We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Identity Crisis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Identity Crisis”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our stay here started badly. We booked in April to stay at the Holiday Inn for in June. Unbeknown to us, it became a Leonardo Hotel on 1st May, but nobody bothered to tell us, so we spent some time searching before it dawned on us that the name must have changed. Then they want 8 euros a night to park. Now, I expect this at a City centre hotel, but not one on the outskirts with just an open parking area, no fences and no security. A complaint brought a shrug of the shoulders from the receptionist and a comment that she didn't make the rules. It was a very hot day so the excellent air conditioning was a big bonus, but the room and bathroom were small and nothing like the pictures on the web site. In view of the heat we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, but were confronted with a sign saying it was closed because of a function. In fact, it was only one of the two restaurants which was closed, but anyone reading the sign could easily have been put off. Breakfast was good. Overall, we got the impression that the change of identity had left the hotel in a state of confusion and they need to get their act together.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosslynace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    146
    122
    38
    11
See reviews for
47
120
27
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I'm regularly in Heidelberg for business reasons and I stayed two times in this hotel. It's located just few km from the city center. I would rate it as an average hotel. On the positive side the price and the fact that the rooms are clean. On the negative: the room is too small, the bathroom has the same size of a bathroom in a train. I have also paid 5euro per 1h wi-fi connection which should be high speed but it's not. At the moment of checking out only one person to assist more than 10 people waiting to pay. Good quality at restaurant. In short there are many other options in Heidelberg and I'll be here again only if I do not have other alternatives.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Remendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Remendo,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you found the room clean. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the size of the room and bathroom. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

As long as you don't stay for two weeks and expect all the luxuries, it's OK.
Adequate room, good shower, did not have breakfast but it looked decent enough.
To have to pay for parking is a bit of a rip off!
In summary, for 2 night on a business trip it is all OK.

Room Tip: away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flinders, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Compared to a lot of the other Holiday Inn hotels through Germany this is by far one of the better ones. Make sure you get your ticket validated before leaving the car park & paying!

We checked in at 9pm from a detour but the service was decent, the place was clean, a good size room and they let us order room service after the kitchen had closed which was great because we were starving. Lots of Marines stay here which I like the whole "inside of a ship" feel in the corridors. Great for a good little pit stop to recharge the batteries!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyPuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

A few minutes from the town centre by car. Good off peak rates, but expensive to park and even more expensive for wifi. breakfast really good value. I'd stay again, but there's free parking close by if staying for a few days.

Room Tip: park away from the hotel - enjoy the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

What was provided in room :
Good beds
Pillow choice
Hairdryer
Tea and coffee making facilities
Trouser press but no iron
What was not provided in room:
Fridge
Safe
No free Wi-Fi in room
Main drawback was that it was not central could not access places by foot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Clean well maintained, recently refubrished hotel
BUT
1. Situated outside the city - a car is a must (~4Km out of the old city)
2. My room was very small ~14m^2
3. Parking & Internet are charged separtelly

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyalS925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
1.4 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
0.8 mi away
Hotel Heidelberg
Hotel Heidelberg
#15 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
1.9 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#21 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.3 mi away
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
#38 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Property: Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Address: Pleikartsfoerster Str. 101, 69124 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes by public transport from the Old Town and the Heidelberg Castle the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg is a great location for those visiting Heidelberg for travel needs. This Heidelberg hotel is easy accessible from the highway A5 and just 5 minutes distance to the main station. Companies like SAP Walldorf, Heidelberger Druck, Henkel and Wild Werke are located in our direct neighbourhood. Relax in our modern business room featuring amenities like a quiet room location, a large working desk and free wireless internet access. Start your day with a healthy breakfast which contains a large variety of organic food. Experience a high quality room service or indulge yourself after a hard work day with a fine dining in one of our two restaurants. Our team is looking forward welcoming you. We can help make your day so join our fitness area and unwind in the sauna. We are here - ready with all you need to make your trip to Heidelberg a successful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing