We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hecht
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location. ”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice. A bit old but clean and in perfect condition. Location is great, in front of a bridge, popular with tourists.

The hotel's restaurant was also very good, 4.5/5!

I would definitely choose this hotel again in the future!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cmavr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    52
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
55
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Going back to Heidelberg for a weekend of re-union with myself only 40-some years after I went to Heidelberg to learn German, I stayed the night at the Goldener Hecht.

Friendly greeted by the receptionist, I got the room number 12 directly oposite the Town Bridge Gate, she told me that the breakfast room was wuite crowded, maybe I would like to have the breatfast brought to my room instead?

The room was cosy with traditional furniture, clean and well kept.

The restaurant had the best bratwurst .

I can only recomend it to anyone who appreciated tradition and history more than the glory of The Hilton.

I booked it for October and will take the trip again with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjell_Jorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a pretty basic hotel but it definitely has it's charm. It's old...and feels like it. So if you're looking for a luxurious room with all the modern amenities....look elsewhere. However, if you want to feel like you've traveled back in time, this is actually kind of a neat place. Now I don't mean that you have to use a chamber pot (the rooms have showers and toilets), I just mean that the rooms are small and old with furniture that you might expect to find in your great-grandma's house. The bed, however, is perfectly comfortable since the mattress is modern; even if the frame isn't. I had a room facing the old bridge gate so there can be a fair amount of noise from tourists and traffic on the road that parallels the river. However, with the window closed, noise wasn't a problem. There's no elevator, so be prepared to haul your luggage up one flight of steps just to get to the reception desk (and one or two more flights to get to your room). So pack light! The TV is so ridiculously small it made me laugh (but I don't watch TV anyways). And, equally small is the breakfast room - which is tiny but charming. They serve a nice, typically European breakfast, with delicious deli meats and cheeses, a giant basket of bread/rolls, yogurt, fruit, a boiled egg, coffee/tea, and orange juice. A pretty good spread for 11 Euros. Everyone I've encountered at the hotel have been quite nice and helpful. Finally...the price is right! 60-70 Euros to sleep right in the heart of Old Heidelberg? Right beside one of it's most famous attractions? Sign me up!

Hanging out the window sill, overlooking the river and the old bridge, you just kind of feel like you've drifted back in time and are visiting Heidelberg the way it used to be one or two hundred years ago. Walk downstairs and have a beer on their cobblestoned patio out front. Savour the experience. Magic.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the old bridge have a great view but can be noisy due to tourists and traffic. No AC t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexArcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is in the best location for the old bridge and the view from our room was superb but that is the only good point about it. The room was probably the most basic we have stayed in for a
long time and the bed was atrocious, looked like two straw filled mattresses and felt about the same. There was no tea making facilities and no hair dryer. The bathroom was very basic with only enough room for one person and towels that had seen better days. Shower was a single small cubicle.
We got very little sleep as the room was uncomfortably hot and when we opened the windows the noise from street level was really loud. There is no parking anywhere close to the hotel and we couldn't even stop to drop our bags off. The nearest parking is a five minute walk away and then when you get to the hotel you have to carry your bags up a very steep staircase to reception. Definitely not for less able visitors. Then entrance to the hotel is through the restaurant beer garden which is quite awkward when people are eating and you're trying to wheel cases through.
Would not recommend this hotel unless vast changes are made.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a night in December 2014; the hotel is perfectly located to not only explore Heidelberg but also to soak in the charm of the old city. The 'modern' amenities such as a lift are not present but who wants to spoil the experience of an authentic medieval building with such intrusions!!
The rooms are perfectly comfortable with all the amenities that one is used to: ensuite shower, heating, television .... However, my advise is to ignore the prosaic modern trappings to soak in the ambience of the city, replete with charm and authentic pages of history; not to mention the view of the river and beyond to the Philosopher's Way − all changing colours with seasons and time of the day.
The hotel serves only breakfast but there are umpteen eating places cheek-by-jowl with the hotel and that too offering a huge variety − from authentic German to Thai to Indian.
This hotel is therefore highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of the old town Heidelberg - and as such is a good location for exploring the rest of the city. However, the rooms lack temperature control and are staggeringly hot. Opening a window doesn't resolve sleep issues as the streets are very noisy outside. The staff were moderately served their purpose but were profoundly unhelpful with any of our requests to keep hold of baggage or help with the absolutely dreadful parking situation here.

The hotel is very difficult to park up near or even find from a road, and the only solution is to drive some distance from the hotel to an underground car park. The staff at the hotel seemed not to know about this nor how you would go about achieving it. Aside from the heat the furnishings in the room were ok and it was generally clean but electrical safety was poor and our room had three separate multisockets that were loaded with plugs and - unbelievably - other multisockets! Talk about a fire risk! Shame, as Heidelberg is a beautiful and very welcoming city. I wouldn't recommend staying here though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaarin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Very well located, just off the pedestrian bridge, this Hotel offers everything with out glitze. The rooms are large and clean yet spartan in decor. Just above the restaurant of the same name I can not say enough about the location. Parking is public like many Hotels in Heidelberg. Draw-back; no elevator. Service is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
#46 of 76 in Heidelberg
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
#51 of 76 in Heidelberg
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#7 of 76 in Heidelberg
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#21 of 76 in Heidelberg
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hecht

Property: Hotel Goldener Hecht
Address: Steingasse 2, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Hecht 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hecht Hotel
Goldener Hecht Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing