We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Falke
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 6 December 2013

But the room was awful.

What were they thinking? The room was large, it had a wonderful view of the Marktplatz, but it had no usable furniture. What it had was some plywood and stainless steel junk. There was no couch/sofa/lounge chair, just a table and 2 extremely uncomfortable side chairs. There was no luggage rack nor anything else save the stand the TV was on.

What a shame; with the location and space this could be a real gem if only the owners would head out to Ikea and spend a couple of Euros.

I gave the place 2 stars because of the breakfast and wi-fi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I loved this hotel: great location, beautiful space, great breakfast in lovely restaurant. The only problem is that the beds were not very comfy (thin mattresses) and the room got insanely hot at night. I'd know for future stays to put the furnace on VERY low because the rooms heats up. But overall, it was a very good stay, and so enjoyable with an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LANYC1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is a bit odd, no front entrance, on pedestrian street, no help to room. Great location on the main square, ask for a room facing the square. Restaurant below hotel, which was quite good. Not much to do in Heidelberg, but it was good for a 2-night stay. Say castle above hotel, walked the pedestrian area, and along the water. It would be good to go here before September 15, as boat tours on the river would have been nice, but they seem to end around mid- to end of September. Didn't really find any good restaurants in Heidelberg. Would stay at Hotel Ritter Zum Georg next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is at the top of Europe's longest main street, a pedestrian area with lots of shops, and very close to the castle. The room was in the top floor, spacy, great bathroom with huge bath and very quiet. Breakfast is in the reataurant downstairs and well served.

Room Tip: Take the business room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very nice and central hotel. Walking distance to many nice pubs and also to the University and castle. The room (no 23) was clean and modern but still with a touch of authenticity with a view over the square. Perfect for 1-2 people with a couch and table. Spacious wardrobe. Highly recommended for visitors to Heidelberg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinoivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I throughly enjoyed my two night stay at the Hotel Goldener Falke. The ground floor restaurant is excellent. This is where one checks into the hotel. The separate, outside, key entry to the hotel rooms may be used thereafter. My room (#16) was very clean, comfortable, lovely, and quiet. Breakfast is a wonderful collection of breads, cheeses, fruits, veg, yoghurt, etc. as well as stuff for meat eaters. The location could not be better. The few attractions that are not within walking distance can be reached by bus or tram. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basilsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent a night and day in Heidelberg and this hotel helped make this a fantastic experience. We stayed on the 4 Th. floor and although the lift only goes to the third the staff helped us with our luggage. They could not have been more helpful. Our room which was more like a small apartment far exceeded our expectations. We were there a Saturday night and had the windows open so it was a bit noisy but really it was just young people singing after a bit too much to drink! Great location and although there is no car park P12 the public car park is a very short distance away. We had our evening meal there and it was excellent, lots of locals so make the reservation before hand. Breakfast usual high standard. We really hope we get to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidereddrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
210 reviews
1.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
#21 of 76 in Heidelberg
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Falke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Falke

Address: Hauptstr. 204, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#17 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: £107 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Falke 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Goldener Falke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Falke Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing