We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Thank you for the upgrade. The room was wonderful, the staff very nice, beds comfy, and the room clean. You may want to check the ceilings and windows for some cobwebs, however. The room was clean but the housekeeping service was mixed. I always left a tip on the bed with a few requests and sometimes they were met, sometimes not. I like a lot of towels and they did a good job in keeping the bathroom supplied, thank you. Other times coffee and tea was not refilled, tissue box left empty for a couple days, small things like that. Then I'd get a good maid who'd leave huge amounts of toiletries which I could never use in a month's stay! One day the maid entered the room when I was sleeping and began to clean. I had forgotten to put the DND sign on the door. When she saw me in the bed, she said she would come back. Never did. we got the room cleaned at 7pm that night.
The front desk and At Your Service did an adequate job of helping out with questions concerning the hotel. Taxis are always waiting at the front door area.
At Your Service did not have a list of recommended restaurants which was an oversight. Most Marriotts have a list of guest recommended, or guest un-recommended, restaurants in town and a bit out of town. The staff could only recommend the usual few big name restaurants in Old Town. It would be nice to have a 'go-to' list with recent guest comments. Just a suggestion. It works well in most other Marriotts.
I must say that we had an awful experience in the hotel restaurant Grille 16. We waited for 15 minutes before anyone noticed we were sitting at a table. We asked for a water refill and were told "I'll get it later." What? Excuse me?
My entrée turned out to be chicken with brown gravy on it. My husband thought the chicken leg was a quail leg as it was so small. Maybe about 6 bites. I ordered lemon-rosemary chicken with extra rosemary. I got a small chicken leg with brown gravy and squashed onions, potatoes were forgotten as well as the salad and spinach, absolutely no rosemary and no lemon flavor at all. When I mentioned this, I did, however, receive a plate full of fresh rosemary sprigs. I guess I was to roast it myself?
I had to get up from the table to 3 times attract a waitress for bread, butter, and the water we asked for. The problem here was that one waitress took the order, another tried to cover for her as the first waitress was then nowhere to be seen, and two other waitresses delivered the meals. This combo didn't work, sorry ladies.
Interestingly, the first waitress who took our order had made previous reservations for me so I tipped her 2 Euro for her troubles. Had I known the unpleasant dinner to follow, no tip would have been offered. The final waitress did deduct my meal from the bill. Thank you. But, it kept us away from having another meal in Grille 16 that entire week.
The concierge lounge is a good one and the staff very nice. The hot items in the evening are substantial as they served salmon, rice, root vegs, sauerbraten, samosas during the week. Plus a whole table of other meat and fish bites on small dishes. A nicely run lounge. Wine and beer are complimentary.
I would return to his hotel. Other than the terrible meal, we had a pleasant stay and tipped those who helped us. The hotel is pretty close to Old Town and a taxi is about 8-10 Euros.

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott rewards Member, ask for an upgrade to a water view. It is lovely to wake up t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flightlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear flightlady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your recent stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel on TripAdvisor.

While we are glad that you had a pleasant overall stay with us, we are very sorry that that we have not been able to meet your expectations in regards to our housekeeping service, and that you had such an inconvenient experience in our restaurant “Grill 16”. Please accept our sincere apologies for those inconveniences and be assured that your comment in that regards has been discussed in detail with the Food & Beverage management as well as with the respective associates.

We truly appreciate that despite the challenges you have been facing during your stay you are considering staying with us again when back in Heidelberg and we would be delighted if we might welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

I'm a Marriott Lifetime Platinum with over 1,300 nights in Marriott Properties throughout the world. I've stayed in this location several times over the last 10 years. I like the location but be prepared to sweat in your room, even on a cold night. It's always a topic in the executive lounge between guests. This is one of those full service hotels that use a central "chiller" system that pumps water throughout the hotel but the temp is controlled in the basement. You really don't have control over your room's temp. With this the case, there are many hotels with better locations and the same services in the old town.

Room Tip: Choose riverfront
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therumrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear rumrunner,

Thank you very much for staying at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry to read that your stay with us has not been up to your expectations, please be assured that we have discussed your feedback with all relevant departments involved. Of course you are invited to contact us directly (guestrelations.heidelberg@marriott.com) in case of any further questions or concerns.

We hope, that despite the issues mentioned, you were able to enjoy your time in Heidelberg.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great location overlooking the river, within walking distance of the old city. The rooms were the most modern of the three Marriotts we stayed in in southern Germany. The executive lounge offered a fine selection on light snacks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vrrooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear vrrooom,

We are very pleased that you had such a great experience at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and would like to thank you very much for sharing that experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the benefits of our Executive Lounge and we would be more than happy if we might welcome you back for another stay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a typical Marriot hotel, located by the Neckar river. We had a rented car, so we didn´t have problems to get to the old town, but you should know it is outside the centre of the city.
We had two rooms with river views (for a family with two kids), but the rooms were not connected. The rooms has enough space and were very clean. We ate at the main restaurant and it was really good. We enjoyed it.
What i didn´t like was the front desk service. Nobody helped us with our baggage and the checking in was very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauUatSaoPao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear PauUatSaoPao,

Thank you very much for rating your recent stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your feedback and are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay, especially the river view and the food in our restaurant “Grill 16”.

We are very sorry that the service at our Front Desk has not been up to your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We hope that we might serve you again in the near future and wish you many further enjoyable trips in the meantime.

Kind regards

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Heidelberg is a really nice town in Germany I really lov it we went in April 20014 the weather was perfect we drove from sttugart to Heidelberg we stay at the hotel from one night reall good location walking from everything we had a ferry and we went to the castle up in the mountain is was really good hotel staff where really nice and polite room where nice and clean big room for 3 people if you not sure well with this comment you won't dough about it

Room Tip: You old fit up to four people
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Jesus T,

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay and the time you took to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that obviously you truly enjoyed your trip to the beautiful city of Heidelberg and we would be delighted if we might welcome you back for another stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Kind regards

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is located about 3 KM outside of the Heidelberg "Alt Stadt" (old city), and castle. However, contrary to what the front desk clerk told me, there are lots of parking garages in the centre and you can also take the cable car which is a short walk from the hotel. The cable car is 1.20 E one/way (not 1.10 E like the front desk clerk told me), and runs very frequently. The hotel is situated on the banks of the Neckar River. If you're fortunate enough to have access to the Executive Lounge, you will have a lovely view of the river and the old city centre (see attached photo of the view from the lounge).

Speaking of Executive Lounge, you can definitely make a meal out of the breakfast and cocktail hour selections, which is what we did. The food there is very good. We had dinner in their main restaurant once ("The Grill") but for the price, we expected better than we received.

The rooms are typical Marriott style -- comfortable beds, clean rooms and a nice shower. Oh, I should mention the hair dryer provided was awesome!! Each evening we received a little gift from the hotel management, which was a nice touch. The TV selections for English are not good at all, but there's a lot if you speak German. There's no pay per view, either.

The hotel is just a couple of minutes off the autobahn, and the underground garage parking is 20 E/day. There are only a couple of restaurants near the hotel that you can walk to -- best to go into city centre for that!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Ceelie,

Thank you very much for choosing the Marriott Hotel for your stay in Heidelberg, and for providing us with such a detailed review of that recent stay through TripAdvisor.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, especially the benefits of our Executive Lounge with its beautiful river view and terrace. We are very sorry that you received some wrong information from the Front Desk in regards to the tariff for public transportation, which has been recently changed from 1,10 EUR per ride to 1,20 EUR, and would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused.

We truly appreciate your feedback and would be delighted if we might welcome you back for another stay whenever your travels bring you back to the area. In the meantime, we wish you many further comfortable and enjoyable Marriott stays.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very gracious staff, helpful and kind. Good spa pool and sauna. Decent concierge with good support. Location a bit distant from the old town, but walkable. Very comfortable rooms, especially with a view of the river.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Joseph310,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, and we would like to thank you for your commending words in regards to our associates, and of course for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We certainly hope that we might welcome you back soon and wish you many further enjoyable travels in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Address: Vangerowstr. 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: £117 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing