We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This hotel blends European charm and Marriott efficiency.

Great location on the Neckar - a little bit of walk to the old city, but the walk is worth it.

Walk past the Heidelberg Brewery on your way downtown which was a nice surprise even after 100's of trips to the city over the years.

Concierge lounge is marvelous and the service is impeccable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msgtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times, and usually find it a great place to stay for business travellers. It is worth the extra money to stay on the executive level even if you are not a member of the Marriott program so that you have 24/7 access to their beverages, a nice place for meetings, etc. (Theo, who runs that area is absolutely the best!) and to breakfast, drinks and hors d'oevres, snacks, etc. However, if you're booking on line, be careful not to select the rate that does not allow you to change dates without a penalty, since if you do leave early you will pay for 80% of the rate for the nights you decide not to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the Executive Level !
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJPVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

A group of 16 family members travelled to Heidelberg for a wedding. The hotel was in walking distance from the main railway station and approx 5 mins tram ride from the centre. The hotel staff were so helpful throughout the entire stay and very patient considering there was so many of us all (from 71 to a 3 year old child) asking different questions and at times nearly confusing the staff! Always helpful and very informative regarding the area. Makes such a huge difference when the staff are friendly and seem genuinely interested in their guests. Hotel as all Marriott's clean and extremely comfortable. Hopefully returning later in year for the Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoildaymaker019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

For me, the first virtue of a hotel is cleanliness, and the Heidelberg Marriott from the lobby to the elevators to the rooms is super clean. You can park very close on the street for free- I was directly across from the hotel entrance- this will save you the parking garage fee. I also thought the food in their Globetrotter restaurant was great. Arrived late afternoon after having missed lunch, got a table outside overlooking the river, again very clean and nice. They gave me a dinner menu but when I asked about sandwiches they were very accommodating, brought me one of the best club sandwiches I ever ate, and made a plain mixed salad for me, even though it wasn't on the menu. Breakfast buffet the next morning was very comprehensive and sumptuous. All staff were helpful and spoke English fluently. You definitely get what you pay for here, and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaseCampTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

A standard, quality Marriott experience. It's within walking distance from a Middle Eastern market where I bought fresh figs - they're so hard to find where I live in the states. Friendly staff, standard spacious rooms, the view of the river is very pretty, overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoma22d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Heidelberg last week for one night during our visit to Heidelberg. My husband is a Marriott Platinum member and we could have used points but instead paid for our room since it was very reasonable and we decided to save points for another vacation. We stayed on the 4th floor and our room had a view of the Neckar River and river courtyard area of the Marriott. Our room was spacious, especially for Europe, and modern with all the amenities you expect at a Marriott. The staff was excellent and very helpful during our stay, especially Marcus our bellhop and Michael at the front desk reception. The executive lounge area is one of the nicest we've ever used where you can sit outside overlooking the river and enjoy the complimentary drinks and snacks. The hotel is about a 2 mile walk into the downtown area but it was reasonable for us. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emnhenrysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

It is a Marriott. The same beds, clean, big, functional. The personnel are the difference here. They care. I was often called by name and the many employees actually smiled a lot. (I wish all of the emloyees wore their nametags)
The hotel is a bit older. the fourth floor is renovated with new 2011 colors. The food is great. We had breakfast there.
The taxi is always there and the hotel is a bit of a walk to town or the schloss.
The lucky visit we had was too good to be true. Great weather so everyone was sightseeing while we enjoyed the hotel to ourselves! Pool, fitness, sauna, all were empty.
The rooms are very clean and they do try to maintain the standard that Marriot is known for. Same comfortable beds. We had a river view and that was special. Try to get one.
Parking is standard 18 euro and secure. There is at your risk street parking nearby.
Train station is a bit of a walk with luggage.
So a terrific stay and I have been here before and will come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ceedaworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Address: Vangerowstr. 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: £116 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing