We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, very hospitable and fabulous location”
Review of Hotel Ambiente

Hotel Ambiente
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ambiente
Ranked #67 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely location on the banks of the river and a warm welcome awaits you at Hotel Ambiente. Great value large room with lovely linens - and a shirt bus ride into the centre of Heidelberg (but get off early to walk over the ancient bridge to the stunning old town)! The friendly staff went above and beyond the call of duty to return securely items foolishly left behind! We look forward to our next stay - and supper in the Vetter Bier Kellar!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank gozovirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambiente
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel (which is in a small village about 4 miles from the centre of Heidelberg) as our daughter was living in the village.

Buses are frequent into Heidelberg (about every 15 minutes and take about 15 minutes).

Hotel room was clean and comfortable and staff keen to help (we turned up early - 12:00 - and our room was ready for us) and as requested had a great view of the River Neckar and the hills behind. While others had mentioned that the traffic in these rooms caused some interruption to sleep, I slept extremely well.

Access to the car park seemed tight for the large hire car we had, so we selected to park in the street outside and this was not a problem.

Would definitely return

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AjayAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Do not be put off by the outside as you arrive at the back of the hotel. The inside is clean and the rooms at the front face out onto the river Neckar each with a small balcony. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice and was regularly restocked, well worth 4.5 euros. Local shops and bars are within walking distance and the old town is just 4km away. A bus service every 20 mins makes accessibility to the old town very easy. There is a good cycle path into the centre. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Limited free parking on site.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper the rooms at the front can be noisy with road, rail and river traffic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywoos2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I booked this hotel though bookings.com and made it very clear we needed a family room. I also commented on the "special requests" we were a family of 4 and stated the ages of my children when I booked 8 months in advance.
However, when we arrived the room had 3 beds - the solution was an extra bed squeezed into the already small room ( this was no family room).
The pictures advertised had no resemblance to the room we had. No river view or balcony in sight for us. Our view was of an industrial metal shutter halfway down the window and the rest was of the car parked up to the window.
We discussed our disappointment with the owner but basically he wasn't interested. I had booked a "family room" when there was plenty of availability but we basically got a small double room that they squeezed an extra two beds in. We couldn't even walk in between the beds.
He even wanted to charge us extra for squeezing an extra bed in.
Other travellers beware......the pictures posted on the Internet site are not for every room. A family room is not necessary what you will be given as if they have none left they will just squeeze extra beds in - regardless of when you booked. I couldn't help but feel that all the German families had the correct booking but we got what was left...... Very disappointed :(

Room Tip: Don't book it! I really wouldn't risk booking a family room here as it was a nightmare for u...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_fab_four1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Somewhere to lay your head. Bus ride into Heidelberg where there is plenty to do and is well worth a visit. Hotel does just enough. Bar was closed, no room service available. No lift. Outdated. On the whole, I would say that the owners of this hotel were very comfortable with their "lot" and have no need to improve anything. Guests will continue to return and continue to pay, as hotel has free parking and good bus-route access. Nothing much going on in or close to hotel. Enjoy Heidelberg, have a few beers, catch last bus back and move-on in the morning. Just what we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceejmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel on November 21, 2012. The couple who run the hotel are so gracious. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.
The room was spotlessly clean. The arrangement for three adults was well suited to our needs.
Because the hotel is not in the city center ( thereby making it a lot cheaper ), it was necessary that we catch a bus to town. The bus stop is immediately across the side street from the hotel. The bus runs every 20 minutes. It was extremely convenient except for the one time we unwittingly took it when school had just let out and there were lots of school kids on board.
The breakfast was so good. It was a full breakfast, and there was a man on hand to fulfill your every need.
The only downside is that there is no elevator, and carrying heavy suitcases up the stairs might prove difficult for some. Luckily I had two strong men with me. (:
You could not ask for a better location for seeing beautiful Heidelberg than the Hotel Ambiente

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the water side because the view would be better. And, definitely, ask for...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

From when you arrive til when you leave you're made to feel very welcome by all the staff.
The accommodation was spacious and very comfortable. We actually would have loved to have taken the beds home, so comfortable they were.

We stayed only the one night as we were visiting friends in Heidelberg for the weekend but we'd definitely be using this hotel the next time we're in town.

The views across the river Neckar into the forest beyond are a sight to behold. All the autumn colours were gorgeous.

I would highly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disgruntled123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heidelberg
2.1 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
440 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Terrassencafe Vierburgeneck
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zum Neckartal
Hotel Zum Neckartal
#38 of 76 in Heidelberg
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Parkhotel Atlantic
Parkhotel Atlantic
#39 of 76 in Heidelberg
154 reviews
3.3 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
998 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambiente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambiente

Address: In der Neckarhelle 33-35, 69118 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambiente 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ambiente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambiente Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing