We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hecht
Ranked #37 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The food is ok but the service is rather poor. The two girls in service are more considered about the starting time of their next shift as of their guests. You can wave many times but are unseen. And paying with a card seems not to be rewarded with a "thank you" - i paid with credit card, filled in te right amount with an intention to spend a paper €5 but the girl walked away without saying a thank you. Good food, nice wine but a poor attitude.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goldener Hecht
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Upon reading some of the reivews, it appears that one of the major complaints is driving/parking at this hotel. We didn't have that problem since we didn't have our car yet so taking a taxi into the Old Town area was just fine. Yes, there is a restaurant in front of the hotel, but that didn't seem to be a problem to us. The hotel was really cute, and other than the same hard beds we exspreienced everywhere, it was great. The wi-fi had a problem, but the staff worked to have it fixed promptly. We found them very accommodating. We did not have the breakfast at this hotel as it seemed quite expensive. We loved Heidelberg and I would definitely go back to this hotel if I were there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beisenbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful hotel. The hotel is exactly located in the heart of the city and gives a very beautiful view of the city from the window. Restaurants, bars , shopping area , all of them are close to the hotel. It's a good place to stay and walk for the night on the bridge.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamiraNazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We should have known from the beginning that this hotel was going to be a near-disaster. Arriving at this hotel was difficult. There is no way one can safely park their car in front of the hotel so you must find one of the parking garages nearby. we walked to the hotel and through the restaurant's patio while people are eating (we felt awkward doing this) and up steep stairs to reception. The woman at reception was friendly enough and told us we parked at the incorrect garage if we wanted to get the discount rate. Since check-in was still a few hours away it wasn't a huge deal until we realized the other garage was a bit further away but is located right by the funicular. Later on in the afternoon we tried to check in we were asked about breakfast (10 Euros extra), we told the woman at the counter (a different and more aloof one than before) we were leaving very early the next morning, she wanted to settle the bill right away. We charged it to our credit card and asked if we wanted the receipt. Since she had to write it by hand we told her just slip it under our door. We only stayed in the room a minute or so and left to explore the city and while we were leaving she shouted if we wanted the receipt as we were half way out. I told her again just slip it under the door. Not the worst thing that can happen but a bit rude we felt. Later on that afternoon we got back to the hotel and then realized how bad the room was. Our room (#16) was dingy, hot, humid, the mattress and pillows were the most uncomfortable I ever had to sleep on in any hotel. Words seem to escape me in describing the sheer awfulness mattress, it was so soft and worn it was almost as it was not there, I could feel the wooden frame of the bed when I lied down. it definitely needs to be replaced. It was so bad we almost slept on the floor. There was no air circulation due to the fact the window would not open more than crack at the top. I don't except air conditioning in old European hotels but there was not even a fan. Our room had a door which led directly to reception (it was locked from our our side and a sign said it could only be open in case of emergency) so we could here all the comings and goings. The room was sparsely decorated with a table covered by a white tablecloth, The bathroom was okay, but a bit on the dank size. Sleeping was very difficult between the horrible bed/pillows and no air circulation. We left very early in the morning (before reception is normally open) and were greeted by the first woman we met the day before asking if we paid the bill. With weary eyes we said yes and left. Again not the end of the world but a bit rude and strange at such an early hour. The only redeeming feature of this hotel is it's location. It is literally right across the street from the old bridge and down the block from the Church of the Holy Spirit and the Marktplatz. Other than that this hotel was not what one should expect from modern accommodations. The strange/rude service of the staff and quality of the room we received was not worth the price we paid. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! If you must do not get room #16!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElGreco75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The location is perfect - both for arriving by car and for exploring on foot. We were able to pull our car up in front of the hotel to unload our bags, and then were then given directions to the parking garage a few blocks away. There is no elevator and the reception is one flight up. Our rooms were another two flights up from there. One member of our group did not pack for such an event. The hotel is charming overall, although our room had some odd pieces of furniture that were covered in sheets. We also could not get the internet to work, which seems to be a common occurrence since we were warned that we might have problems.

The location and the price are the best part of this hotel. It is an easy walk almost anywhere - Heidelberg Castle, shopping, philosophers walk, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Nice cozy hotel. We spent two nights here and visited the Christmas Markets which were a 5 min or so walk away. Located next to the river and the entrance to the Monkey Bridge the location was perfect for us. Warm friendly people at the reception desk and they all spoke English. Our room was on the top floor which would be the 4th floor in America and there were lots of steps to climb. The building is old and historic so every room is different in size. Ours was plenty big for the two of us and our small dog (euro7.00 per night charge). Bathroom was small with a shower only but that was no problem for us. The only thing lacking was a hair dryer in the bathroom but not a problem for me as I always travel with mine. The breakfast (euro 11.00 per night) was very good in the traditional German fashion, pot of coffee was waiting for us on our table when we got there each morning.

Room Tip: Call ahead to hotel if steps are a problem.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2TravelingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel was a total Gem! The price was excellent and the location could not be beat. The staff were excellent and our room was fantastic. It was very large and had four windows that opened up to give a fantastic view of the old bridge. We literally spent hours in our room as it was better then sitting at an outdoor cafe. We bought some beers ( from a local distillery called Vetter next door that makes great beer) and relaxed in our room with the windows open taking in the view and the day. We were there in the fall so I can not comment about the heat or noise as our windows were closed at night. I think you would be crazy to stay anywhere else when in this town as it can not be beat for price and location. The restaurant is also fantastic and the whole place smells like amazing home cooking. I will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 and I think it is the best in the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#55 of 76 in Heidelberg
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
#48 of 76 in Heidelberg
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#22 of 76 in Heidelberg
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#29 of 76 in Heidelberg
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hecht

Address: Steingasse 2, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Hecht 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hecht Hotel
Goldener Hecht Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing