, even including a soft boiled egg if you want it. The restaurant at the hotel is great and others are a short walk away. We completely enjoyed our stay here and I fully recommend this place!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

In the midst of a 10 day trip through Europe my family of four (husband and two kids, 20 & 18) had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. It is on a side street just off the main street, conveniently located to the sights, restaurants and shopping in Heidelberg. About a 10 minute cab ride to the train station. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and pleasant. The European breakfast was plentiful and good. We had two quite roomy, nicely decorated, rooms, 17 & 18, both of which had fabulous air conditioners, modern bathrooms,and nice views. You don't need a car here, everything is within walking distance, but I think there might have been parking available. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Loved the rooms we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is really well located on a charming street. The staff are really nice and the breakfast was also good. Our room was really lovely except for the lack of A/C. It's amazing that so few hotels in Germany have air-conditioning in their rooms. Apparently, room 19 has A/C but ours didn't, so it was very difficult to sleep in the stifling heat. I'd stay here again but not in the summer.

Room Tip: A room with A/C if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanjarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here over the Grand Prix weekend and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is situated on a pedestrianised area which runs between the river and the Hauptstrass (high street). Even still, it was very quiet given it's location. This does mean driving there is quite tricky however we used a shuttle service from the airport and walked from Heidelberg coach station, which took 15 minutes.
The staff were very welcoming and very helpful, there is a restaurant on site, and a seating area in the courtyard which we used to enjoy drinks in the late afternoon, however we were on a tight budget and the restaurants on the high street were plentiful so we didn't eat at the hotel.
Our room was big and airy and it seems there has been a refurb since the photos were put on TA, we also had aircon (a luxury apparently) which helped as weather was close to 40 deg C. The room didn't have a fridge nor tea making facilities which was a little disappointing but a coffee making machine was available next to reception with a fridge containing an assortment of drinks.
Breakfast was continental style with a good helping of food buffet style.
We were fortunate enough to meet other couples travelling to the Grand Prix from this hotel so shared a taxi, however as a top tip, unless you have a car, Heidelberg is not the best place to stay if you are relying on public transport to get you to the track at Hockenheim, it was a bit of a faff and would have taken a bus and 2 train changes and over an hours journey.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you like walking everywhere, this is the hotel to book. Every place is within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Room 19 is spacious with A/C and a big shower room. All the toiletries are included, hairdryer too. Breakfast is served till 11 am and you certainly don't need lunch if you help yourself to all the food available, buffet style. Only a few parking places at 10 euros a night with tights spaces. I gave it a 4 stars because it is really difficult to find, tucked away in a pedestrianised area. It is quiet and the restaurant is excellent but you can find others nearby which are not so expensive if you are on a tighter budget. I would go back there as we really enjoyed the vicinity of the river, the museums, the restaurants and all the shops.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 19 if you like to sleep with an opend window as ti opens on a corridor, facing another ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#13 of 76 in Heidelberg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde

Property: Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Address: Schiffgasse 11, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing